8.46: Explanation (Part One)

There were three things that immediately caught Emberlynn’s attention the moment they walked through the door. First was how chilling the silence was in the entry hall, broken only by the occasional sound of her mother’s soft sobs. 

The second was how breathtakingly beautiful Xander’s mother was.

And the third was the way her father’s eyes remained fixed upon Xander’s face. There was something in his gaze that seemed to teeter on the edge between joy and sorrow. It was quite literally impossible for Emberlynn to describe. She’d never seen anything like it before.

“Hi, Mama. Hi Papa.” She muttered at last, finally breaking the silence. “Um… this is Xander.”

Gigi kept her face hidden behind her hand. Phoenix, however, had still not taken his eyes off the young man’s freckled face. It was like he was transfixed. 

Xander looked back at Phoenix, wearing an expression of both discomfort and curiosity. “It’s nice to meet you.” He said awkwardly.

“Y-you too.” Phoenix’s voice was thick, as though holding back tears. Emberlynn couldn’t exactly explain why, but the whole thing was already making her feel incredibly nervous and anxious. 

Xander finally turned to face his mother, seemingly grateful for the opportunity to tear his eyes away from Phoenix’s gaze. “And mom… This is Emberlynn.”

“Hello, Emberlynn.” Lola replied with surprising poise, given the awkwardness of the situation. “I’m sorry we have to meet under these circumstances.” She continued seriously.

“Yeah, me too…” Emberlynn replied. “Though I’ll be honest — I’m still not entirely sure what those ‘circumstances’ are…”

Lola turned her eyes toward Phoenix, who was still staring at her son. “Yes. We… we’re hoping we can help explain that. Together.”

Phoenix nodded. At last, he pulled his eyes away from Xander, fixing them instead upon his daughter. “Let’s go sit down.” He suggested, inclining his head in the direction of the living room.

“Okay…” Emberlynn replied uncertainly.

As she began to follow her father, she saw Lola pause to pull Xander into a tight embrace. “I love you. I’m so sorry…” Emberlynn heard Lola whisper into her son’s ear.

Emberlynn continued following her father, hoping to give her boyfriend and his mother a bit of privacy, when Gigi reached out, stopping her in her tracks. 

“I’m sorry, honey. But I… I can’t do this.” Gigi managed to choke out between her muffled sobs.

“Can’t do what, Mama? I still don’t understand…”

Gigi merely shook her head in reply. “I’m sorry.” She repeated before turning and disappearing up the stairs without another word. Emberlynn could just barely make out the sound of her parents’ bedroom door closing before the entry hall was plunged back into silence once more.

She turned around then, realizing that Xander and Lola had already joined Phoenix in the living room. I guess it’s time to get this over with… Whatever ‘this’ is…

Emberlynn entered the living room to find that her father had pulled two chairs up to one of the couches, so that they were facing one another. This whole thing already felt so strange and formal, like he was staging a therapy session with one of his clients or something.

Already feeling discomfort, Emberlynn took a seat beside Xander on the sofa. She assumed her grandparents and brother had been kicked out of the house to give them some privacy, and took a mental note to give Tristan a play-by-play of their parents’ bizarre behavior later. He’s not gonna believe this…

Emberlynn was called away from her thoughts by the soft clearing of her father’s throat. “We’re really glad that the two of you are willing to give us this chance to explain ourselves.” He began seriously. It was so strange to hear her father speaking not only in English, but so stiffly and formally. “And we’d both like to start off by apologizing for our behavior. It wasn’t right.”

Lola nodded in agreement. “We both have a lot to be sorry for… Especially me.” For the first time, her exceptionally poised demeanor seemed to falter. “So I’d like to start off by apologizing. To all three of you.” She seemed to try and catch Phoenix’s eye for a moment, but the effort was in vain.

It was then that Emberlynn realized that her father hadn’t even glanced in Lola’s direction once since they’d arrived. It was like she was invisible to him.

Beside her, Xander let out a heavy sigh of annoyance. “Look, I’ve gotta be honest here… I’m not sure whether to be scared shitless or just super fucking pissed right now. But I think I speak for both of us when I say — can we please, PLEASE, just get a straight answer for once?” There was a sharp and bitter edge to his voice as he spoke.

Emberlynn nodded in agreement. “We’re sick of this stupid guessing game.” She said firmly. “Just tell us what’s going on!”

