Interlude: Heat of the Moment

Jocelyne smiled softly to herself as she took another sip of her drink. Across from her, Clara and Gus did the same – It was clear they were enjoying each other’s company just as much as she was.

12-20-16_9-32-01-pm

“This is nice, isn’t it?” Jocelyne said at last, breaking the silence.

Clara nodded enthusiastically. “Can we go back to making this a regular thing? Please?” She asked. “What happened to doing this every couple weeks? No kids. No husbands. No… whatever you’re calling Mark these days.” Clara smiled at her niece.

Gus nodded in agreement. “Yeah, I really missed this. Guess things have just been too crazy lately… But hey, we finally settled that big case last week. I’ve got loads more free time now.” He smiled.

12-20-16_9-35-43-pm

“Yeah, and we’re in between productions now down at the theater.” Jocelyne smiled. She loved her job so much, but directing was hard and time-consuming work.

The siblings looked almost expectantly at their aunt, who merely shrugged. “Rory’s still driving me up a damn wall… But her Papa gets to be the one to deal with it today.”

12-20-16_9-35-00-pm

“Jeez, what a little ball of energy.” Gus laughed. “So much for ‘empty nest syndrome’, huh?”

“Oh, I still miss the twins like crazy. It’s not the same without them.” She sighed sadly. “But Rory seems determined to make up for it by being annoying as fuck. All the damn time! I love that little thing to death, but…”

“She’s a handful.” Jocelyne smiled in understanding. “I get it. Charlie used to be the same way, remember?” She shook her head for a moment. “See what you have to look forward to, Gus?”

12-20-16_9-43-24-pm

Clara giggled. “Yeah, Auggy. You’ve been hearing our horror stories for years… Think you and Noah should maybe rethink this whole ‘parenting’ thing?” She teased. “You still haven’t found a surrogate yet, right? It’s not too late to back out, y’know.”

He chuckled softly, shaking his head. “Well, you guys have given us plenty of practice over the years with your little munchkins… Okay, maybe not so little anymore.” Gus smiled. “We know what we’re in for. And we’re ready.”

“Famous last words.” Clara stuck her tongue out at him. “I kid, I kid! All the bullshit you put up with is totally worth it. You’ll see.” She assured him. “Right, Jocelyne?”

12-20-16_9-45-34-pm

Jocelyne nodded. “Though it doesn’t always feel that way…” She admitted.

As expected, her aunt could immediately tell that something was wrong. “Oh no. What happened?” Clara’s brow furrowed in concern.

“You haven’t heard the news?” A soft sigh passed her lips. “Apparently I’m a ‘bitch’ because I don’t want my 16-year-old nephew to live on his own. Some nerve, right? What was I thinking?” Jocelyne’s voice dripped with sarcasm.

“Oh.” Her aunt laughed. “That.

12-20-16_9-53-13-pm

“What, you actually did know about that?!”

Clara nodded. “River told me… Made us reminisce about the first time she called me a bitch.” Her lips curled into a smile. “Oh, and if it makes you feel any better, apparently Zayne feels terrible about it. I guess he was really harping on it at first… Enough to tell his cousins about it, at least!”

“Sounds like he’s not ready to give up that whole ‘moving out’ dream quite yet though.” Gus chimed-in. “So be on the lookout.” He teased.

12-20-16_9-45-04-pm

Jocelyne’s eyes widened. “Wait, you know too?!”

Her brother shrugged. “I didn’t know about the ‘bitch’ part… But I knew he got into some fight with you about living on his own. The girls told Emma about it when they were with their dad this weekend.”

“Of course they did.” She shook her head. “Jesus, is anything private anymore?”

12-20-16_9-58-08-pm

“With our kids? Are you kidding?” Clara giggled.

Jocelyne said nothing for a few moments. She’d been preparing herself to tell her aunt and brother the whole ridiculous story about her conversation with Zayne. Guess I don’t have to explain as much as I thought. Still, talking it over with them would help, wouldn’t it? Give her some perspective on the situation?

