Interlude: Happy

“God, this brings back memories, doesn’t it?” Clara asked with a small laugh as she took another sip of her beer.

“Hmmm?” Jocelyne took another long drink from her glass before speaking. “What do you mean?”

12-05-16_8-21-52-pm

Clara gestured at the bar in front of them. “Sitting at the bar together at your Bruder’s wedding.” She smiled. “Different circumstances, of course. And different Bruder, but…”

Jocelyne couldn’t help but chuckle. “And one of us just gave birth too! Major déjà vu…”

It felt nice to be able to joke about that night without getting embarrassed or upset. She could still remember a time where the mere thought of Luc and Hazel’s wedding was enough to bring her to tears. Maybe I really am moving on…

12-05-16_8-22-58-pm

“God, can you believe Auggy’s married now?” Clara shook her head in amazement. “Or whatever the hell they’re letting them call it.” She corrected herself, rolling her eyes. “I still remember when he was in diapers.”

“Me too.” Jocelyne agreed, marveling at just how fast the years had flown by. “It’s crazy, right?” She paused for a moment, sighing softly. “I just wish Luc was here to see it. He’d be so happy.”

“I know.” Clara agreed softly. “But hey – maybe he is here, in a way. You never know.” Her lips curled into a slight smile.

12-05-16_8-23-46-pm

For a moment, Jocelyne thought back to that strange night she’d heard her brother’s voice. The memory still gave her chills. “Yeah, you never know.”

The two women sipped their drinks in silence for a few minutes after that. Jocelyne didn’t mind the lull in the conversation – she took the opportunity to savor the sounds of the wind in the trees, the happy chatter of her family, and the soft music flowing from the stereo speakers as the reception continued on.

12-05-16_8-21-09-pm

It was her aunt who finally broke the silence. “This is a really beautiful wedding, isn’t it?”

Jocelyne nodded. “This venue’s gorgeous.”

“Well duh.” Clara stuck her tongue out. “This is where Florian and I got married, remember?”

She laughed. “I do. So clearly Gus and Noah share your good taste.” Jocelyne smiled. “And I like that they kept it so small and intimate… But I’m really glad they still invited Elliot.” She added. “That was nice of them.”

“Of course they invited him. He’s family.” Clara shrugged, smiling.

12-05-16_8-29-10-pm

“You’re right… I guess he is.” She smiled softly and glanced over her shoulder for a moment, her eyes scanning the small crowd of people in search of her ex. Jocelyne had barely spoken to him all night, and she couldn’t help but feel curious about what he was up to.

It was as though Clara had read her mind. “He’s over there.” She gestured off to their right.

Elliot sat in the corner, alone at a table with Gus’ friend Emma. Hadn’t they been sitting at that same table together the last time she’d searched for him? That was nearly two hours ago already.

12-05-16_8-24-54-pm

Clara let out a small laugh. “Jeez, they can’t take their eyes off each other, can they?”

“I think it’s nice.” Jocelyne smiled. “It’s been ages since Elliot’s been interested in anyone… And Emma’s a total sweetheart.” She could feel Clara eyeing her intently for a few moments. “What?!”

“Nothing.” Clara smiled innocently at her. “It’s just funny. Here you are practically playing matchmaker for Elliot… But what about you?”

12-05-16_8-26-48-pm

“What are you talking about?”

“You know what… Or who, rather.” Clara winked at her. “The silver fox over there who’s been eyeing you all night.” She nodded over Jocelyne’s shoulder.

She didn’t even have to look to know who her aunt was talking about. “Oh my God, Clara!” Jocelyne felt her cheeks grow warm.

12-05-16_8-30-43-pm

“Don’t worry.” Clara continued casually, pausing to take another sip of her drink. “No closets around. I checked… Though Florian and I found a really nice spot in the bushes when we went for that ‘walk’ earlier…”

Clara!

“Sorry. TMI?” She asked innocently. At last, Clara set her drink back on the bar and her face turned serious. “Okay, okay. All joking aside… Talk to him, Jocelyne! This is your chance.”

12-05-16_8-32-19-pm

She shook her head. “I can’t.”

“Bullshit. Of course you can!” Her aunt insisted. “What the hell are you so afraid of?”

Jocelyne opened her mouth to reply, but stopped herself. It was an excellent question. What WAS she afraid of?

She thought back to all the hours she’d spent with Mark over the past year. She thought of how warm and safe and whole she felt every time she was with him. She thought of her conversation with her grandfather. She thought of the guilt she’d carried for so long. She thought of all the times she’d pushed Mark away.

12-05-16_8-33-19-pm

And she thought of those whispered words that still echoed in her mind – “Be happy, Joce. Please…”

Jocelyne bit her lip nervously and, for a moment, she almost felt like she’d gone back to being the shy young girl she once was.  “I… I mean, I…” She sighed. “Do you really think I should?”