There was a few moments of silence as Lola and Phoenix both seemed to grapple with which of them would speak first. It was especially difficult for them to coordinate, given Phoenix’s determination to look anywhere but in her eyes.

In the end, however,  he seemed to decide to take the lead. “Back when we were around your age, your mother and I lived in Brindleton Bay for a little while.” He began slowly, looking at Emberlynn as he spoke.

She nodded. “You’ve told me.”

“And Lola… she was one of my best friends while I was there.” For a fleeting moment, he almost seemed to be fighting the urge to smile. But just as quickly as it had come, it was gone. “But we, uh… We messed that up. Really, really bad…”

“What do you mean?” Emberlynn asked nervously.

It was Lola who replied. “We… ended up being, um… more than just friends.” She looked away then, the deep shame evident on her beautiful face.

It was a moment or two before the weight of Lola’s words finally sunk in. Emberlynn felt like she was going to be sick. “Papa… you didn’t.” She whispered.

“It was a mistake. It never should have happened.” Phoenix replied desperately. 

“You CHEATED on Mama?!” Somehow, Emberlynn had ended up on her feet.

He didn’t even try to deny it. “I did.”

How could this be happening? Her father — the one person she looked up to more than anyone else in the world, the man who taught her to be good and honest and true, to always do the right thing — was nothing but a lying, filthy cheater.

“Does she know?!” She demanded. “Did you tell her what you did?!”

Phoenix nodded. “I did. She knows everything.”

It was all so clear to her now. All the anger and turmoil in her parents’ marriage suddenly made so much sense. “God, no wonder she hates you.”

Emberlynn!” In an instant, her father was on his feet too. “You have no idea what you’re talking about!” His voice was practically a hiss. “Your mother, she… I’m not the only…” Phoenix paused, shaking his head and letting out a slow, deep breath. “The situation is very complicated.” This time, he spoke slowly and carefully. “And you have no idea how much it is killing me to have to tell you this right now. But this was a very long time ago. I’m not the same person now that I was back then, I promise.”

Emberlynn felt a sharp and stinging reply dancing on the tip of her tongue, but she used every ounce of self control within her to remain silent. She sunk back down onto the couch, staring daggers at Phoenix but saying nothing.

Xander had said nothing yet, but was staring at his mother as though seeing her for the first time. “You knew he was married?” He asked Lola, his voice surprisingly calm. “You knew what you were doing?”

She nodded. “I knew. It was horrible and selfish of me, no matter what the circumstances might have been. There was no excuse.”

“You’re right. There wasn’t.” Though he did not yell, the disgust he felt toward his mother was apparent. “I can’t believe you, Mom.”

A brief silence fell over the four of them then. Lola and Phoenix each looked off into separate directions while their children continued staring in disbelief at them.

Emberlynn was still trying to wrap her head around the whole thing. It was shocking, yes. Disgusting. Shameful. But…

“I don’t understand… What does any of this have to do with us?” Both her voice and her anger began to rise with each word that passed her lips. None of this made any sense. None of it was fair. “Are you trying to tell me that just because the two of you have some kind of fucked-up history, it means you ‘don’t approve’ of your kids being together? Papa, it’s like you said, that was years ago!

“Yeah, this is pretty fucking stupid if that’s what your issue is!” Xander chimed in, seemingly just as fed-up as she was. “I mean okay, sure, thanks for sharing and basically traumatizing us, I guess?” His voice dripped with sarcasm. “But whatever shitty choices you guys made when you were kids were yours. Not ours! This has nothing to do with us!”

“Baby, no…” Lola said softly. For the first time, Emberlynn noticed the glistening of tears in her eyes. “I’m sorry, but… This has everything to do with you.”

“What?”

“Gigi found out she was pregnant… And that’s when she and Phoenix came back to Windenburg. And… and just after he left, that’s when I found out I was pregnant. With you.” Lola’s voice was barely above a whisper.

“So is that why you went to that dumb party? For some kind of rebound hookup or something?” Xander asked.

Emberlynn turned toward him curiously. “What party?”

“I guess I never really told you this before… A couple months before she started dating Jorden — my dad — she hooked up with some guy at this party.” Xander explained. He seemed almost embarrassed. “She never even knew his name, but… that guy was my father. Biological father.” He corrected himself. “Or sperm donor, whatever you wanna call it.” Despite everything, he let out a small chuckle as he spoke.

