7.10: Interlude – Worry

Oh no! The door’s locked. We’re trapped!” The brave knight cried in despair. “Oh fair princess, can you help us escape?”

The princess lifted the bright pink staff she held at her side, smiling. “Of course! Stand back, and I will save us!” She cried out dramatically as the wand began to sparkle and glow.

“Great!” Phoenix smiled happily at his little sister. “Now, roll me a D20 and we’ll see what happens.”

“A D-what?” The little girl asked in confusion.

Tam smiled gently, pointing down at the largest die in front of her.

“Oh! Duh!” Lila’s cheeks turned slightly pink. “Thanks, Tam.” The die clattered loudly against the table. “17!”

“Hmm…” Phoenix was thoughtful for a moment, consulting the chart in front of him. “Too bad, twerp… You wave the wand above your head, and a bunch of big slimy frogs start raining down from the ceiling!”

“Ewwwwwww!”

Phoenix laughed heartily at his sister’s shriek. Lila had been bugging him for so long to let her join one of his games, and he’d finally decided to cave and let her give it a try. And it was so much more fun than he thought it’d be… especially getting to be the one calling the shots for once.

“Okay, you should totally DM our next campaign, Phee.” Tam smiled at his friend. “You’re a natural!”

“Can I try again?” Lila begged. “I don’t want anymore frogs!”

Her brother smiled. “Sure, twerp. Go for it!”

The clattering of Lila’s dice filled the air once more… and so did the sound of footsteps over Phoenix’s shoulder.

“Felix?” Amna called sweetly as she approached. “Sorry… am I interrupting something?”

Oh shit. Phoenix looked down in horror at the dice and DM screen in front of him. 

It was pointless to even try hiding them. What would she think? What would she say?

“Huh? ‘Felix’?” Lila’s little voice called him back to the present. “I don’t get it. Who’s — “

“Who’s that?” Tam interrupted loudly, finishing her question for her. Phoenix was certain they both knew that was not the way she’d planned on finishing that sentence. He hoped Amna did not notice the nervous edge to Tam’s voice. “That’s his new friend, remember?”

Amna gave the little girl a small wave of greeting. Thankfully, she didn’t seem to notice anything amiss. “Hello again, Lila.” She said sweetly.

“Oh, and uh, Amna, this is Tam.” Phoenix gestured toward his friend, who gave the dark-haired girl a nod of greeting.

This time, Amna hesitated a bit before waving. “Oh… hi!”

Lila rolled her eyes. “I know who she is! But why did she call you –”

“Alright, twerp.” It was Phoenix’s turn to interrupt his little sister. “Why don’t you go hangout in your room or something? We can play more later.”

“Aww, but we just started!” She pouted.

“Phee’s right, we can try again another time.” Tam smiled gently at her. “The knight was just about to head out anyway…” He flicked his eyes toward Phoenix. “Jasper invited me over for dinner tonight.” He explained.

Phoenix raised an eyebrow at him. He knew his brother and best friend got along well, but this was the first he’d heard of them hanging out when he wasn’t around. “Okay… Uh, well, tell him I say hi, I guess. Papa and Rubi too.”

“Will do!” Tam smiled, gesturing for Lila to follow him as he rose from his seat. “Let’s go, Princess.” He turned toward his friend. “Later, Felix.” Tam winked.

With one last smile toward Amna, Tam headed back through the kitchen, a very confused Lila at his side.

“Sorry about that.” Phoenix muttered when his friend and sister were out of earshot. He rose to his feet to join her. “Lila decided to drag me and Tam into one of her weird games.” He laughed softly, hoping she would believe him.

“That’s fine… I think it’s really sweet!” Amna grinned at him. “Most big brothers wouldn’t be so willing to put up with… that.” She gestured toward the pile of dice on the table.

Phoenix tried his best to ignore the slight sting he felt at Amna’s comment. “Yeah, probably not…”

“Anyway, I really didn’t mean to interrupt or anything.” She continued apologetically. “I can’t stay for very long anyway… I just had to come show you what I found today.” With a smile, Amna reached into her pocket and retrieved a folded piece of paper.

