7.33: First Level

As weird as it sounds, I seriously almost forgot what it feels like to have friends. Ones I can actually hang out with, I mean. Not ones who are literally an ocean away.

And it’s amazing.

I’ve only known them for a few weeks, but it already seems like I’ve known them so much longer than that… We just click, I guess.

Gigi says she doesn’t believe in fate or destiny… but I dunno. It kinda feels like I was meant to go to the library that day and meet them. I know how totally dumb that sounds. I’d never actually say that out loud to anybody or anything… But that’s seriously how it feels.

They’re all just so awesome. Niko’s a freaking genius. I can’t believe how smart he is! He told me his lifelong dream is to be on that game show, Jeopardy. He has dozens of the episodes recorded, and he watches them all the time to try and memorize the answers… And I kinda don’t really get it, to be honest? But I love that he’s so into it. And if you ever need the answer to any kind of useless trivia question, he’s totally got your back.

Addy’s pretty obsessed too… but her interests are more, um… diverse, I guess? I’ve never met anybody who’s into so many different things at once. I mean, she plays video games, she reads romance novels, she listens to metal music, she knits costumes for Lola’s pet cat… She’s probably one of the strangest people I’ve ever met. But I mean that in the best way.

And then there’s Lola. I don’t think I’ve ever met anybody quite like her either. She’s this crazy mix of ultra-girly and ultra-geeky. She’s got this YouTube channel full of videos of her and her cat, Duchess. And she’s got everything — from makeup reviews to gaming live streams to these weird rants and conspiracy theories about all the Netflix shows she watches. She’s so funny!

And the best part is, they get along really well with Tam too, even though they’ve never met in person, obviously. But they added me and Tam to their Space Dementia clan, and we all play online together every Sunday afternoon (well, Sunday night for Tam).

Jasper joins sometimes too, when he can… But he’s always so slammed with school work, or going out to meet up with his uni friends. And I know Tam’s been really busy with work and DJing and stuff too… I guess it’s been super stressful for both of them.

I’m a little worried about that, actually.

Most days they both just tell me everything’s fine… but sometimes when I talk to them separately they open up a little… And it really sounds like they’re struggling.

They said they’ve tried talking about it a bunch of times (and fought about it plenty too), but it doesn’t seem like they’re really getting anywhere. And it’s so frustrating for me to see that. I mean, I’ve taken classes about family and couple therapy before. I have ways I could try to help them communicate better and stuff.

But it’s so hard from so far away.

Anyway, I know there’s no point in worrying about Tam and Jasper right now. I’ve just been listening and supporting them as much as I can. There’s nothing more I can really do about it until I see them again. And I’m gonna see them in a couple months when me and Gigi go home for Christmas.

For now, I’m just glad I can share my new friends with them a little bit. It definitely seems to make both of them a little happier, at least.

And they’re making me so happy too. Having the three of them is finally helping this place really feel like home. And it’s kinda nice that Gigi finally isn’t the only one who actually has some friends around here!

There’s this marketplace downtown she goes to like, every day while I’m at class. She always brings home little knick knacks and random crap to decorate the house with. And I guess she’s started getting pretty friendly with some of the people who work there. She tells me all about how they go out for coffee together and stuff.

We’ve actually had one of her friends over a couple times to hang out too. Lucy. She’s pretty nice, I guess. But once the two of them get talking, well… I kinda end up feeling like the third wheel. I usually end up doing school work while they chat on the couch or watch a chick flick or something.

But I’m really glad Gigi’s meeting people. After giving up so much to come all the way here with me, she deserves it. At first, I was kind of worried she’d end up stuck at home and feeling bored and lonely all day while I’m at class.

Instead I was the one who ended up feeling lonely… but not anymore.

Me, Niko, Addy, and Lola get together a couple days a week to hang out. The first couple times we just stuck around the library, but that got kinda old after a while.

I mentioned going out to a bar one time, but they’re all still undergrads — a couple years younger than me. And I forgot how high the drinking age is over here! So that idea got thrown out…

But it was pretty easy to find other places to go. We ended up hanging out at the park one time. And then down by the docks. And Lola’s apartment once too, so I could finally meet Duchess.

Then Gigi started bugging me about it though. How I’m spending too much time with my friends, and making her feel left out and stuff.

She’s really been harping on a lot of stupid little things like that lately. It’s been annoying the shit out of me, to be honest.

But I guess she has a point this time… I’m away at my classes for most of the day already. It’s not fair for me to leave her alone at home any more than I have to, is it?

So last night, I invited them all over to our place instead.

And I’ll be honest — I was pretty nervous introducing them to her… I really wasn’t sure how well they’d get along. And I didn’t want Gigi feeling left out like I do with her and Lucy.

But I had nothing to worry about.

