6.23: Crush

Okay, I’ve been using almost all of my free time lately to work on writing stories instead of writing in here… But I figured it was about time to get some of my thoughts down about everything that’s been going on lately (Don’t worry! It’s good!)

I just checked — the last time I wrote anything in here was after my second tutoring session with Erik. I remember still not being 100% sold on the whole tutoring thing at that point, but I was pretty optimistic. I mean, things seemed to be going pretty well so far, all things considered. But I wasn’t sure how it would all turn out.

Well now, about a month later, I can safely say that everybody was right — Tutoring actually ended up being really, really good for me. Way better than I even could have imagined!

Obviously one of the biggest things is my math grade. It’s been going up little by little, and my parents are basically going insane about it. Every day they’re practically sobbing and telling me how proud they are and all that crap. (Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little about the sobbing… But they’re still being so over-the-top about it!).

I guess they’re just really happy though. And I hate admitting it, but as annoying as it is, it is kinda nice to see them so excited. It’s better than them always bugging me about getting my grades up, at least. Guess it’s nice seeing them happy for once, instead of disappointed.

Oma’s been really proud too, of course. She keeps telling me how happy she is for me, she’s just a little less annoying about it than my parents, I guess.

She and Tante Clara had a kinda weird talk with me last week though (well, it was mostly Tante Clara, really). Now that was a little annoying.

It was after one of my tutoring sessions with Erik. They sat me down and starting talking all about dealing with older guys and not letting them ‘take advantage of me’ or ‘pressure me’ to do anything I don’t want to.

It was… well, pretty damn uncomfortable.

First off, I don’t get it. I know Mark was way older than Oma. And Onkel Florian was older than Tante Clara too. And obviously both of them were great guys. They wouldn’t have stayed together so long if they weren’t! But Tante Clara was really serious about this ‘older guy’ thing. Maybe more serious than I’ve ever seen her. It was so bizarre.

And secondly, they’re reading way too much into things. Erik and I are just friends!

But when I tried explaining that to them, they just kinda smiled each other… Like they knew something I don’t. It’s the same way they smile at each other when I talk about Rylie or Devin sometimes. And I still don’t get it. It’s really, really weird.

And speaking of Rylie and Devin… they’re being  ridiculous about this too. Well, probably Rylie more than Devin, actually. He’s been pretty quiet about it. And I mean, he’s normally quieter than Rylie anyway. But like, quieter than usual. He doesn’t really say much whenever Erik comes up.

But it’s a totally different story with Rylie. I swear, it feels like she teases me every day about my ‘crush’ on Erik. And when I try to tell her we’re just friends, she totally ignores me, just like Oma and Tante Clara.

“Denial,” she keeps calling it. It’s so frustrating!

As if she’s some kind of relationship expert or something! Yeah, right. She always calls relationships a “waste of time” anyway. (Not that that’s stopped her from messing around with a couple guys from school… But it never actually goes anywhere).

Anyway, she’s totally wrong. It’s NOT a crush.

I mean… Yeah, Erik’s hot as hell. But so is Devin. And Rylie. Just because you think someone’s hot doesn’t mean you have a crush on them, does it?

And the way I feel when I’m with Erik — The nerves. The butterflies…

Well, you can probably guess who else makes me feel the same way.

I know, I know. It totally sounds like a crush. Or crushes, maybe. I know it does. And sometimes it feels that way too. Especially when I’m alone at night and my mind starts wandering and…

Anyway, it’s not a crush. On any of them. It’s hard to explain. It’s weird. It’s… confusing.

Like, if you asked me back before I met Rylie and Devin, I’d probably say I have a crush on Erik, I guess. It’d probably be a no-brainer. But things are so different now. Like, I don’t really know if that’s what all those feelings mean anymore.

Back when I first started hanging out with Rylie and Devin, I used to think I had a crush on Devin too.

He made me nervous. I thought about him all the time. He was so damn good looking and nice and funny and talented. And I love watching his hands while he works. And thinking about what it might feel like if those hands touched me...

But then I realized that the way I felt about him was almost the exact same way I felt about Rylie.

I used to spend a lot of time thinking about her too. She’s so beautiful and fun and amazing. Her voice is like an angel. And when she laughs, it still gives me butterflies sometimes…

But she’s a girl.