She handed it to Phoenix, whose stomach dropped the moment he read the flyer she had given him.

“A co-ed football team?” He muttered softly.

Amna nodded, her eyes alight with excitement. “We should totally sign up! Then we could play together!”

Phoenix felt like he was going to be sick. “I, uh… I dunno.” He managed to speak at last. “It sounds really fun, but like… I’m really busy with school and training and stuff. I’m not sure I can fit it in my schedule…”

“They only practice one day a week!” Amna pointed back down at the flyer for a moment. “It’s super casual… Just for fun.” She paused for a moment, batting her long eyelashes at him. “I’d really love it if we could play together, Felix. Will you at least give it a try?” She asked hopefully “For me?”

For a moment, Phoenix found himself lost in her deep brown eyes. His heart practically skipped a beat at the sight of them. How could he possibly say no?

“Okay.” He replied at last. “Let’s try it.”

Fuck.

“Yay!” Amna skipped forward to give Phoenix a soft kiss on his cheek. “I can’t wait!”

“Y-yeah… Me neither…”

“I’ve gotta head back home for dinner… But we’re still on for the gym tomorrow, right?”

Phoenix nodded, trying to smile. He was already getting so sick of that place. “Of course. Wouldn’t miss it.” He hoped his voice sounded casual.

“Great! We can start training for tryouts!”

Tryouts? Oh God… “Yeah. Awesome.” He muttered. “Can’t wait.”

The sight of Amna’s bright smile was almost enough to quell the awful twisting sensation in his stomach. “See you tomorrow, Felix.”

He pulled her into his arm for a moment, pressing his lips against hers. “See you tomorrow.”

As Amna headed back toward the front door to take her leave, a second, taller figure crossed over the threshold into the kitchen, smiling slightly.

Amna nodded kindly at Phoenix’s mother. “See you later, Mrs. Parris.” She said softly. “Bye, Felix!”

Phoenix watched as Harper approached, still smiling. Over her shoulder, he could see Amna disappearing into the entryway and heading for the front door.

“So… ‘Felix’, huh?” Harper asked softly.

He sighed. “Mama…”

“The first few times I heard her say it, I kept telling myself it was just my shitty hearing… But it’s not, is it?”

Phoenix tried his best to smile as they took a seat together at the table. “It’s just… It’s um, a weird nickname.” He shrugged. “Don’t worry about it.”

“Uh-huh…” Harper paused for a moment before continuing, her brow furrowing slightly in concern. “Honey… Is everything okay?”

“Of course it is.” Phoenix answered much too quickly. “Why wouldn’t it be?”

Harper did not immediately reply. “I’m just worried about you. And I know your Papa is too.”

Ugh. “You talked to him?” He asked softly. “What did he say?”

His mother shrugged. “Not a lot. Just that he thought you were maybe getting in a little over your head?” Harper’s eyes flicked down toward the flyer on the table. “And I can’t help but think he might have a point…”

Phoenix bit his lip. In truth, he had to agree with his parents. He was already getting so tired of pretending all the time. But he wasn’t about to admit that.

“It’s fine, Mama.” He said at last, trying his best to sound confident. “Seriously.”

She raised an eyebrow skeptically at him for a moment. “I get how hard it is, honey. Trust me. Back when I was your age… Well, I felt really lost. Out of place, y’know? So believe me, I get it.” Harper smiled softly at him. “But when I decided to try and find my place…” Her smile slowly began to fade. “Well, let’s just say I got in over my head too. It was awful. I made a lot of stupid mistakes, and hurt a lot of people…”

Phoenix’s brow furrowed slightly. He had no idea what she was talking about, but whatever it was, it sounded awful. What kind of trouble had his mother gotten into in her youth, he wondered? He shook his head. “This isn’t like that, Mama. I’m just trying something new. I’m not ‘hurting’ anybody, or whatever.”