At last, she took a deep breath. “So… aside from the general ridiculousness of this whole thing… It’s not even legal, right?” She asked, her eyes flicking toward Gus. “I mean, Zayne claims there’s some law saying kids can live on their own with their parents’ permission? But I’ve never heard of anything like that before…”

12-20-16_9-55-18-pm

“Well…” Gus shrugged. “Technically, he’s right.”

“You’ve gotta be kidding me.”

“I mean, the law’s there. It just rarely gets used… I can’t say I’ve ever seen anyone put it into action myself… Not that I’ve been practicing law that long, of course.” Gus laughed. “And it’s usually used for things like when a kid’s working or going to school away from home. Nothing like what Zayne wants to do.”

12-20-16_9-51-30-pm

“How serious is he about this thing anyway?” Clara asked. “Are you sure this wasn’t some weird heat-of-the-moment teenage rebellion?”

Jocelyne bit her lip uncertainly. “I dunno. He’s always complained about wanting to be more independent… And ever since he talked to me, he’s been acting so strangely.” She confessed. “Doing his own laundry, washing his own dishes, cleaning his room, even when we don’t ask him to…”

“Ha! He’s buttering you up!” Clara burst into laughter. “That’s adorable.”

12-20-16_9-56-21-pm

“I know.” Jocelyne almost laughed herself. “As if that’s gonna change my mind…” She shook her head slowly. “But I guess he’s trying to show me just how serious he really is about this whole thing… When will he finally give it up?!”

“Probably in about two years.” Gus replied, smiling. “When he finally does move out.”

“Ugh. I was afraid you guys would say that.” Jocelyne held her face in one of her hands for a moment. “How am I supposed to put up with him until then? What if he starts pushing again?”

12-20-16_10-00-39-pm

Clara shrugged. “Sorry, Jocelyne. I think you’re on your own with that one… Remi and River gave me a lot of shit when they were growing up, but I don’t think they ever tried anything like this.”

“Yeah… Not sure what to say about this one.” Her brother admitted. Gus paused for a moment before continuing. “What do you think Lucas would do?” He wondered aloud.

“Ground Zayne for the rest of his life for calling Jocelyne a bitch?” Clara suggested. “You know he wouldn’t put up with that shit from his own kid.”

12-20-16_10-05-04-pm

“Well, yeah.” Gus agreed with a soft chuckle. “But that’s not exactly what I meant.”

Jocelyne could not help but laugh as well. “I take it you were talking about the whole ‘I wanna move out’ thing?”

What would Luc do? She couldn’t help but wonder. It was a question she’d asked herself many times over the past ten years, though she tried her best to avoid it. After all, it wasn’t about what her brother would have done, was it? He’d trusted Zayne to her care. He trusted her judgement. Hadn’t he?

Still, it was hard not to wonder sometimes.

12-20-16_9-47-39-pm

Clara’s eyes suddenly lit up. “Aha! I’ve got it!” She grinned at Jocelyne and Gus. “He’d drop Zayne off in the middle of nowhere with a tent and a sleeping bag and say ‘good luck’.”

“Ha-ha, very funny.”

“What? Living in a tent worked out pretty well for grandpa, didn’t it? And look where we are now!”

Jocelyne just rolled her eyes. “Great-grandpa wasn’t sixteen when he moved to Windenburg, Clara.”

12-20-16_10-03-37-pm

“I’m just saying, that seems like a very Lucas-thing to do.” She shrugged. “Give Zayne a good scare, let him see it’s not all it’s cracked up to be, and wait for him to come crawling back home.” Clara paused for a moment, thoughtful. “Y’know… that might not be the worst idea, actually.”

“Clara!” Jocelyne and Auggy cried out in unison.

“What?” Their aunt shrugged. “Okay, okay… Maybe forget the tent part. Oh! There’s a crappy little apartment in Remi and River’s building the landlord’s dying to get off his hands… Close to home, cousins nearby to look out for him… Wouldn’t be awful, right?”