I’d never like, judge anybody because of who they love or who they’re attracted to. My Papa’s Onkel Auggy is gay, and he’s awesome. So is his husband.

But this is about me. And I know I’m not gay.

I mean, I like guys. I’ve never liked girls. Not like that. And if all these feelings mean I have a crush on Devin and Erik, that would mean I have a crush on Rylie too. But I don’t like girls!

So that’s how I know it can’t be a crush… Can it?

Ugh! It’s so confusing! I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about this stupid crush thing and trying to figure out what it all means. I mean, if I don’t have a crush on any of them… Then what the hell is this?

Today, I think I might have found an answer.

‘Idolize’ is such a strong word, but… Maybe it fits here. I love everything about them. And part of me really wants to be just like them too. All three of them. They’re the most amazing people I’ve ever met in my life.

So yeah… If it’s not a crush on Erik, maybe it’s still something just as special?

That’s the other way tutoring has been so good for me. Yeah, my grades are definitely making my parents happy. But for me, getting to know Erik has really been what makes it all worth it.

I mean, I never thought someone like him would ever wanna be friends with someone like me. And at first, I wasn’t even sure if he did. I figured he was just being nice since he was tutoring me. But it’s really starting to feel like it’s more than that.

Probably too soon to get my hopes up too much though. It’s just been little stuff so far — emailing and texting each other about stuff besides math. Adding each other as friends on Facebook.

And yesterday, we finished getting caught up on my homework early, so he took me across the street to get some ice cream while we waited for Papa to show up. I never thought anyone else but me would wanna sit outside eating ice cream in the middle of November… But it was his idea, believe it or not!

It just really feels like he gets me. He doesn’t put these ridiculous expectations on me like my parents do. But he doesn’t think I’m weak or dumb either (no matter how much I suck at math). He just sees me for me. He treats me like a normal person, just like Rylie and Devin do.

I dunno. Maybe I’m making too big of a deal out of this. I don’t wanna get my hopes up.

Maybe it really IS just about the money for him. Maybe we’ll never talk to each other again once this whole tutoring thing is over with.

But I really, really hope not.

61 thoughts on “6.23: Crush

  1. You’ve become a master at obscuring the true love interest. It’s cool to be interested in multiple people, Harper!

    How much older is Erik than her? I’m trying to figure out how uncomfortable their relationship could make me. (You’re in high school, Harper. You got two hotties your own age on the side.)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hahaha glad you’re enjoying my mystery here hehe 🙂 And for Harper, I think she’s okay with crushing on more than one person. What the problem is is her maybe-sexuality questioning. Feeling like she might like girls is a little scary and overwhelming and she doesn’t wanna deal with it 😛 (But then, it might NOT be a crush on Rylie after all. Who knows? 😉 Hehe)

      As for Erik, in the chapter we met him, we found out that he’s 20. Harper’s 17, so he’s only three years older than her (though those three years make a difference at this current age for sure!)

      Thank you for reading 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I do really want her to kiss Rylie but this chapter is giving me hardcore high school flashbacks to when I was a little baby questioning what I wanted so I may be biased. I did like her bit about maybe putting her friends on a pedestal. It can be hard to tell the difference sometimes.

        Erik seems cool. I hope he becomes like a chill confidant for her right now. I think she needs someone to talk to that isn’t her parents.

        Liked by 3 people

  2. Ooooh this is interesting. At first I thought we’d maybe get a bit of a love triangle between Harper, Erik and Devin, but I don’t even know what to call this shape anymore! Love-circle? Love-pentagon? Love-pyramid (yikes)?

    I’m kind of shipping Harper and Erik, because I feel like Erik will be the best influence on her. But then again, good influences are boring, so bring on the Harper-drama :p

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Good influences are way overrated for sure 😉 LMAO Yeah, we’ve got some kind of love-square, maybe 😛 Depending on if these are really crushes or not 😉 Thanks for reading, sonnie! 😀

      Like

  3. Wow! You are a master at totally confusing me! 😂

    Hmmm, will we see our first gay heir? But how would that work for the next gen? Ahhh. I know…Devin is the pixel donor and Harper carries the baby….I think it would break his heart that he couldn’t be with her because I think Devin is into her but he would still do it for her if she asked.