They all got along so great. And after they left, Gigi told me she really wants them over again sometime.

It was such a relief… And I’m just so freaking happy right now. Like, seriously happier than I think I’ve been since Gigi and I got here.

Y’know, back on our wedding day, I overheard Tam and Jasper talking about how sometimes in life, you have to fight through a dungeon full of sucky shit before you can get to the good stuff.

I’ve been thinking about it a lot since then — especially after we moved here. Things were definitely starting to get a little sucky, for a while. It felt like there were these crazy hoards of zombies bearing down on me all the time. I almost didn’t think I was gonna make it out alive.

But it finally feels like after all this time, I conquered the first level… and picked up a few pretty awesome followers for my party along the way.

39 thoughts on “7.33: First Level

  1. I’m glad for Pheonix. But with the whole introducing your friends to your wife…I’m not so sure about. Maybe Gigi is only pretending to be friends with them so she can see if anybody in the group is developing feelings for Pheonix so she can warn them off and probably tamper with their brakes to eliminate the problem an-

    Sorry…just thinking out loud…

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Ha! That took a dark turn 😂 Gigi is a hard one to read, so I understand your uncertainty! We get a peek into her head eventually that might help a bit!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. He really got a great party there, though he may not be the hero in that story. He might as well be the party member for the one whose dungeon is just starting. Just saying.

    That point with Gigi was to be expected, even Phoenix said that. And I don’t think her nagging will be done that easily. But at least she has a life here and friends. Her getting along with Phoenix’ new friends will definitely help, too. I know it’s difficult to get his classes and meeting friends organized in a way that includes time spent with Gigi. But for one part Gigi is not his parents. He moved out of the nest, he needs to get used to the fact his wife is not his caretaker. I don’t expect him shoving the household on her here, more of a subtle thing. But as kids grow, their parents leave them more freedom to spend their time away because they know their kids will leave at one point, they need to grow and make their choices. They knew their kids all their life and should have a relationship to them that can’t easily dry away. Phoenix and Gigi on the other hand have been a couple for a few years and are new to the whole marriage stuff. It would be the right time for them to grow closer together, to get to know each other better and to learn they can strongly rely on each other here (or can’t). If this is supposed to work they will need more quality time together. Not simply Phoenix staying at home more learning or listening to Gigi and her friend. Deep conversations, romantic moments, real attention, all that stuff. More of that important moments.

    But to get those moments, both have to be in the right state of mind. Which is hard if Phoenix is completely stressed and Gigi completely annoyed, and they both feel themselves in the right.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. That’s a great point about how Gigi and Phoenix need to take time for each other to build that connection in these early stages of their marriage! It’s definitely proven to be pretty tricky right now with all the changes and adjustments going on. I think Phoenix is trying… but their schedules and stuff are certainly making things tricky! Plus having such different friend groups. Though at least Gigi is getting along well with his, like you said!

      As for Gigi, we will get her POV in a few chapters and get some more insight into how she feels about things. There’s a lot that she doesn’t tell Phoenix…

      Thank you so much for reading!

      Like

  3. Huh, Phoenix is taking classes on family and couples counseling. I’m sure that won’t lead to any revelations.

    This chapter was very cute and very good. I’m glad both Gigi and Phoenix are making friends (and, honestly, I’ve learned having different friends can be good). I’m glad everyone’s getting along. I can’t help but wildly speculate every time you introduce me to a character, but I’ve been enjoying letting this story ride.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I approve of wild speculation! 😉 LOL! Glad you enjoyed this chapter! Things seem to finally be going okay for them. Hopefully it will last?

      And yes, I’m sure Phoenix’s classes will not help at all with anything 😛 Hehe

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is like when you see clouds gathering over the horizon and you be all “is it a storm, or is the things going to go poof and be nothing”
    Making separate friends, eh?
    Could be fine, could be SUPER NOT FINE.

    I was like, “why don’t they make some couple friends?”
    It’s good to have your own crew, but also good to have a “couple’s crew”
    Lots of little annoying things
    Tam and Jasper having probs…

    I SEE THEM CLOUDS.
    OFC I’m assuming all will go to shit, this is A2A after all.
    Where my popcorn at…

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Maybe I should start selling popcorn to go along with my chapters… I could probably make some easy money 😉 Hehehe

      You’re so right about couple friends! Maybe Phoenix and Gigi will be able to find some eventually. It was hard for them (okay, mostly Phoenix lol) to make the friends they currently have, but now that they’re coming out of their shells a bit, they can start expanding their friendship horizons a bit! 😛 Tam and Jas basically acted as their “couple friends” back home. So it’s definitely hard without them!

