5.42: Backfired

Some days I seriously wanna punch my boss in the face. And today was definitely one of them.

02-21-17_4-13-51-pm

She’s not even technically my “boss”, really. But she’s in charge of the kitchen… Which unfortunately means she’s in charge of me too. I’ve bitched about her plenty before, remember?

Denise. Ugh.

02-21-17_4-58-25-pm

She made me feel like an idiot in front of everyone in the kitchen today. It was awful. She’s such a bitch. I’ve been in such a shitty mood lately anyway, ever since Hope left again. We had a couple more days together than we did last time, but saying goodbye still sucked just as much. And this definitely didn’t help.

02-21-17_4-27-43-pm

All I did was try something different. I’ve heard customers say for years now that our garlic noodles are too salty. But Denise always makes us follow the same recipe no matter what. If you even think about messing with one of her recipes, she’ll snap at you. It’s ridiculous.

When Hope was here last weekend, we talked about it one night. She insisted on helping make dinner for once (cute, right?) so I was teaching her some of my tricks, and we got to talking.

02-21-17_3-50-21-pm

I told her about how much I wish I could put my own spin on some of our recipes at work, y’know? Maybe make some improvements and stuff. “So why don’t you?” She asked.

It was a great question. So last night, I decided to experiment on a whim. A customer ordered our garlic noodles, so I tried a little less salt, a couple extra cloves of garlic, and a pinch of parsley for some color.

Denise caught me mincing the extra cloves and asked what I was doing. When I told her, she went ballistic and made me do the whole thing over again. I got this giant lecture about how she’s in charge and we have to follow her recipes… I wanted to scream. It took everything I had not to.

02-21-17_5-01-33-pm

I get that we can’t totally re-vamp the menu or anything, but come on! Where’s the joy in cooking if you have to stick to the exact same recipe every damn time? It’s a question I’ve been asking myself for ages. I just finally decided to try and do something about it… And it totally backfired.

Y’know, there used to be a time when I was so excited about finally being allowed to cook at the restaurant. I worked so hard for years bussing tables and scrubbing dishes every night before they even let me try being a waiter. And I still had to beg and beg before they finally gave me a chance behind the stove.

I guess it’s just getting kinda boring. It’s not what I imagined it would be. But what can I do? I’m totally stuck. I never went to uni or cooking school or anything like that. There’s no way in hell anyone would ever hire me in the kitchen with no training. Not as anything more than a lowly line cook like I am now. It’s so damn frustrating.

02-21-17_4-14-24-pm

I’m just glad Hope understands. We’ve talked about it a lot.

She’s still out in San Myshuno trying to make things work. Or work again, I guess. Hope says things were really good out there at first. She’s been living there for a couple years now. That place is one of the biggest fashion capitals in the whole world… But I guess it also means things are pretty cutthroat when it comes to finding modeling gigs, and it’s been getting harder and harder lately.

02-21-17_4-21-47-pm

She really wants to catch her big break over there, but lately she keeps ending up taking smaller jobs in other countries, or lame ones she’s not even excited about. But she does it anyway, because that’s her job. That’s something I can totally relate to.

And at least her hard work’s finally been paying off a little bit. When she was here last week, it was for some big spread in a German fashion magazine. She was really excited about it, and kept saying it was the best job she’d had in a long time. I was so happy for her.

02-21-17_4-49-47-pm

I keep trying to tell myself someday I’ll catch a break like that. Even a little one would be better than nothing. Until it happens though, I’ve just gotta keep working at it… And waiting. I don’t really have any other choice.

But hey, if being with Hope has taught me anything, it’s that patience pays off.

And that some things are definitely worth waiting for.

02-21-17_4-12-04-pm

————————————–

Hey guys! 🙂

I wanted to share with you guys that I made a little “Screenshotting Tips & Tricks” video as something of a follow-up to my original screenshotting tutorial I’d posted over a year ago (before I even started writing A2A!). I’ve grown a lot as a screenshotter since then, and I have had some people ask me questions in the past about how I get certain shots, so I decided to make a little video showing some of the tricks I use.

It’s pretty long, but hopefully informative too! If you’d like to check it out, you can click here!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to 5.42: Backfired

  1. raerei says:

    Oooh Zayne! Hang in there. Shame she caught you changing the recipe and went off on you. Looks like you might have hit that quarter-life crisis – basically “what am I doing and why don’t I feel more adult and in charge of my life than I did when I was 20?”

    Love all the pictures here – specially the one with Hope in her bedroom. I don’t know why, but I love that there’s a HUGE billboard right behind her. Kind of like inspiration.

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      I like your assessment of what’s going on with Zayne… I think that’s definitely how he’s feeling at the moment. Hopefully he can figure things out soon!

      And I’m glad you liked the view out of Hope’s window! I love having her in the fashion district, and yes! The billboard works out so well… being on a billboard like that is definitely a dream of hers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jes2G says:

      I liked the billboard too.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. witchazard says:

    Dark WitcHazard: It’s been awhile since I’ve seen I character I’d want to send to the gallows! Glad to know I’m not getting soft! 😈

    Lover WitcHazard: Somebody needs to get laid! What’s wrong Denise not enough trains pulling into your station! 😘

    Shipper WitcHazard: Sail on Hozay sail on!😊

    Emotional WitcHazard: I’m glad that Zayne is preserving through his struggles as well as Hope it really shows how compatible their are as a couple I hope Zayne gets his big break soon!🤗

    Liked by 3 people

  3. azzywoods says:

    Denise is the worst.