Yes!” Clara cried, almost annoyed. “We’ve all spent nearly a year watching the two of you eye-fucking each other every moment you’re together. Just put us out of our misery already.” She teased.

12-05-16_8-35-38-pm

Despite her nerves, Jocelyne laughed softly. “Okay, okay. I’m going!” She downed the rest of her drink, took a deep breath, and headed over to the small table where Mark sat.

His entire face lit up at her approach, and Jocelyne felt her stomach doing somersaults at the sight of him. He was so handsome in his suit. Almost too beautiful for words. It took a moment for her to find her voice.

12-05-16_8-38-31-pm

“H-hey Mark.” She mumbled awkwardly. “Having fun?”

He nodded enthusiastically. “This is great. And I’m so happy for Gus and Noah.”

“Me too.” She hesitated for a moment before continuing. “Um… Mark? Do you mind if I, uh… talk to you?” Jocelyne stumbled over her words.

12-05-16_8-40-35-pm

Mark furrowed his brow slightly in concern. “Sure. What’s up?”

Jocelyne fell silent for a moment, trying to figure out what to say. How could she even begin?  Just tell him how you feel. She told herself firmly.

So she took a deep breath, and just let the words come out. “Mark, I’m sorry.”

12-05-16_8-43-10-pm

“What?”

“I’m sorry.” Jocelyne repeated. “For… everything. But I guess mostly for being such a bitch ever since I came back to Windenburg.” She shrugged her shoulders slightly, embarrassed. “You’ve been nothing but wonderful to me throughout this whole thing. Moving back home, taking care of Zayne… And all I’ve done is push you away again and again. I don’t even think I ever thanked you for everything you’ve done. And I’m sorry.”

Mark shook his head. “You’ve had a lot to deal with, Jocelyne. I get it. And it’s –”

12-05-16_8-45-44-pm

“Please, don’t tell me it’s okay.” Jocelyne interjected. “It’s not. I know it isn’t. I wouldn’t be apologizing if it was.”

This time, Mark did not immediately reply. “Well, thank you.” He said at last. “It means a lot. And for the record… I’m sorry too.”

“For what?”

12-05-16_8-47-29-pm

He laughed softly. “Do you want a list?” Mark’s laughter slowly died away. “I’m sorry for all the things I should have apologized to you for years ago.” He continued seriously. “And I’ve been trying so hard to make up for them.”

“Well, you have.” Jocelyne assured him. “Seriously.” She smiled. “And I’ve been thinking a lot lately about that offer you made me last Christmas. Do you remember?”

12-05-16_8-52-22-pm

Mark nodded. “About starting over?”

“Yeah.”

“Oh.”  Jocelyne did not miss the hopeful glimmer in his eye as he spoke.

“So I was just thinking that maybe… I thought we might, um… I guess I…” Jesus Christ, Jocelyne. She cleared her throat. “I guess what I’m getting at with this whole thing is… Do you wanna dance?”

Mark’s lips stretched into a smile. “I’d love to.”

12-05-16_8-56-20-pm 12-05-16_8-54-29-pm

Jocelyne fought back a flurry of butterflies in her stomach as she rose to her feet and followed Mark toward the dancefloor. She felt excited and giddy in a way she hadn’t felt in a long time. And as they headed toward the dancefloor together, Jocelyne couldn’t help but take in the sights and sounds of her friends and family enjoying the evening just as much as she was.

12-05-16_9-17-48-pm

Gus and Noah, sharing a tender moment as newlyweds…

12-05-16_9-24-05-pm

River’s laughter as she danced around on her father’s feet…

12-05-16_9-19-14-pm

Clara chatting happily with her mother as baby Aurora slept soundly in her bassinet…

12-05-16_9-19-51-pm

Elliot dancing with Emma, looking at her the way he’d once looked at Jocelyne all those years ago…

12-05-16_9-20-51-pm

Zayne giggling along with his cousins as Jonas told them silly jokes and riddles…

12-05-16_9-21-50-pm

Tobi, sober and happy as he held his wife close to him at the edge of the dancefloor…

12-05-16_9-21-23-pm

It was beautiful.

After so many months of hardship and pain, they were all so free. So peaceful. So happy.

And, as Mark took her in his strong arms and they swayed together beneath the stars, Jocelyne realized something –

For the first time in many years, so was she.

12-05-16_9-30-01-pm 12-05-16_9-47-26-pm 12-05-16_9-36-09-pm

———————————————

*high-fives the three remaining crewmembers of the SS Marklyne* Kudos for not giving up! 😉 Didn’t you notice the SS Marklyne is a submarine? And it has resurfaced at last 😛

And that’s a wrap on the child arc 😮 What a sad, depressing ride 😛 Thank you all for putting up with that heavy section of the story, and onward we go to the teen years (the “real” start of Gen 5… This whole arc was very much tying up loose ends from Gen 4).

