6.2: Joy

I know it’s one of the cheesiest cliches out there, but I can honestly remember the day Harper was born like it was yesterday. I think about that day so much… Especially whenever her birthday rolls around.

Looking back now, it was without a doubt the happiest day of my entire life. But it sure as hell didn’t feel that way at the time.

I have never felt more terrified and hopeless than I did that day… And I pray I never feel that way ever again.

After everything Hope and I went through to have her — All the years of pain and frustration… All the tragedy and loss we had to go through to finally have our baby girl, it felt like the universe was trying to take all that joy away from us, just like it had before. And I couldn’t go through that pain. Not again.

But our Harper was a fighter. And look at where she is now, three years later. She’s a miracle.

She’s so beautiful, just like her mother. And so smart too… She’s catching up to other kids her age so much faster than we were expecting. She’s so curious about everything, and she loves to laugh and smile… Every day with her is a new adventure, that’s for sure.

I just wish those adventures were always fun ones. I hate seeing her get sick so damn much.

At least this time it was just an ear infection… But God, she’s had so many this past year. Her doctor says it’s not uncommon for preemies to get more ear infections than most kids, but that the number she’s been getting is “unusual”. Especially getting ones that block her ears this badly. He told us if she has another one before August, we’ve gotta start looking at getting tubes put in. Surgery.

Hope and I both feel so sick just thinking about it. But we’ve gotta do what’s right for Harper… And if that’s what has to be, then that’s what’ll happen.

Anyway, I’ve been rambling way too much about the bad stuff… Today was a celebration of everything I just talked about. My beautiful little girl, and what a miracle she is. It was a really awesome day for everyone.

This year, our ‘midnight movie’ with Tante Joce really turned out to be an ‘after dinner’ movie so I could be up bright and early this morning to get everything ready for the party. It was a hell of a lot of work, but so worth it. We had a big family party for Harper and Tante Joce like we usually do. It’s always so fun seeing Harper get to celebrate her birthday with her Oma.

And what made today even better was that everyone was able to make it this year… Seriously, everyone. It’s really rare for all of us to get together like this anymore, so it was kinda awesome seeing everybody.

Even Alex and Tony ended up flying out to Windenburg for a visit. I was almost surprised — They haven’t made the trip out for Tante Joce’s birthday for a few years now. But I guess turning sixty-six is a pretty big milestone for their Mama, huh? And I know she really loved having all three of her girls there for once.

Oma was having a really great day too, and that just made the whole thing so much better. She was really alert and ‘with it’, y’know? She was happy and smiling, she recognized almost everybody… We were all so happy. Especially Opa. I know seeing Oma on her bad days has really been killing him. I loved seeing him smile again. Both of them.

I’ve really been worried about them lately. Tante Joce too. I guess it really hit me when we finished cleaning up and were heading for home. That big, beautiful house I grew up in just feels so empty now.

I mean, grandpa’s already been gone for a few years. It’s just Tante Joce and her parents now, all alone in that huge house. And I know it’s even harder now, after Oma had her stroke last year.

I’ve never heard any of them complain about it… But I can tell how lonely they all are. And can I really blame them?

I guess it all just makes me feel even more grateful for days like today. Chances to help bring a little bit of life back inside those old walls, y’know? To see the whole family come together like that.

And to watch my little girl fill them all with so much joy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to 6.2: Joy

  1. Bugsie2016 says:

    I think I know where this is heading. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. gilplum says:

    JOCE HAD A STROKE OH NO OMA JOCE :((((
    Also I myself didn’t have the tube in ear surgery (my eyes are watering just thinking about it ugh) but my little brother did, years ago. He could hardly hear bc he had water /behind/ his eardrums. But poor baby Harper 😦

    Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh no, not Joce! Colette. Which is still sad but probably less devastating hahaha

      Sorry your brother had to go through with that! But probably for the best. I’ve heard of the fluid causing permanent ear damage if it isn’t treated, so probably worth it!

      Thank you for reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Senna says:

    I’m looking at that ‘everyone’ picture, and I am once again fearful of one of my worse predictions coming true. (It’s pretty hard to notice, but…)

    Dammit, Hope better not turn into an adulteress, or I am going to lose SO much respect for her…

    Like

  4. witchazard says:

    Shipper WitcHazard: Rosebrook clan back together again! Look it’s Nuggy and Clarian old but still looking good!