“I know.” She assured him. “I know it’s different. And I know you’re way too smart to make the same mistakes I did… I just worry a little, that’s all. You never realize how quickly things can spiral out of control before it’s too late…” She paused for a moment before speaking again. “I guess my point is, be careful, Phoenix. And it’s great to try new things, but you shouldn’t stop being you. You should never try and change who you are. Not for your friends, or for a girl… Not for anybody, okay?”

Easy for you to say, Phoenix wanted to reply. You don’t know what it’s like. If he ever wanted to belong anywhere, he had to change, didn’t he? Otherwise he’d be stuck forever. Lost and alone… Drifting in a big, boring, empty sea.

How could she ever understand what that felt like?

“Thanks, Mama.” He forced a small smile as he rose to his feet. “I get what you’re saying… And I promise I’ll be careful, okay? You and Papa don’t have to worry about me.”

Harper just laughed. “But I’m your Mama. It’s my job to worry.”

Phoenix rolled his eyes as his mother stood beside him and pulled him into a tight embrace. She was being ridiculous, of course. He had things under control. There really wasn’t anything to worry about…

Well, except how the hell he was gonna fake his way into a football team.

——————————

Note: In addition to a Book Club Reminder (You are welcome to start posting general thoughts about the first half of Gen 6 over in the thread, and/or submit discussion questions to SimsLover163 on the forums! The official discussion begins on Monday :D), because I’m feeling super nostalgic, I just wanted to share a pointless little story lol

The beginning of this chapter was actually 100% inspired by me and my brother 🙂 He’s 12 years older than me, and was always very much into Dungeons and Dragons. As a little kid, I was always bugging him to let me join him and his friends’ games. Well, when I was around Lila’s age, my brother finally let me “play” my first ever game with him… And it was exactly what Phoenix had Lila do.

I played a princess and he had me find the Wand of Wonders, which is a wand where you roll a D100 (I changed it to a D20 because the cc dice set I have doesn’t have a D100! LOL) and the wand does a random effect based on what you roll. It was the simplest, silliest thing, but I had so much fun with it. I’ll never forget how much I loved that first experience with D&D, so I decided to pay tribute to it in today’s chapter 😀 Okay, done sharing random nostalgic memories from my childhood 😛 Thanks for reading, guys! ❤

48 thoughts on “7.10: Interlude – Worry

  1. Dark WitcHazard: Whats there to worry about Rosebrooks are better at picking up the broken pieces of their life and putting it back together than knowing what to do with the pieces they have from the start anyway it’s tradition can’t stop tradition!

    Emotional WitcHazard: That’s was such a adorable story rhanks for sharing it made our day!

    Dark WitcHazard: Made you and the rest of the courts day that was so sweet it activated my gag reflex just from reading the first sentence!

    Emotional WitcHazard: Oh shush!

    Lover WitcHazard: Sly Pheonix! You totally played it cool and know one would know you’ve completely lost control of the situation not at all!😏

    Shipper WitcHazard: It’s not even worth giving a ship name cause you already know it’s going to sink! Unless she’s a better person than we give this girl credit for and already k owes he’s lying and is just waiting for him to admit it so they can move on to have a real relationship based on trust!

    Anti Shipper: Or she already knows and is setting him up for the most humiliating thing that could ever happen in his life!

    Dark WitcHazard: Ooh Anti I love that make it happen Citizen let her make him squirm!

    Charmer WitcHazard: You guys really want him to suffer just for the sake of suffering don’t you!

    Anti Shipper and Dark: What’s your point?

    Charmer WitcHazard: 😓

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! Dark makes a good point here. The Rosebrooks are experts in the cleanup department… and the mess-making/destruction department too, sadly 😂 Dark and Anti are so evil with their cruel prediction haha but anything is possible 😉

      I’m glad Emotional enjoyed the little story about me and my brother haha I had a lot of amusing flashbacks while writing that opening scene!

      Like

    1. Yes, I love Lila! She’s a sweet little thing ❤️

      But as for Phoenix, nah. Everything’s gonna be fine! 😁

      Like

  2. ‘Otherwise he’d be stuck forever. Lost and alone… Drifting in a big, boring, empty sea.

    How could she ever understand what that felt like?’
    I love this reference to his mum’s teenage years. More than you know, Phee. More than you know.