Our next chapter will be Saturday — prepare for a time jump! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Interlude: Happy

  1. audreyfld says:

    Yippie!!! I knew that submarine would resurface. ❤️❤️❤️ Silver Fox. Lol.

    It’s so nice to see everyone finally moving on and really happy. Especially Jocelyn and Mark. I think they have suffered more than enough. Even Elliott! I love that he is hooking up with Emma. 😁 This chapter made me smile. No more sniffles today.

    I wish we really had slow dancing in TS4. I know you must spend a ton of time posing and selecting your screen shots. We will most definitely miss the frequent updates but this was a good chapter to ween us off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you Audrey! ^_^ I’m so glad you never lost faith in Marklyne! I loved showing everyone moving on and finding happiness again. And yes! The SS Emmiot is now leaving port 😉 😛

      I wish we had slow dancing too! Haha but I just make due with poses for now. 🙂 And thanks for being understanding about the new schedule 🙂

      Like

    • audreyfld says:

      I want to add I saw where Marks hand went. Tee hee… And the pose with Florian and River dancing on his feet. Absolutely adorable. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Spottydog714 says:

    High fives all round! I’m so so so happy for Elliot! I hope he gets with Emma. Congrats to Joce and Mark, for actually communicating. You’ve wasted all these years, and although I never shipped you, I’m happy for you.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. witchazard says:

    So the two could have been Rosebrooks getting together! Can you imagine how gorgeous those nooboos will be I’m all for team Elma! Yes teen arc is in sight! Yay for Nuggy! Also if Marklyne was secretly a submarine why didn’t they use those torpedoes could have same them a lot of heartache. JK! Now on to the next generation of drama I can feel the suspense! Also cutting back isn’t a bad thing it just makes each update even more special! Plus you can take breaks if you want to you deserve it so no apologies needed😊

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Trip says:

    I can’t believe that this ship happened…Auggy let his best friend be single for so long? 😛

    Argh. You really tested my patience for ship payoff, you tease. You whore. 😛 I’m so happy. Joce and Mark or really any other pair of serviceable characters, I like relationships stuck in limbo. I like seeing the dysfunctional paths taken in between. And yeah, this payoff is pretty fucking sweet. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha I’m sure Emma was just in between relationships 😉 And I’m very happy you enjoyed the payoff! It’s definitely fun to have their relationship be in limbo haha Now they’ll be a bit less exciting… but at least they’re together 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. raerei says:

    Aw, what a delightful end to an arc that began with a wedding and ended with a wedding….Although thankfully no closets here!!

    Loved peering at all the family members and friends in the backgrounds of these pictures. And Clara is such a good good friend for Joce. I would never have expected it after their tumultuous childhood!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Jes2G says:

    *side-eyes SS Markelyne*

    Oooooh! Emma and Elliot, eh? This should be fun!

    Like

  7. YIPPEE! THE SHIP IS AFLOAT ONCE MORE! -transforms from dragon back into human- Reporting for duty!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. maladi777 says:

    Onward to another generation of Rosebrook drama! 🙂

    Like

  9. Clara is so Awesome, she always has Joces’ back .

    Liked by 1 person

  10. DanaColourful says:

    Okay trying to get my thoughts in order:

    First of all I love Clara! What would we (and Joce especially) do without her? 😀

    And seeing Elliott finally move on is really great!

    Now, I’m still not 100% sold on Marklyne but let’s face it, they were never able to stay away from eachother unless there was an entire ocean between them. And it’s definitely time for them to be happy.

    And speaking of happy, it’s so good to see the family happy again. I guess it’s time for some teen drama now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks 🙂 I appreciate that you are happy for Mark and Joce, even if you don’t ship them haha. And yes, yay for some happiness all around (including Elliot!)

      Like

  11. CitizenErased14 says:

    Thank you for sharing that story! I think weddings are great times to come together as a family 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the chapter as well. Thanks so much for reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I decided to comment before reading the other comments. I switch it up depending on my mood at the end of the post. Can I just stick to this pre-tangent comment and say again how great your writing is? The fact that what you read catches so many people’s attention that I not only want to read what you write, but I also want to read what other people write in response, it’s huge.

    But I digress.

    So happy for Mark and Joce. Talk about a life filled with regrets though. I hope he’s been taking really good care of himself and has no family history of cancer. I really can’t stand it if they don’t get at least 30 years together. He’s 22 years older than her, right? And she’s 30? Yeah… they should have time… right?