    Dark WitcHazard: Joce is 66 so her parents and Uncle are are possibly 82 the death age for this family! In the next time skip I’m sure they won’t be here! I must admit this is a good looking 100 year old house! Also I’m calling it now Harper is going to go deaf!

    Anti Shipper: Yes and to honor the late Mari and Lucas she become a musical prodigy classical of course! She’ll become our little red headed Beethoven!

    Nooboos WitcHazard: Stop putting curses on my beloved nooboo!👿

    Anti Shipper: That’s not a curse it’s a highly plausible possibility! A curse would be if on the way from the hospital they got in car accident and Harper loses her ability to walk or slips into a coma and wakes up ten years later to the fact that her parents died of heartbreak!

    Nooboos WitcHazard: (Points gun at Dark and Anti Shipper) Stay away from my nooboo!👿🔥(walks away)

    Anti Shipper: Fine we’ll stay away from her! BUT THAT DOESNT MEAN WE WONT MAKE DRAMATIC PREDICTIONS ABOUT HER FUTURE!

    Nooboos WitcHazard holds up middle finger!

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Jes2G says:

    Ahhh, tubes. I was too young to understand why I needed it, but I remember leaving the hospital wrapped in a blanket in the back of the car. It was nice. I do, however, remember getting them removed when I was much older. That was…weird.

    So, Harper was born on Joce’s birthday? Or do they just celebrate them together because they’re so close?

    And Colette’s got Alzheimer’s eh? That’s got to be rough on everyone. Good to see a good day though.

    There were waaaaaaay too many people in that house lol. But, it was cool to see everyone again. Especially the ones who moved away.

    I like this setup for Zayne moving back home too.

    Liked by 4 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Harper was born the day after Joce, but like you said, they just combine them because they’re so close together 🙂 And yeah, poor Colette 😦 It’s actually stroke-related Dementia, but it’s very similar to Alzheimer’s. More or less the same thing, and very rough on everyone, you’re right.

      Putting everyone in the house was totally a nightmare but it was fun to get them all back together for once. And as for Zayne… we’ll see!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m the oppiste of a preemie (ie a late birth) and when I was 6 or 7 (I don’t remember really anything but it was pizza day at school and Dad had to go get my pizza and the fact when I woke up Barney was playing on the TV) I had to have tubes put into my ears..at some point the one in my left ear fall out but the one in my right ear still works (for now). What’s they will really need to be careful with is when she’s older and might get fungus infection blocking the tube since only a purple dye is able to fix that at an ear, nose and throat doctor. Since I have in my right ear currently some fungus around my tube.

    But it wasn’t too scary for when I had the surgery as a child

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Glad your surgery wasn’t too scary. Hopefully if Harper has it it won’t be scary for her either 🙂

      Like

      • I barley remember anything but going into the surgery room and seeing Barney on TV in the wake-up room. The only thing that sticks out in my mind is that I “know” it was Pizza day at school and Dad had to go get my pizza.

        Liked by 1 person

    • skcaga6 says:

      PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE make sure your doctor gets that fungus cleared up. My mom suffered with that for three years in her left year and just went through her second surgery. The surgery was required to clean it up because she had it for so long the antibiotics and antifungals were not working on it.

      Like

  7. So, you will prepare us for Tobi and Collette’s inevitable death, but make us suffer through shock and heartache with Mark. CRUEL! #bringbackmark

    Also the family photos… I love it and know how extremely frustrating it is to have that many Sims on one lot, so I applaud you.

    Liked by 4 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      I am evil, forgive me 😥

      And yes, those pictures were such a pain! But I’m really glad you enjoyed them! 😀

      Like

  8. skcaga6 says:

    Poor sweet Harper. I feel for the little minion. I know how bad the ear infections can be. Been dealing with them with my mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nichole1011 says:

    I really picture Harper with like…5 dogs…so if pets could be released right now that’d be great. 😂 Don’t ask me why! I’m excited for my sweet babe Zayne to be so set in life. Of course the chapter was all about Harper and most of them from here on out will probably focus on her, but you can just TELL that he and Hope are really…proper. They’re mature and taking care of each other and their baby. Less put together people would have a rift between them with a child that needs a lot of work, but they just seem so great! I love seeing my Zayne like this. ❤️❤️

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      This comment made me smile 🙂 I’m glad you are still loving Zayne so much. He and Hope are really doing wonderfully as a married couple, even after all their hardship and difficulties with Harper. It’s only brought them closer together ❤

      And YES I want pets so badly 😥

      Like

  10. azzywoods says:

    Sooo…pretty sure Zayne and Hope are going to move back into the Rosebrook house. (They’re not living there already, are they?). Harper is the cutest, and it’s sad she has so many health problems. Hopefully they don’t affect her quality of life too badly.