      And yes, lots of little things getting on each other’s nerves… and Jam troubles… Maybe get your raincoat ready? And an umbrella to protect the popcorn 😛

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Phoenix’s need to work on his own relationship with his wife and not worry so much about his brother’s. Phoenix let’s Gigi push him around too much, she seems to make all the decisions in the relationship and he just goes along with it. He just holds everything in letting small thing that bother him ffall through the cracks. One day he is going to explode. Maybe this phycology classes will teach him how to communicate better.
    Gigi gets along with Phoenix’s friends. That is a good sign or like someone on here said “She may have a hidden agenda.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally see what you mean about how Phoenix should worry more about stuff with Gigi right now. I think it’s hard because he’s still not fully seeing some of the potential problems that might be brewing! And he loves Tam and Jasper so much that it’s hard for him to not worry/care about what’s going on with them.

      Gigi definitely seems to be the one in charge here, and Phoenix allows it. Which could most certainly come back to bite him one day… but hopefully not???

      Like

  6. Dark WitcHazard: I’m out of the bet but I totally This this marriage falling apart and I love it! Three months alone and all he feels is lonely not a could sign Gigi! But forget about that, I see you Pheonix! Gigi hasn’t even hit half her mileage and you’re already looking at a newer model! You dog! I nominate Lola for mistress!

    Lover WitcHazard: I do think for a marriage couple they are doing a lot of me instead of we! I mean if you’re not going to see eachother that often and actually build on the foundation of your relationship then why did Gigi make such a big deal to come out here and get married! Ofcourse I think they shouldn’t have in the first place so I’m biased! But I agreed with Dark I second the notion Lola for mistress!

    Anti Shipper: Still in the race for the bet so I two want Lola for mistress!

    Charmer WitcHazard:(Raises hand for Lola being a mistress)

    Dark WitcHazard: Charmer I’m shocked 😱

    Charmer WitcHazard: Well after getting cucked with Tobias and Collette abortion he affair thing I want it to happen! I mean all Rosebrook men can’t be gentlemen who only turn into assholes when they disagree with their daughters life choices!

    Anti Shipper: Word!

    Shipper WitcHazard: I can’t believe this Phigi has problems but they will work them out in due time! Although Lola and Phee do look cute together but that’s besdirs the point!

    Nooboos WitcHazard: Or right before he leaves him a Gigi get into a big fight he goes to Lola’s for comfort they have intense love making session he regrets it goes back to his wife apologizes they go back to Germany one year later ding dong pregnant Gigi answer the door it’s Lola holding a infant in her arms and says where’s Pheonix we need to talk!

    Dark WitcHazard: Nooboos You’re a genius!

    Nooboos WitcHazard: Of purse anything involving Nooboos is a masterpiece!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dang! The WitcHazards are all #TeamInfidelity over here! Ha! Lola IS gorgeous, it’s true! But I can assure you that cheating is not on Phoenix’s mind right now. He’s enjoying his new friends and trying to enjoy things with Gigi too…

      You make a great point about the “me instead of we” thing though! Hopefully it’s something these two can recognize and work out. Right now things aren’t so bad, at least? And there’s still plenty of kinky sex going on too 😀 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Yaay my sim made an appearance! ❤ So exciting! Now you better be a good influence on Gigi, missy! :p

    I think it's really good that both Phoenix and Gigi have made friends seperately. I also think that if they are all hanging out together, they have to at least try to include the other person so there's no third wheeling (looking at you, Gigi..)

    Also, it's probably natural that small annoyances are going to come up when two people start living together, especially abroad. Maybe take a look at your notes from all those relationship therapy classes, Phee? Let's see what they say about bottling little things up … 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha yes, third wheeling is not good! Hopefully things will get better going forward? (Also, I didn’t realize she was yours! She’s very pretty and Gigi likes her a lot! 😛 )

      Phoenix could probably learn a thing or two from those classes! 😉 But it’s probably a lot easier to see other people’s problems than your own…? We’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I like that he’s feeling better about things. But…I agree with Froots. They need couple friends. All of their friends are single and not really mutual. Not a good combo. Sounds like Jamis imploding. I hope he and Gigi don’t and they try to talk through everything they are feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, couple friends are so important! (though individual friends are too!) I think you really need both! Jake and I both have our own little separate friend groups, but we also have some very close couple friends as well (as well as some single friends who are completely mutual as well).

      Jam is most definitely heading for a rough patch, it seems :-/ PheeGi… harder to say. Hopefully they can communicate, like you say ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Gigi’s gonna cheeeeat Gigi’s gonna cheeaaaat. And blame it on Phoneix because she thinks he was cheating first, so *of course* she only slept with that guy because she needed to get back at her philandering husband. Ever the victim, being stranded in America, all alone, not allowed to work or develop her own personhood – those pesky work visas – and it’s all Selfish Phoenix’s fault for dragging her over here in the first place. Why couldn’t he just try and make it work long distance?