    Loved the rest of the family too. These Rosebrooks man! *ignores tears in hopes that they’ll go away on their own*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh and Clara’s dress! Clara is my wedding spirit animal, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Your comment about my writing is extremely sweet. Thank you! 🙂

      I’m glad you’re so happy for Mark and Jocelyne. I am too! You’re right to be concerned about the age difference though haha. No matter how you slice it, she’s likely going to outlive him by quite a bit, which is so sad 😦 Hopefully they will make the most of the time they do have together!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. yay im glad joce is finally happy and can’t wait til the next chapter and i understand you cutting down to 3 chapters a week and appreciate your sharin you stories with us 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  14. SilentWolf101 says:

    Yay! I don’t remember if I stuck with the SS Marklynne… But I hope I did! And I’m so glad it’s back! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. fabtiffsim says:

    If anybody deserves to move on and get some closet action its Elliot! He’s a great guy! And Joce and Mark can be together that’s nice, I just don’t think Joce was in the wrong for the past year or whatever at all. She had a lot on her plate and Mark had pushed her away and played games and f*cked up in general. So she had every right to push him away for awhile, and its also nice that he did make up for it. I’m happy that they can be happy but I love me some drama!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Don’t worry, new drama is always ahead 😉 And I’m glad you’re so happy for Elliot!

      I see what you’re saying about Jocelyne, by the way. It’s kind of an opinion thing, I suppose. Depending on how you interpret the situation, either one of them could be “wrong”, or neither of them could be. So your opinion makes a lot of sense.

      Thanks for reading, as always! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  16. crstasse says:

    Finally!!!! Happiness for Jocelyn at long last, our tortuous couple are back together!!! I was so excited to read this. I was really hoping Mark and Jocelyn would get to be together. This was such a feel good chapter. It’s nice to have a happy chapter after all the angst. I can’t wait to see the kids becoming teenagers. Great job with the images, I’m always in awe of them and I know how much time and effort you must put into it. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Aw, and thank YOU for reading too! ^_^ And for noticing my screenshots. I seriously appreciate that a lot.

      I’m glad you’re so happy for Mark and Jocelyne. I am too! Can’t wait for the teen arc to begin this weekend. 🙂

      Like

  17. kaffepigen says:

    Wee! Så Marilyn is samling onde more! I’ve byen back and forh abort whether they would get back together but i’m so happy they did. They really belong together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. theplumbob says:

    Stunning screenshots in this one. Looks like absolutely everyone had a good time (how unusual for your story haha!) and the venue was beautiful. Damn, Clara dropped that baby weight quick. Loved the little moment of Florian dancing with his daughter. Elliot and Emma look great together, they seem like a great match – both deserve the very best, so it works out well! Oh, and congrats to Auggy and Noah.

    As for the elephant in the room, well… while I would have preferred if they left the past in the past, I’m glad they found a way to come to terms with it and look ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha thank you 🙂 I love that venue. I found it on the gallery for Clara and Florian’s wedding and decided to re-use it because of how pretty it was 🙂

      And yes, everyone had a great time and was very happy ^_^

      Like

  19. SpurklyNinja says:

    FINALLY! Geez, girl, you had us worried that we would die without some closure for this ship.

    Jokes. 😉

    But, seriously, I’m happy for everyone here. Noah and Gus for getting married. All the kids enjoying life with their parents. Tobi and Collette still going strong. Jonas and Mari bringing so much happiness. Elliot and Emma (I like this!). And finally, Joce and Mark for finally opening up to each other.

    “We’ve all spent nearly a year watching the two of you eye-fucking each other every moment you’re together. Just put us out of our misery already.” YES, CLARA!

    Super excited for the teen arc. I’m not sure whether or not I should wish for more drama after this crazy generation, but I’m sure it’ll be exciting. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you, ninja! And yes, closure at last! I couldn’t leave everyone hanging like that haha. Glad you approve of Elliot and Emma, and liked Clara’s very blunt line there 😂

      I’m excited for the teen arc too 😀 Can’t wait til it really gets going 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  20. lisabeesims says:

    Well there goes the rest that freaking box of tissues

    Liked by 1 person

  21. theceltygirly says:

    Such a sweet chapter ❤
    Clara is still a riot! Bush pffft
    I love that the happy turn is coming 🙂 Gus Gus and Noah ❤ Emma and Elliot ❤ All of the kids 🙂 Good Good 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  22. misfit913 says:

    Everyone is so happy! I’m scared now lol! It’s really good to see everyone in good spirits 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. sonniejj says:

    YES! It was a stormy ride for the SS Marklyne but they made it out at last! They’re probably my favorite ship in the entire legacy so far so you can inagine how happy I am ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  24. skcaga6 says:

    Emma and Elliot!!!!! E-Squared!! I love seeing those two together. They are cute together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