    V. nice to see everyone. I suppose that Charlie and Ben and Remi and Layla had other children we don’t know about yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    • azzywoods says:

      Also, are the triplets on the gallery?

      Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      That’s a decent guess, but we will see! 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying Harper. I adore her!

      Remi and Layla’s daughter was mentioned/shown as a little baby but only once. Charlie and Ben’s son, Harrison, is one we didn’t know about until now 🙂 He’s only 2 years older than Harper.

      As for the triplets on the gallery, they will be eventually! I’ll let people know when I put those (and some other!) characters up 🙂

      Like

  11. sonniejj says:

    Ooh it’s so sad and lovely at the same time to see everyone together. Their living room is huge!

    I feel bad for Hope and Zayne that they had to go through hard times to get a child (miscarriages, possibly?). It sounds like they really had a rough ride to get there, but thankfully they have a lovely little girll now ❤ Also, kind of refreshing to see a generation without unexpected twins or a bunch of siblings to keep track of 😛 (I love your big families, though, so no complaints from me, but the change is nice!)

    Poor Colette. I study neuropsychology and we spent a lot of time on dementia the past semester. That's a horrible disease.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yes, it had to be massive to fit everyone hehe there are so many of them!

      As for Hope and Zayne, I feel bad for them too 😦 We have a chapter coming that will shed a little more light on what they went through. But yes, the upside to their tragedy is that we are gonna have way less people to keep track of this gen 😂

      And he’s… poor Colette 😦 And that must have been kind of painful to study. It really is awful.

      Like

  12. DanaColourful says:

    So nice to see everyone, although it did feel awkward that it took me a while to place some of them . The whole celebrating together thing really has its advantages. You get to see more people. In my family a lot of birthdays come in pairs so it often works out like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      It’s okay to not recognize everyone… It’s been a long time since we’ve seen most of them! (Unfortunately 😦 Boo). Family gatherings are always so nice!

      Like

  13. Luna says:

    Wow, that is a pretty big celebration for a three year old kid. I am sure they all want to celebrate she is still alive and halfway okay, but isn’t that a little bit too much stress on her?

    It is overwhelming to see so many Rosebrooks (and Rosebrook-relatives) sitting around, and it reminds me of how close this family used to be. Like almost no Rosebrook ever moved away, and they made a huge fuss about Stefan even though he was clearly unhappy in Windenburg and got no job offers even remotely close to what he wanted (and could) do. But then Jocelyn moved away too, and even though she came back her kids were never so embedded into Windenburg they wanted to stay there for all means.

    I know how he feels. People die or move away, and leave a gap that is not filled, places that, in his mind, still belong to them. He remembers this place full of his step-siblings, his family. He wanted to move away and he still needs his own place with Hope, his freedom. Still this house is a safe haven for him, the place to return to, to be with his family whenever he wants, and now it feels like it is slowly falling apart. He learned the hard way not to neglegect his family, but also that he can always return and ask for advice and help.

    What will be left for Harper? By the time she will be a teen, the whole “Rosebrooks in Windenburg” will likely have stopped to exist. Will she ever know this kind of having a place to return to? Especially if she grows up in a tiny city apartment.

    I especially like the sixth picture. The one with Zayne and Hope looking sad with their happy picture in the background. It looks better than the magazine cover. Such a loving, innocent couple – and now this light mood got packed into the background, for adult responsibilitys are waiting and no longer being ignored. I hope Harper will be spared of many painful things, but it might be that surgery is the thing she needs next, and she shouldn’t have to suffer for years if this thing can and should be fixed. It must be hell for her parents, to send her little baby into hospital, knowing there can always be a mistake made, a damage be done. Poor Harper.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Luna! 🙂 The reason the party was so big is that it was a joint birthday party for both Harper and Jocelyne, so double the celebration, double the party I guess haha. Harper likes seeing her relatives, even if she doesn’t recognize all of them!

      Interesting observation about how the Rosebrooks have changed! It’s so true that they’ve come a really long way since Stefan. Leaving has almost become the NORM now, rather than a taboo! (especially for Jocelyne’s kids!)