    I think Erik and idolizations are just red herrings….well only because I have been shipping Devin and Harper from the beginning! But I do like Erik too. He seems like a really good guy. As far as Rylie goes, it has never felt like Rylie had any interest in her at all other than as a friend even though she says relationships are a ‘waste of time’, she did mess around with a few guys. Another red herring?

    Confused! 🙃

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi!!! Thank you so much for reading my story! I appreciate it so much ❤️And I love that term… OT3 😂 Anything is possible at this point! 😛

      Thanks again ^_^

      Like

  4. Dark WitcHazard: Protégé I don’t like all this talk about crushes where’s the time when you should be planning your next heist!

    Lover WitcHazard: Aw love and confusion is in the air let her take a break figure things out then she can go back to turning into your adorable little psycho!

    Shipper WitcHazard: Eeeekkkkk so many ships I can’t handle it!

    Anti Shipper: No ships here just a couple of tiny row boats! Nothing to see here!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thanks! Your comment about admiration vs a crush made me laugh because you 100% predicted this chapter! Hahaha

      It could be crushes. Could be admiration. Could be both. But poor Harper is trying to sort it all out right now!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It feels like Harper is having a crush on all three of them. And seriously, why shouldn’t she? She is just a teen with her feelings going all wild, and actually she is better off this way. Way better than if she met her tutor first, took it for eternal love and got disappointed in the end. Maybe she will try him out, maybe she won’t, but she won’t take him as the one thing granted to bring happyness into her life. It might be less “falling in love” and more of feeling understood and having deep connections to people, like to Rylie and Dev, and it means he will be an important friend to her.
    Dev kindly remembers me of how I was pretty sure he was having a crush on Harper when they first invited her. He never made a move though, maybe he wasn’t sure how she would react? Got the thought her friendship was far more valuable than maybe finding love and maybe destroy that. It could get pretty hairy if Harper decided to fall in love with Rylie. Time will tell (though I am all out for Rylie, she is so hot and interesting I would date her too).

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks, Luna! I think you’re right about how it’s hard to tell if it’s a true crush/love or just deep connections. Or maybe a bit of both!

      We will have some more developments about this little “love square” in coming chapters. Your observations were very insightful as always. Thank you! ^_^

      Like

  6. I like her explanation og it being idolizing, but personally i think she’s crushing on All three of them. She could possibly be bi without knowing she is. I Mean, it happens sometimes, that Even married People finds out they Are gay or bi.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It definitely could be crushes, and she definitely might be bi. I think it’s something she has to really think about and try to figure out about herself 🙂

      Like

  7. I think Harper is worrying too much about labels. She could be bisexual. It’s also possible to feel attraction for a person of a gender they aren’t normally into without being bisexual. So… maybe she’s bi, and that’s OK. Or maybe she’s straight and attracted to Rylie, and Rylie’s the only girl or woman she’ll ever be interested in that way.

    These kinds of things are complicated. But if she does turn out to be bi, I hope you won’t go for the trope that she just “has” to have one of each or be highly promiscuous simply because of her orientation. I’m a straight person, so I can’t speak for bisexuals. That said, I’ve seen a lot of bisexual people complain online about how often the media portrays them as promiscuous, as well as how wrong it is to assume that they can’t be happy without being with both a man and a woman. Not to say I’m against Harper and Co being in a poly relationship if that’s what works for them, but hopefully it isn’t *just* because Harper is bi, or bi for Rylie, etc. I can say that definitely wouldn’t be my ideal situation, but what’s good for one person isn’t necessarily good for another.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. At this time, I can’t really confirm or deny anything about Harper’s sexuality, since it will be revealed down the line 🙂 But I can promise you that whatever I write, I will handle with as much care and sensitivity as I can, just like I do with everything I write 🙂

      Like

  8. I’m not so sure how good can it be for Hope and Zayne to be praising her for he good grades on Math…to me, at least, that is her ”duty” not something extra she should be prased for. Also, I would not worry about her ”love” thing until now. Teens often question what, and who they like, so I wouldn’t say for she she’s one thing, or another.And there’s no problem in trying, but I think it would be better to do that when she is older.( I meant the sex part.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can help explain the grade thing 🙂 Harper had been failing her math class for a very long time and simply did not care. But now that she has her tutor, she has been putting in more effort/completing more of her work (she could still be failing even with a tutor — she still has to take tests and do work in class without Erik) so her grades have improved. Her parents are praising her because they are proud that she’s being more responsible about her school work now, and want to reinforce that behavior by giving her praise 🙂