12-20-16_10-01-40-pm

The other two simply stared at her, dumbfounded.

“Jesus, you guys can’t take a joke, can you?” Clara sighed in exasperation.

Gus rolled his eyes and went back to sipping his drink. “Y’know, Clara, I always forget that you’re a hell of a lot funnier on your blog than in real life… So don’t quit your day job, okay?”

“Oh, fuck you!”

12-20-16_10-07-05-pm

While the other two resumed their conversation, Jocelyne said nothing. She knew Clara had been making her suggestion in jest… But something about the idea had stuck with her.

An apartment in the same building as Remi and River… That wouldn’t be so bad, would it? Just to let him try it out? Wasn’t that what Mark was always telling her to do? Give the kids the freedom to make their own mistakes? So they could learn from them?

What the hell is wrong with me?! I can’t do that… I mean, it’s crazy, right? There’s no way I could ever actually go through with it…

Could I?

12-20-16_10-09-04-pm

 

47 thoughts on “Interlude: Heat of the Moment

  1. Yess! I think this will be good for Zayne. With his cousins close by, he shouldn’t get into too much trouble. I refuse to believe they’ll lead him astray. They seem reasonably responsible, and there’s no way they’re going to mess with someone two years younger than them.

    Did I spot a rando sim in the background of on of those pictures? Can’t wait to learn more about him! 😉 jk. It amused me though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I know, I usually try very hard to hide those random townies from my shots. Whoops 😂

      Glad you think this is a good idea haha Joce is slowly leaning that way… I think Remi and River have a bit of a wild side (especially her haha) but at the same time, I do think they’d look out for him too, and keep him out of anything too dicey if they can 😛 We’ll see if this plan ever actually happens anyway!

      Like

  2. “There’s no way I could ever actually go through with it…Could I?”

    Well, Jossy, if you go through with it, maybe Zayne will finally come to his senses about all this (or at least stop being an insensitive dope about it)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dun dun dun!

    It was so lovely to see the three of them enjoy a relaxed evening together, you can really see how close they are and that they really are friends rather than just relatives. Had such good vibes, getting things off their chest and all. I loved it 🙂

    Oh, and Auggy, hot damn! I kept getting distracted and had to keep reminding myself that he’s gay. And taken. And a sim! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked their dynamic 🙂 We know Clara and Joce are best friends, and I figured that the older Auggy gets, the closer he is with his siblings (I lump Clara in as a “sibling” 😛 ). I really enjoyed writing that.

      And yes, Auggy is a stud! Hahahahaha I love that the fact that he’s a sim was the last problem you saw 😂

      Like

  4. I guess it would be nice…but, I’m just imagining he being to proud to admit that what he wanted wasn’t that good, and he struggling without telling Joce, things getting hard, he still don’t crack..and it continues…it will be nice to see he going downhill..like, day 1 he is all about liberty, day 23..not so much…and I smell some girl is going to enter this! If the rosebrooks got pregant with their respective parents watching then, imagine when there is none? And depending how their cousins see this, they might high-five him for that…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jocelyn may get flack for it but do it do it do it! Oh I hope he gets one where a murder took place he’ll be smelling dead body for weeks. Not to mention if he moves in to the same apartment building I’ll get to see more of the handsome Remus😍Oh and River too.😝
    Aw Nuggy is going to get a nooboo sometime in the future yay 😆 they’ll make great parents! Clara never get tired of her even now she’s still amazing!
    Zayne living on his own hehehe 😈 The Drama levels of the generation are rising!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha I’m glad you’re encouraging Joce to try this controversial parenting method 😂 we’ll see if she goes trough with it!

      I’m happy you liked seeing Auggy and Clara in this one too! 😀

      Like

  6. I also noticed how hot Gus/Auggy is! I don’t think I really paid attention before. Anyway, Jocelyn IS going to do this – that ‘Could I?’ at the end sealed that deal. Just wondering how he will deal with it and what kind of drama it will really stir up. If I were Remi and River, I am not sure how happy I would be to have my 16 year old cousin living next door knowing they had to keep an eye on him. Hmmm. Wonder how that will play into everything.