      We’ll see in time what things are like as Harper grows older! I think the family NAME will always be very important to the city of Windenburg. But whether or not the Rosebrooks physically stay there is definitely another story!

      And I’m glad you liked that shot! It was kind of fun to show that contrast, though I feel bad for all the stress they go through with their little girl.

      Thank you so much for reading and sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  14. thegraeyone says:

    Dang just hit us with all that reality. Poor Harper. I am interested to see if this carries into her teen/ya years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yeah, lots of it in this one, unfortunately! 😦 We will see in time what lies ahead for our girl. Probably drama, I can’t lie 😉 Gotta keep it interesting 😛

      Thank you so much for reading! It’s so appreciated ❤

      Like

  15. sourocha1 says:

    Well, this is interresting..This time, the problem in their lifes is…life, usual stuff, such as health problems, nothing like an affair or other stuff…And I think I like it that way! Just to make sure I understand the situation, did Zayne and Hope have “multiple” Harpers, and only “this one” actually menaged to live?Also, how old are Zayne and Hope, now?

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      We are going to find out what happened before Harper was born in a couple of chapters 🙂 Zayne is 41 now (well, he will be in a couple of months) and Hope is 40.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying reading about the current issues they’re facing 🙂 (even though I feel bad for poor Harper!) Thanks for reading!

      Like

  16. O'jenn says:

    OMG THAT LAST PICTURE MELTS MY HEART.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. raerei says:

    Wow, what a huge family. I suspose I shouldn’t be surprised but seeing them all in that room….I am in AWE of your screenshotting patience.

    I loved the birthday cake Zayne made for his baby girl. It was postivily delightful. Looks like Harper is the youngest right now. But she’s cute enough for all of use.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Glad you liked that cake! I downloaded it to go with the pose, but I thought it was super cute with all the berries on top and stuff! 🙂 And yes, that giant group shot was a PAIN… but it was fun to get everyone under the same roof for once 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Ah…clan celebrations are awesome (an messy). I live this at least once a year (we try, at least). My mother’s side of the family is huge. Since my grandparents had ten kids (my mom and her 9 siblings), and those kids had their own (my cousins), every Christmas consists of over 50+ people. We can barely fit at my grandpa’s house (we can’t fit in the dinner table, but that’s ok) And it’ll keep growing, since my cousins are now having their own kids.
    It’s really cool and overwhelming (especially to newcomer bf/gf). The cousins are really close, especially with their generation “litter.” One of the best parts is seeing relatives you haven’t seen in a while, or witnessing another relative reunite with them. It can get loud, chaotic, happy, or turn into a war zone, but it’s family, and that’s what makes it so much fun.

    This is one of the things that makes me relate to the Rosebrook brood so much. I’ll be really sad to see it get smaller after this, but seeing it still growing will perk me up.

    *Note: I think I can see where the plot wants to go at the moment, but I’m not declaring predictions. I’m not mentally prepared for that right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. OnyxRaven says:

    Hmm…. Is Harper going to be deaf when she is older? It would make a fun storyline, but hard to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Someone also predicted that on the forums! It’s certainly possible, given all the ear issues the poor little thing has 😦 But you’re right, that’d be crazy-hard to write a completely deaf character! Haha we will see in time if I am that brave 😛

      Like

  20. gummybear0724 says:

    I just finished this for know. I’ve read both Dust to Dust and Ashes to Ashes in about a week probably and I just have to say they are fabulously written.

    Hopefully poor little Harper will be okay! I know what that little girl is going through, get ear infections all the time. Had tubes when I was really little (which have since been out for a long time. Will we ever get to see a sibling for Harper? I love little nooboos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you so much for reading! You’re quick! ^_^ I appreciate you taking the time to read. Thank you! ❤️

      I feel so bad for little Harper too 😦 As for siblings though… unlikely 😦 Thank you again for reading! New chapters publish every Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday ^_^

      Like

  21. That party looks like it was amazing! I definitely need help to recognize everyone. I’m so glad the family tree is updated.

    Since Zayne is the heir, it makes sense for him to move back home. He and Hope and Harper can add some life to the house!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yeah this family has gone so out of control that it’s hard to keep track of them all 😂 but it was fun getting them back under one roof for once! We will see in time whether or not Zayne and his crew decide to move back in… certainly doesn’t seem like a bad idea though, huh? 🙂

      Like

  22. lisabeesims says:

    Things have a bit of an ominous feel in the family right now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