    I wonder how far he’s willing to take this pretending he’s something he’s not. It never ends well. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed that little throwback 😉 Phee definitely has no idea how much his mom understands how he feels…

      And as for his pretending, well… it’s worked out just fine so far? 😂 But who knows how he’s gonna manage to fake his way onto a football team…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do what Harper did…have his parents bribe the football coach…I’m sure that’s how Harper ended up on a football team anyway. I can’t think of how else Hope and Zayne got her a spot.

        I like how both his mum and him tried football. Harper when she was about Lila’s age and Phee is trying it now. They have similarities but also differences.

        I’m wondering now if Phee inherited the Rosebrook temper or not. Doesn’t appear he has so far but it could appear later on in his story…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The gen is young, so you never know! 😛 He’s a pretty happy (okay, sometimes bummed too I guess lol) kid so far…

          And I’m glad you’re enjoying the little parallels! I always like having Rosebrook children mirror certain aspects of their parents in some way, when I can! 🙂

          Like

  3. Awww….super sweet beginning…I adore Lila. And thanks for sharing your childhood experience. Being able to recreate your happy childhood memory must have been fun.

    But Felix! Oops, I mean Phoenix….😂😂😂. Really – how ARE you going to get out of it? Lies and more lies? Not cool dude. Yep, his name is definitely Rosebrook.

    I loved the moment he had with Harper. She would totally understand. But oh well, he is his mothers son….

    Anxious to see how this this plays out and if he will also be on a row boat all alone drifting on a big boring sea….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it was really fun to revisit that memory of me and my brother! ^_^

      As to how he gets out of it (or IF he does…) we will see in Wednesday’s chapter! 😉

      Glad you liked that moment with his mama. She understands so much more than he realizes…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s so sweet that you and your brother did that! I really like Phoenix and Lila’s relationship. The prologue made me think it’d be a little more fraught, but they’re actually very sweet.

    Sometimes I just want to shake the Rosebrook parents and say TALK TO YOUR CHILDREN. Harper tried, at least. That’s way more than other generations have done, even after the problem ballooned out of control. Luckily this just seems to be teenage shenanigans.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks! It was a fun memory to revisit/recreate! Phoenix is a great big brother. He was 100% not onboard back when she was first born, as we saw, but he has really grown to love that little twerp 😉

      And yes, Harper did try! A big step by rosebrook standards haha. Like you said, definitely more typical teenage shenanigans rather than the stealing and drugs she got herself wrapped up in, at least! And she does recognize how different Phoenix is than she was, but I think she also fears that things could get worse. I have a feeling she’ll be keeping a close eye on her boy!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Zayne tried to be who he was not. Now Phoenix’s is doing the same. How I wish the parents didn’t act like they were so perfect. Maybe by owning up to their mistakes and talking about their pass to their children would help them make better decisions. Phoenix your grandpa was a drug dealer, your dad was a druggie, your moment to prison because she she was a thief. The word “was” should tell him the strength of his family.
    Stop trying to be something you not and you want feel like you drithing in the sea all by yourself. You have so many friends a girlfriend will come while is perfect for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “The word “was” should tell him the strength of his family.” I love that ❤️ Harper and Erik still have so much shame about their pasts (though Harper at least hinted at it in this one? Progress? Haha) but you’re right that there’s a positive side too… they were able to overcome and that could be something to inspire Phoenix ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Harper really was the best person to give Felix advice about getting in too deep and losing yourself–too bad he would’ve been more likely to listen if it came from Erik, I think.

    Tam was a true bro, covering for Felix in front of Lila, but he shouldn’t have had to, rofl. Amna’s obviously Hallie 2.0, the way she’s dismissive of a hobby Felix pretends not to like, even if she hopefully lacks the casual cruelty. He should find someone who shares his interests or at least respects them–not every couple is going to like all the same stuff, but they at least should give the other the freedom to enjoy what they enjoy.