Emberlynn nodded in understanding. Xander had hinted to her before that Jorden was not his biological father, so none of this came as much of a surprise. “Okay… But that still doesn’t really explain anything.” She shrugged helplessly, lifting her eyes to address Xander’s mother. “So you were sad my Papa went back home, so you went to that party, and… and you…” Her voice trailed away at the sight of the look on Lola’s face.

Twin trails of tears were streaming down her cheeks. Beside her, Phoenix held his face in his hands. Emberlynn’s stomach gave a heavy lurch when she realized he was crying.

“Xander, I’m sorry.” Lola’s voice shook as she stared into her son’s eyes. “But… there was never any party…”

44 thoughts on “8.46: Explanation (Part One)

    1. I am, don’t worry! I’m actually a few chapters ahead now, so we will stay on schedule! 🙂

      Sorry tho… 😬 The truth is finally out

      Like

  1. Oh. 😭😭😭😭 The fan is on high speed! The 💩💩💩 just flew. That look on Emberlynn’s face when the 💩 hit her was priceless.

    But those poor kids. And poor Phoenix for Lola not telling him. I’m really mad at Lola right now. Maybe Phoenix wouldn’t have lived with Gigi for years in a barely functional marriage. But really in her defense she knew Gigi was pregnant so I can kinda see why Lola didn’t say anything. And actually now that I think about it more, he would have probably chosen Gigi regardless. If she didn’t file for divorce. But then at least Xander and Emberlynn wouldn’t be where they are now if she’d told him. No wonder he was looking at Xander so strangely. And he did take the high road, not ratting out Gigi.

    No wonder Gigi had to leave though. None of the 💩 that’s flying is really her fault and she didn’t want any to get on her! 😂 But seriously I can imagine she’s disgusted with Lola. And having to find out Phoenix’s love child is her daughters boyfriend – very serious boyfriend – was too much for her. Regardless, she needs to get her butt back downstairs and comfort her daughter. She needs her now. And so does Phoenix. If she loves him, she won’t walk out on him. Lola, she can be a bitch to if she wants, but Phoenix and Emberlynn and even Xander, need her now. It’s a secret Lola shouldn’t have kept no matter how painful. I can’t believe I’m actually feeling sorry for Gigi in all of this! 😱. Still not nearly as much as Ember and Xander. 😭😭😭😭

    I want to see what happens next! Shame on you Citizen! We have to wait until Wednesday? Grrrr…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone should have taken cover! Because the shit is certainly flying 😬

      You’re right to be mad at Lola, in my opinion. At the time, she was a scared kid who knew telling Phee the truth would just make things worse BUT… over 20 years of keeping this from both Phoenix and Xander simply wasn’t right….

      And now Gigi and Ember both get collateral damage 😭 (especially Ember, but you’re right that this is so hard for Gigi now too).

      We’ll see how everybody reacts soon! 😬😬😬 Sorry for the wait…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Theeeeeree! Now you’re getting it, kiddos! Boy, I thought they were going to have to shout, PHOENIX IS YOUR FATHER!” In order for them to figure it out. Lol! 😂

    Welp…where do they go from here. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lololol yeahhhh now they know 😱😭 The truth has finally come out!

      Next chapter we’ll see how they take it (probably not great… 😬)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dark WitcHazard: What step closer to incest baby! Just think everyone’s going to be telling her to get rid of it but she won’t then she’ll run off and raise the baby herself then they’ll comeback to Rosebrook Manor after something happens to Emberlynn and be all I’m your grandson! Anyone else think think this is karma for the whole using someone’s mental health as black mail cause she’s going to need tons of therapy after all this!😝

    Lover WitcHazard: She will not recorder from this Citizen and if she’s does she’ll never be the same neither will Xander! I’m sure Lola was thinking out all the people in the world there’s no way they’d ever doing anything like this or even met after the wedding guess she didn’t know about Rosebrook’s luck at getting into shitty situation!

    Nooboo WitcHazard: Now I want my incest nooboo no exceptions!

    Anti Shipper: That’s one way to blow up a ship!