    And HoZay for life! LIFE.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. peaoorko says:

    I want the universe to smack Denise real hard in the butt. And for Zayne to have his own restaurant in the future.
    Hm, Hope got a nice gig in Windenburg you say… intresting.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      I wanna smack her too! And yes, Hope got a really nice modeling job there 😀 She looked beautiful didn’t she? (I’m having fun with poses and CL clothes hehehe)

      Liked by 1 person

      • peaoorko says:

        Yeah, she did! Oh and I loved that pose when she’ cooking with Zayne.
        I’ll definitely have to watch your video later.

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          Oh yes I saw that pose and knew I HAD to use it. Too perfect for them!

          And yay! I hope you enjoy it. Your recent comment about watching my original screenshotting video actually inspired me to do the new one ^_^ So thanks!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. julyvee94 says:

    Pssst. Zayne. I have an idea *whispers* open your own restaurant *runs away and hides*

    Liked by 3 people

  6. kaffepigen says:

    Those two Are so cute together. I’m sure Zayne will get his breakthrough sometime. Maybe he should go to college? It’s never too late 🙂 at first when i saw Denise i thought “he’s gonna cheat on Hope with her some Day! :o” but i guess not sine she’s such a bitch :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh goodness no hahaha Plus, Zayne would never cheat ❤

      As for going back to school, it's not a bad idea, but I know it's something Zayne really doesn't want to do. He has never really been a fan of school… he likes being self taught 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • kaffepigen says:

        I am so glad you said he would never cheat (phew). I Don’t think i could handle another ToCo scene xD and i get it. I’ve never been a big fan of school either.
        I’m sure Zayne will figure something out 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Jes2G says:

    Good things do come to those who wait! Very good things.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Simslover163 says:

    First, yay for HoZay!!! 💖 I’m loving Hope as a fashionista!

    Second, yikes! It’s a shame that Denise caught him doing some experimenting with the recipe. Well, face it, lady. What’s wrong with a little experimenting?? What if the customers don’t like the food you’re serving?? What Zayne might be doing could help your business! *looks at Denise’s growl* Uh, or not (ends rant). Zayne, face it, my friend. You’ll just have to live under her rules. After all, rules are rules.

    I suggest he open his own restaurant! *hands newspaper ads with empty building for sale* Take your time, kid. There’s no need to rush.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha you make a good point that Zayne’s changes could actually be a GOOD thing if she’d only let him try it… but alas, you’re right. She’s the boss haha

      Liked by 1 person

  9. audreyfld says:

    I am anxious for them to find a way to be together and am thinking she might ask to him to quit and move in with her while he maybe attends a culinary school???? The best ones are in San Myshuno – right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      That’s an interesting idea! I think career-wise, Zayne would benefit from culinary school. But he really doesn’t like school and would much rather be self-taught. Of course, that doesn’t mean he couldn’t be persuaded though 😉

      Like

  10. Thanks goodness Sims can’t have allergies or dislike of a certian vegetable or fruit-since I bet Denise would be simliar to my dad and give a person something they;re algeric too, or add stuff for “extra flavour”

    Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha hopefully she wouldn’t be so cruel that she’d intentionally feed a customer something they’re allergic to… But she’s pretty mean, so you never know!

      Like

  11. sonniejj says:

    Just keep paying your dues for a while longer, Zayne, and some day, you’ll be able to work in a restaurant exactly the way you’d like to 🙂 Hard work pays off!

    I’ve said it before, but long distance relationships are tough. Really, really tough. But if they get through it, they’ll be stronger than ever (look at Clara and Florian!). I’m still not entirely sure how they’ll work it out, they seem to be in the beginning stages of a relationship where everything about the other person is perfect and wonderful. It’s a very fun time, but it can be difficult when you start realizing each other’s flaws and getting annoyed sometimes.

    The screenshots video sounds interesting! I’ve been thinking of starting my own legacy story back up again, so I might check it out 🙂 You do have beautiful screenshots ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Love your optimism for Zayne and his future! ^_^

      And you’re so right about how difficult long distance can be. Hopefully these two lovebirds can work through it! (And yes, they’re both totally in the “honeymoon” stage right now! Haha)

      If you end up checking out the video I hope you enjoy it! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  12. CitizenErased14 says:

    Well, it’s not that she’s doing bad in the business over all, she’s doing bad in San Myshuno. We have an upcoming chapter where we learn more about how cutthroat the competition is in SM for models ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  13. These kids and their career woes. I understand completely. If I weren’t concerned about being unprofessional, my own work woes would be featured quite often on my blog. I hope Hope’s big break comes soon, and it brings her to Germany permanently. And I hope Zayne decides to open his own restaurant. He can hire himself!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. maladi777 says:

    Where do I file my complaint that this chapter was too short? 🙂
    Zayne should open his own restaurant. Maybe start with a food stall at first and go from there. His food could not be worse than what they’re cooking in the restaurant he’s working at.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha sorry it wasn’t longer 😛 And your suggestion is a good (and popular) one! I think it’s a lot of work that Zayne may not be ready for… But maybe for the future? who knows?

      Liked by 1 person

  15. CitizenErased14 says:

    Omg what 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

  16. lisabeesims says:

    They will make it better when he has his own restaurant that he could put this one out of business lol … and I will look forward to seeing your video tonight when I get back to my PC. I already use a couple of yours like how to get them to stop running LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  17. theceltygirly says:

    The modeling pictures look really nice 😀
    Zayne should make his own restaurant eventually B)

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks! Taking Hope’s modeling pictures is always so fun! And I think that’s an awesome future goal for Zayne! We’ll see 🙂

      Like

  18. addbratlove225 says:

    Poor Zayne. I definitely understand putting a new spin on things. I write a ton of fanfiction (guilty pleasure!) and I’m no stranger to completely changing up plots. So adding your own spice to things can’t be bad, Denise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