    The triplets will be going off to college soon too? Right. Then if they ship Zayne off, Mark and Jocelyn will really be empty-nesters. Ohhh, and how will the girls react to that? I see drama in even suggesting it from the whole family. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha I’m glad there’s someone out there on the other side of the argument! There are many ways this could backfire/go wrong for sure… a very risky decision, if Joce goes through with it!

      Like

  7. I’m really happy those 3 are meeting up! Though I’m mostly fantasising at the last shot… It seriously looks like she’s thinking “could I?”! I’m amazed.. How do you do this!?? 😮🤔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked this one! 🙂 As for the last picture, I just waited and was patient for the right facial expression to appear haha I use mods to control my sims’ emotions, and I’ve noticed that when sims are in the “fine” emotion, they often make faces like that when they’re listening to someone else speak or are idle. They get these curious or thoughtful looks on their faces 🙂 So I made Joce “fine” and watched her for a while until she made a good face ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Anyone else notice how the Sims faces get longer and longer with each passing generation? I swear it happens in every Sims 4 legacy I read…

    Anyway, something tells me if she let’s him move, he’s not gonna fail at it and come crawling back like she’d hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha that’s an interesting observation! I hadn’t really noticed myself, but now I will have to be on the lookout haha. I wonder if the face-shape just changes throughout the generations?

      I can’t say “we’ll see” to your comment, so I’ll say… That’s an interesting prediction! That would certainly shock Joce if her plan backfired! haha

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Finally a Rosebrooke is considering using the concept of compromise as prevention rather than damage control (and man, has there been damage in this family). This is one for the history books…or journals.
    Glad to know Joce and Clara didn’t read the Mari/Tobi parenting and support handbook, or at least haven’t reached the parent drama chapter yet. (I love Mari and Tobi to pieces, and they do love parent drama 😉 ).

    On a separate note…
    I’m finally caught up! YES!
    This is my first SimLit (I can’t believe this exists, literature and Sims: two of my favorite things, together. I just found a new happy place.). I gotta say, A2A has made my winter vacation a roller coaster of a ride. I have laughed, awed, and cried like a baby. This story has been so entertaining and cathartic that I’m considering starting one of my own (let’s face it, being an evil writer is one of the best feelings).
    But I’m starting to gush, so I’ll end the comment with this: Citizen, you’re awesome and you should know that. I can’t wait for the next chapter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sara 🙂 Thank you so much for reading my story and for your kind words! I’m so so happy that you’ve been enjoying this rollercoaster ride! 😀 I really appreciate you taking the time to read, and comment too! 🙂 SimLit is awesome and there are many great stories out there! The Sims Forums is a great place to start! There is a thread called the Writers Lounge in the Sims 4 Stories and Legacies section that’s a great place to chat with other writers, and Julyvee94 made an awesome Guide to SimLit she posted on the forums too that has great tips and advice! (Ok I’m done advertising the forums :P)

      Yes, Joce’s parenting techniques are a bit different so far than her father and grandmother! 😛 Much less drama on that end of things (for now… hehe). We’ll see what happens from here! 🙂

      Like

  10. No, Jocelyne. No you should not do that! Zayne needs discipline right now, and this would not end well!!! He’d be too stubborn to go back to Jocelyne if things DID go wrong too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha this is interesting because you’re one of the only people who actually doesn’t approve of this plan! 🙂 I can totally see why haha

      Like

  11. Clara’s killing me again. She’s still my favorite character! That being said, I do think that Zayne should have to stay at home for a while. I mean, giving him what he wants after the means he used to achieve it will just tell him that he can get what he wants by doing things like that. And that’s not okay.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, this plan definitely has the potential to backfire, huh? Haha but we’ll see what’s in store for Zayne from here 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