    Shipper WitcHazard: Well technically it is simlit so we’re at the will of what the writer is comfortable with! Guess we’ll see what goes down over the next couple of chapters to find out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I KNEW Dark would like this one 😈😈😈 And I love that theory… it’s very possible too… but as always, we shall see 😉

      And Lover, I think you’re right. Poor Lola had no idea about the Rosebrook Curse 😛 What were the odds that out of billions of people, her son would fall in love with… his sister 😬😱

      Glad Nooboo and Shipper are still onboard 😂 The ship hasn’t sunk yet! We haven’t seen yet how they’re gonna react… Wednesday!

      Like

  4. Maury: In the case of 22 year old Xander, Phoenix, you ARE the father!
    *cue sympathetic ohhhs from the audience*

    I’ve been telling my fiance about this story line for weeks now, telling him about every chapter and bouncing my predictions off of him. I just told him about the reveal and he says, “But they had SO MUCH sex though!” 😂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Omg I love everything about this comment 😂❤️ You’re the best, Eddie!

      Maury joke is spot-on hehe and I love that you’ve been sharing this insanity with your fiancé! Hehehe

      Also… I can’t lie — When I wrote that sex scene I was like “wow am I really doing one of the hottest sex scenes I’ve ever had in this story just to ruin it a few chapters later?” (Answer: of course 😈)

      I’m so bad lol thanks for taking it all in stride (and for reading, as always! ❤️) Wednesday we’ll find out how poor Ember and Xander react… 😬

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Phoenix is the father of Xander, bit is he the father of Emberlynn? Maybe, that is why mommy ran away. She didn’t want the truth coming out about her affair with someone who may possibly be Emberlynn’s father. I thank Gigi switch the DNA sample somehow.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s not entirely clear why Gigi reacted the way she did, so that theory is definitely possible! Emberlynn will eventually get to talk to her mom and find out her thoughts on the situation, so we’ll see soon! Things are gonna be messy for a while 😬😬😬

      Like

  6. OH MY GOSH I KNEW IT
    Though I think we all knew this was coming.
    I’m freaking out now. I NEED another chapter.
    I’ve read about Genetic Sexual Attraction before. All the siblings have been separated since birth but from what I’ve seen they usually know they’re siblings.
    This is going to be complex. Do they want to stay together despite this revelation? Who knows
    Great chapter

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeahhhhh we all had a feeling but now it’s confirmed 😬

      I’m sorry for all these cliffhangers lately! I’ve never heard about that Genetic Sexual Attraction before, but that could definitely be at play to some degree here 🤷🏻‍♀️

      Either way, it’s a mess! We’ll see in the next couple chapters how Xander and Ember feel about this… 😬

      Like

  7. KEEEPP WRITINGGG, girlll!!! I’m dying to see how this will all develop! Gah!

    I wasn’t surprised about the whole ordeal between everyone. You described the situation very well. I felt nervous myself!Thought I knew what was going to happen next. Poor Gigi. I’m sure now she’s going to divorce Phoenix, I mean c’mon, now, because of him, their daugther slept with her own brother! That’s some gam of trones level of stuff, and I ain’t here for it.

    Ithink that Ember’s reaction was understandable. She saw her parents fight and be miserable and all her life, and she knows that it affected her deeply, so, learning that, maybe her father was the reason behind all of this situation, she would be more then upset with him. Little does she know that-dear-old-mom also did the same…I’m suprised he didn’t mencion that, like ”Hey, your mother did it too, so I guess we’re even, huh?”

    Wow.I thought Lola would at least say that she didn’t know who the father was. but, nope, just straight out telling them that Phoenix is Xander’s father. Btw, does that mean thta Xander can tecnically be an heir?

    I’m dyiiiiiiing to see their reactions. If they’ll be angry, or just disgusted with what they did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe the next 6 chapters are already done 😀 But I need to space them out, sawwy 😦

      Game of Thrones level is right 😬 It’s crazy right now 😱 And I’m glad emberlynn’s reaction to the cheating made sense to you! Phoenix is too good to throw Gigi under the bus (he ALMOST did, when he said “I’m not the only one who…”). No matter what she did, it doesn’t make what he did right, and he didn’t want to try and make excuses.