    It was really cute, seeing Lila play with her big brother and Tam. Also, I totally think she’s crushing on Tam a little.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, she really understands what he’s going through so much more than he realizes. I wonder if she’d been more candid about what she actually did back then, he’d maybe have taken her more seriously? We may never know… Maybe Erik will get his shot at this kind of conversation eventually too?

      And yes, Tam is 100% looking out for Phee here 😂 He totally encourages and enables all his friend’s lies, whoops 😛 Teenagers. Pfft.

      Amna is a bit like Hallie in some ways, it’s true. Though definitely not quite as blunt. She knows what she likes, and isn’t very accepting of stuff outside her interests. Phoenix totally needs to find someone a bit more open-minded, like you said!

      And yes, Lila is a cutie! She really adores her big brother… and maybe Tam a little too 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww, dats nice; playing with Lila ❤
    (Bringing her up right too!)

    AND HERE IT IS.
    Shit about to go south with that football flyer… well, what's the wort that could happen? I mean, he probably won't die from football? Probably…
    Is otay Phoenis! Lots of cute girls and bois for you left in the sea.

    Tam, wut… dinner with Jasper EH (you dog).

    Harper is all "oh man, teen shenanigans" but she knows you can't talk a teen out of their dumbassery; they have to learn by crashing and flailing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gotta teach them kiddos what’s what 😛 A little geek in the making!

      And you never know… Phee may end up the first ever football-related casualty in Windenburg history 😱 RIP Felix Rosebrook, greatest footballer of the generation.

      Tam is just going over for dinner with his friend, okay? Nothing more going on. Nope. 100% platonic friend time.

      And yeahhhhh I fear Harper knows all too well how this could end up 😂 I think her approach here will be to keep a very close eye, but also kinda let Phee fuck up a bit so he can learn a lesson or two. But I also think she won’t hesitate to intervene if she sees any red flags… the last thing she (or Erik) want is for their son to repeat their mistakes 😬

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hopefully all that working out has helped Phoenix get faster so he can learn to outrun all these lies 😬

      Like

  8. The part with Lila was adorable.

    I always have mixed feelings when these Rosebrook heirs invariably repeat party mistakes or experiences. Floating alone in a sea? That’s Harper’s bag, and Phoenix has no idea.

    My mixed feelings are because I want the kids to say more to their parents, to give them a chance to show they might understand. But I also want the parents to stop this washing away of history. Why wouldn’t Harper tell her kids about her past? Or Erik for that matter? I want them to be real, flawed, wiser people in their children’s eyes.

    I just want so much, and I’m never gonna get it with this family, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha never say never! The gen is still young. I think at this point, Erik and Harper have both not really had the right opportunity to go into detail about their pasts. It’s not something they want to discuss unless they feel like they have to… not saying that’s right, of course. I think it would be good for Phoenix to know the truth. But I also think sharing such dark and shameful things from your past is a lot easier said than done.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps they’ll surprise me. And if they have those tough talks, it will indeed surprise me. Not a single Rosebrook heir has readily discussed the traumas and mistakes of their youth with their children. To me, it’s a big reason why they invariably repeat those mistakes and experience those traumas. It’s basically a woven in Rosebrook trait in my opinion. Even though it bugs me (live your truth people!), it’s one of the things that makes this family so real to me. That generational trauma is real. Thinking back to when Stefan and Tobi were feeling so estranged from their identity due to the daddy issues, or when Mari went through that self-loathing phase, or when Jocelyn thought pretending something was true when it wasn’t was a good idea, I’m still seeing the ghosts of those choices resonating Harper’s and Phoenix’s actions. I’m just saying, I would pay good money to have these generations come alive in a series of novels, and eventually a series of movies.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re right that the trauma really lingers for these guys. The rosebrook scars run deep 😦

          And you flatter me way too much with your kind words ❤️ 😘 You’re so sweet, Cece ❤️❤️❤️

          Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s digging so, so deep. 😬 A cave in could be coming… but hopefully not? And hopefully he will take Harper’s advice!

      Glad you liked the story about me and my brother! It was so fun to relive that a bit ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Lila is the cutest ❤

    Oh, Phoenix. I wonder what cringingly embarrassing event you have to go through to finally realize that what you're doing is not helping you in the slightest. Start thinking with your brain, honey! Y'know, that thing inside your head, not the one inside your pants.