    I do find it ironic that someone with SUCH a low insight score strives to be a psychologist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL Not a Gigi fan, I see! 😛

      Interesting prediction… Earlier we had someone saying they thought Phee was gonna cheat, now we have someone on #TeamGigi for infidelity! LOL Hopefully these two can survive to the end of the gen without ANYONE cheating?

      Gigi does have a job, but you’re right — not one in the US. She works remotely from home writing articles for a magazine back in Germany. So it’s a job, but definitely not one that gives her lots of opportunity to get out and meet people.

      And as for Phoenix, he is very insightful when it comes to others. Just not himself/his own relationship. One of my best friends has a degree in Psychology and works as a therapist. During college while getting her degree, she went through two extremely toxic relationships and was completely blind to all the warning signs. She sees it now, of course! But I definitely think it’s easier to see problems in others rather than yourself or your loved ones!

      Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. >very insightful when it comes to others.

        Yep, because Jam were definitely practicing for the talent show upstairs 😛

        As far as Gigi in general, I’m actually still torn on whether I dislike *her* or just dislike the fact that she’s young and dumb. I’ll give her credit for assertiveness and willingness to try, certainly.

        Liked by 2 people

  10. Heh, Gigi and I have more in common. *Glares at our husbands* I swear I had to remind David a few times when I was going through my whole medical crisis that he had a wife who happened to be sick. He kept going out with his and his brother’s friends. I totally get finding new people in a place to befriend, but never forget you’re also married Phee!

    Now, let me say this about Jam… cause girl, you knew it was coming…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL Glad you could relate to Gigi a bit. Though I don’t know if Phoenix was neglecting her quite as much as she thought he was. It’s tricky. And she certainly has no problem hanging out with her friends all the time without him! Haha

      As for Jam… we will find out more in the next chapter. All I can say for now! 😛

      Like

  11. I’m happy Phoenix is getting friends. But why is Gigi so upset about him spending time with friends? She has to get outside the house and do something. Is she allowed to miss him? But don’t try become his soul life force. If Phoenix was single, I’d love to see him with Lola. She seems pretty cool from what I’ve seen so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely not entirely fair for Gigi to feel so jealous of Phoenix’s friends. I think she’s a little lonely, maybe. Even having friends of her own. We actually have a Gigi POV coming in a few chapters 🙂

      And Lola is pretty cool, I must agree! (Also gorgeous! Her creator did a fantastic job!)

      Like

  12. Hmm…well things are looking up for Phee! Although it’s not good that Gigi is going to rag on him for hanging out with his friends. Omg…I’ve seen so many wives act like that. They can go off with their friends but when their husbands want to they get crap about it! 😫

    But it’s good Gigi likes his friends. She’ll be more likely to get over the fact of him hanging out. (I thought your description of how weird Addy was. I got her description perfectly. Lol! I like video games, read romance novels, and listen to metal music (but I don’t knit…lol…s I’m totally weird?)

    I’m feeling like there’s some explosion that might happen to my Jam! Noooo! 😱They must stop their fighting! 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Gigi isn’t being very fair here 😦 But hopefully she’ll lay off a bit. I think they’re both still in something of an adjustment period. Not that it 100% excuses things, but it’s definitely a struggle for both of them to get used to. Maybe things will get better? But maybe not. Only time will tell… Like you said, she at least liked them!

      Also I love that you relate to Addy 😂 I am a bit like her too actually… very eclectic tastes! 😉 I wonder if she writes Simlit like us too 🤔

      And as for Jam… definitely a rough patch 😕 We will see more about how they’re doing in Saturday’s chapter!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Things are good for Phoenix, althought, I *do* think he and Gigi will have a fight later on about the time he is spending with his friends.( Even thought she also spends a lot of time with her friends, and Phoenix doesn’t say a thing…)

    Phoenix’s new friends are all so interresting! Mybe he has a ”type” when it comes to making friends…?

    Anyway, I hope the fact that he’s learning pyscology helps him figure out his, ( and other’s, in Tam’s case) relationship issues. Althought, the whole thing with the therapist is that he isn’t emontionally involved with things the way other’s are, so he can see things more clearly, really diferent from Phoenix case.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah Gigi is kinda okay with it now, but who knows how she’ll feel later! 😬

      And I think you’re right about therapy — it’s a lot easier to give advice and see all sides of a situation when you aren’t emotionally wrapped up in the situation… and unfortunately Phoenix totally is!

      Like

    1. Haha you never know, maybe it was intentional! 😛 Or maybe it was a coincidence of camera angle 😉 Time will tell! (Or won’t. But we’ll see hehe) But either way, I love that you’re paying attention to the details! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m so nervous for when things are gonna go to shit. Especially in regards to Gigi. I’m not sold on her. If I recall I was, and then I wasn’t. Now I’m still not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.