      Reactions coming Wednesday! It’s a lot for these poor kids to take 😬😭

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m feel so bad for them. Not only did they fall in love but they had full on sex. Multiple times! God, I can only imagine how sick they feel. Lola how could you do this. I’m so angry right now. Guess Xanberlynn is dead and was doomed from the beginning. Lola and Phoenix could have had a chance if she told the truth. I didn’t want them to be related, how the heck is this gen going to end? 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeahhhhh I have been both excited about and dreading this one 😂 I’m sorry 😭

      If Lola had been honest… who knows? You might be right. Maybe he would have gone back to her, maybe not… but either way, they wouldn’t be in this position right now 😬

      We’ll see how the kids react next chapter 😱

      Like

  9. Poor Ember and Xander 😭 Those two didn’t deserve this!

    Good on Phoenix (I guess?) for finally getting his shit together and owning up. I’ve gotta look for the positives here 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wellll…I hoped it wouldn’t end this way. But the hysterical reactions from people who have never been that way was a pretty good indicator.

    I have a feeling Ember can repair her relationship with her dad, esp if the full truth about gigi comes out. He didn’t know after all.

    I don’t think Xander will forgive for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeahhhhh unfortunately it ended up being exactly what it looked like 😬😬😬

      I do think she can learn to forgive her dad, you’re right. We’ll have to see if she ever finds out her mom also cheated though!

      And as for Xander… also probably right. No matter what Lola’s reasons, she lied to her child for his entire life. I think it’s gonna be very hard for him to accept that 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Crap,I was hoping for a better outcome…and not this ..but ugh to find out your lover is your half sibling..do you throw up, scream, like what? Meanwhile I hope there’s a therapy room w/ lots of wine or perhaps something much stronger…I only wished I could write as well as this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words about my writing! ❤️ Sorry for the outcome though 😬 As for how they’ll react… next chapter we will see! Therapy and alcohol might definitely be a must for them though 😬😬😬

      Like

      1. Lola should have told Phoenix in the first place, but she was worried about ruining his marriage I’d imagine. This might be a hard one for Emberlynn to get over, her first boyfriend turned out to be her half brother. Can’t wait for Wednesday!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. YES

    If I knew how to add a gif of Louise from Bob’s Burgers laughing maniacally, I’d do so right now.

    I want to add more but I’m in Israel and wifi is spotty so I’ll conclude by predicting that Ember never leaves the shower after this announcement ahahahaha

    In all seriousness, though, I’m guessing they do a paternity test and Emberlynn ends up being the one who isn’t Phoenix’s child (Gigi’s affair!) and she and Xander live happily (enough) ever after. Or, you know, Xander isn’t Phoenix’s kid, which is probably more likely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I know exactly the gif you’re talking about and it’s definitely a perfect fit 😉

      Things would definitely be simpler if one of those predictions comes true and they actually aren’t related! No way to know for sure til there’s a test 🤷🏻‍♀️ So there could still be hope!

      Enjoy your travels!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Controversial opinion: In Lola’s defense she would have thought she was doing the selfless thing by not telling Phoenix. She knew that if she told him, no matter what he chose to do he would always be filled with regret and guilt as he couldn’t be there for both of his children (and neither of his romantic relationships would have suceeded as a result). She wanted to spare him of that because she loved him.

    It did mean that she stripped her son of the possibility of knowing his real father, though that’s really all it was, a possibility. The likely outcome would have been Phoenix still staying with Gigi, maybe coming back to Brindleton Bay for a guilt-ridden trip once or twice and not really being in Xander’s life in a meaningful way anyway. She presumably would have thought it was better for Xander to have the actually present father figure rather than a guy from Windenburg that only materialises once in a blue moon.

    Obviously telling the truth would have meant less of Xander banging his own sister, but how was poor Lola to know that? 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this comment! Unfortunately we aren’t going to get a look inside Lola’s head (though we’ll hear a little bit more from her!), but this was exactly her reasoning for doing what she did. That was why, way back when Phoenix asked her whether the baby was his, she asked “would it matter”. She knew it wouldn’t. Things were going to be messed up no matter what, and it would have just been that much harder for Phoenix and for herself, and maybe even for Xander too, like you said.

      Of course, that doesn’t make this any easier for Phoenix or Xander. They obviously have their own perspectives on the situation and own major issues with this (including the incest… WHOOPS 😬 lol) but you’re right that there was zero malicious intent on Lola’s part. In fact, she thought she was doing what was best for all of them. Her motives were completely selfless, but unfortunately it’s all come back to bite them all pretty hard years later… :-/

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.