    Tbh, although I'm really enjoying the silly and light vibe this gen has so far (I think even the Rosebrooks needed a breather after Harper :P), I can't help but feel a little worried about how these experiences will effect him in the future. You have this awesome way of taking the issues the characters struggled with as teenagers and weaving them into their lives as adults, but then intensified, obviously. I don't want anything bad to happen to my sweet cupcake Phoenix 😦
    I know you mentioned that it won't be as heavy as Harper's gen, but like, that's a pretty high bar to cross anyway :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you love that cute little twerp ❤️ Phoenix does too… but don’t tell her that 😛

      Cringingly embarrassing? Nahhhhh. It’s gonna be fine. He’s got this under control. His penis… erm… brain told him so 😉

      And I can understand your worry… but we’ll see? I’ll try me best to protect your cupcake, but I can’t make any promises 😭 Harper’s bar IS pretty high, so… things might still get pretty dicey 😬

      (Also, I appreciate your compliment about how the teenage experiences often carry over into adulthood ❤️ Thank you!)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I have a feeling Phoenix is getting in some trouble… Seems to be a Rosebrook gene, pretending to be who you aren’t.

    I’m thinking of starting a SimLit blog here on WordPress soon. Any tips? Any input would be appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trouble does seem to follow the Rosebrooks, huh? 😉 Hehehe

      That’s awesome that you’re interested in getting into simlit! I’d say my biggest tips would be to make a thread for your story on the official sims forums once you’ve started, to help get your story out there 🙂 and to try and not get discouraged if people don’t read right away… it can take time to build a readership!

      And most importantly, write for yourself and have fun! ❤️

      Like

  11. Aw, is so cute Phoenix let Lila play with them (and your brother, too). For one I must agree with Amna in some way, most older brothers wouldn’t put up with that. ❤
    However, there will be a ride awakening as soon as Phoenix has finally been tugged into those lies too deeply. You never lie about yourself to someone you're interested in, be it as a friend or as a potential partner. Tam's support is nice but not the right way. I wished he'd actually advise Phoenix properly but he seems to see that as a game, maybe not realizing how serious that is for Phoenix.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right about Tam… he’s trying to support his friend but he’s not seeing it as anything more than harmless fun. Teenagers! Haha 😛

      Phoenix really needs some major lessons in honesty….

      Like

  12. Harper should have said: ”Back in my prison days…” that would have called his atention, and maybe he would have listen his mother’s advice ( AKA everyone’s advice in the coments.) This is all tooo comic, he is bring everything into himself, and not even realizing that yet…I dunno if it was intentional, or not, but Phoenix coment in how he would be ”alone” in a ”boring ocean” just reminds me of the story that Harper wrote, after ivy died…the one with mermaid Erik and stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good catch 😉 That connection was on purpose… Harper understands how Phoenix feels SO much more than he knows. But he still doesn’t know her full story… I think you’re right about how she should have said it 😂 Maybe then he would have listened!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha with a special item like the wand of wonders, I believe it’s just 100% randomized. I’ll have to look up the list of effects sometime and reminisce 😂

      Like

  13. Aww that story about you and your brother is adorable.
    My sister is super into DnD, and we tried to play a game together, but it didn’t go very well XD
    Also, Phoenix is still very much a doof, an even bigger doof if you will.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha glad you enjoyed my little story 😛 and LOL now I can only imagine what might have happened in YOUR sibling-D&D game! Hehe

      Like

      1. It wasn’t anything interesting! My younger brother and I were just not very good, and I died in the very first battle we did 😀 Now I’m about to DM my first game with friends :3

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Wonder if he’ll ever find out about his parents’ past. Might put things into perspective, he thinks everyone in his life has it sooo together, but rarely anyone ever does (and that definitely applies especially to Harper and Erik’s experiences).

    Can’t wait to see the tryouts lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s interesting to consider how knowing more about his parents’ last night help him gain a new perspective on things… right now he has no idea 😱

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.