      As for her questions about the crushes, she definitely needs to figure things out… but we will see how soon (or not soon!) she ends up doing that ^_^ Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am Harper, Harper is me 😅 Maybe its why I love her so much. It’s so amazing how you manage to create these characters, they seriously seem like real people! (I’ve been reading this series for a while, but I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve commented on it, so can I just use this comment to send a “this is the most amazing thing” comment to every single chapter? 😉

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi!!! Thank you so much for reading my story ^_^ I’m glad that you’re able to find Harper so relatable and that my characters feel realistic to you. It means a lot to hear that ❤️

      I appreciate you taking the time not only to read, but to pause and share your thoughts too. Thank you again!!! ❤️

      Like

  10. Sounds like Harper might be bi, or maybe even pan! I could totally see her being pansexual.

    Also, Clara and Jocelyne talking about not being pressured by older guys :((((. That, and the third photo in this chapter that has the family pictures in the background (with tons of people in it!) made me so sad. Whoever Harper picks better want a big family because I miss when there were so many Rosebrooks! ALL THE NOOBOOS!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Bi or pan is definitely a possibility for Harper at this point. She’s still trying to figure stuff out right now.

      I’m glad you picked up on Clara’s concerns about the older guy (you’re the first one to mention it, actually!) Though it was sad to bring that up again 😦 Even after all these years, she’s never forgotten that awful experience from her youth.

      The family photos make me so nostalgic too! 😦 I miss everyone. Hopefully Harper will give us a big family? Haha we shall see 😉 Thanks for reading!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! You caught up! Thank you so so much for taking the time to read ❤️ And it is my pleasure to reply to comments. I always appreciate people sharing their thoughts with me 🙂 Thank you again!

      Like

  11. I have to say that like Devin and Harper more than Erik and Harper together. Devin knows her much better and Erik is just the tutor at this point. He seems nice but it’s so new! Ugh going for Devin right now, but I’m glad Erik is so helpful when it comes to her math grade.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Devin definitely has an edge there haha he knows her better/for longer for sure. But yes, at least Erik is helping her get her grade up! Hehe

      Like

    1. Hehehe exactly, poor Harper! 😦 I said it in my thread before, but a big theme this generation is self-discovery. Harper still doesn’t know who she is… in several ways. And I think it might take her a while to figure out the answer!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re able to relate to her 🙂 But yes, she’s so confused right now! The poor thing 😦 Thanks so much for reading ❤

      Like

  12. Theory; Maybe she has an obsessive personality and simply obsesses over those who make her feel good about herself.

    Theory #2; Are Devin and Erik together secretly? 😮 That would be depressing. It would be like standing in front of the two most awesome rides at an amusement park and being an inch to short. 😮

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Well I think our little Harper is starting to discover some things out about herself. She just might be bi-sexual. And…..Devin is very much a cutie sooooo if his silence means he might be into her then I might be on board for that also. I do remember when she got her hair cut and he said she looked hot. Well only time will tell I suppose.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yup, Harper is definitely having a journey of self-discovery here! And Devin is quite the looker, isn’t he? 😮 He and Rylie were casting call submissions from Pammiechick. Their parents are AU versions of characters from her story 😀

      Time will tell if any of these three potential ships will sail! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  14. Alright, I definitely think Devin likes Harper hence the silence, and I think Harper likes all three of them as a little closeted bi/pan.
    Why you may ask?
    Exhibit A
    “‘Idolize’ is such a strong word”
    HA, that is the number one lgbt denial excuse lolol. “I don’t like girls I just idolize her! I just look up to her!” blah blah blah lies. I’ve used that excuse XD I was the embodiment of that excuse XD
    You probably have all sorts of shippers don’t you.
    HarperXErik
    HarperXDevin
    HarperXRylie

    If she ends up with Rylie she may officially become my favorite heir because not only is she a writer like me, but she’d end up with a girl and that’d be amazing. I wanted that back with Clara lol
    Now if she could just kick the shoplifting habit

    OH WAIT PREDICTION
    She’ll get knocked up by Erik for the purpose of having an heir, then end up with Rylie, Devin forever alone :shrug:

    This is a long comment, I apologize.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.