5.10: Ashes

Today I said goodbye to Mama and Papa. Again.

I know we already said bye to ‘em las’ year at the ‘morial service. But that was saying bye to their spirits. Today we said bye to the ashes… The stuff that’s lef’ here. On Earth. With us.

12-04-16_10-04-03-pm

I don’ think Mama and Papa’s ashes should be here anymore. Not if the rest of ‘em isn’t. Papa said bye to me las’ week when I was sleepin’, so I know he’s really really gone for REAL this time. He’s in heaven with Mama, an’ that’s where their ashes should be too.

I wish I could go there too and visit ‘em. But Tante Joce and Oma and Opa say I can’t. Not til I’m old and wrinkly. That’s a LONG time. Almost forever. I wish I didn’t have to wait.

12-04-16_10-04-47-pm

Anyway, everybody came with us today to say bye to Mama and Papa. Well, everybody ‘cept the triplets. They stayed with their Papa today. But that’s okay. They didn’t really know Mama and Papa like the rest of us.

We went all the way up to the Bluffs. It’s SO pretty there. Mama and Papa used to take me for special picnics there sometimes. I think Oma and Opa picked a real pretty place for us to say bye to the ashes.

12-04-16_9-04-59-pm

We all took turns sayin’ nice things about Mama and Papa. Everybody was cryin’. Then they got real quiet.

Oma and Opa held Papa’s jar and Grandpa held Mama’s. They waited til the wind was just right, and then they poured out all the ashes. It was like a big cloud of white smoke. Some of it fell down the cliff into the water, and some of it flew away with the wind.

When it was all over, we all stayed til the sun started goin’ down. Some of the grownups were smilin’ after. But I cried and cried and cried because it means Mama and Papa are really, really gone.

12-04-16_9-52-39-pm

Grandpa picked me up and hugged me for a real long time. And he tol’ me that’s not true. He says they’ll never really be gone, long as we all ‘member them.

I guess I’m not really sure what he means.

But I really hope he’s right.

12-04-16_9-40-14-pm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to 5.10: Ashes

  1. kaffepigen says:

    Aww. I love this, that they scattered their ashea with the wind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. witchazard says:

    😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭you always hit me in the feels! Even though it’s sad it’s such a uplifting chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spottydog714 says:

    I love that last picture! It’s so… so… perfect. I noticed Joce is standing next to Mark. Poor Joce. She probably couldn’t help being unnecessarily close to him. Her legs moved for her.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theplumbob says:

    Aww this was so touching, makes me all misty-eyed! Gorgeous screenshots too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. maladi777 says:

    Love the last picture. Great light in it. Also great resting place for the ashes in the Bluffs.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. fairlyvocal says:

    AHHH THAT END PICTURE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Send my love to Zayne. I’m really proud of him.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. raerei says:

    What a wonderful way to say goodbye. Zayne is doubly precious for thinking of it. I agree the screenshots and the words, the cloud of ashes, are just perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. audreyfld says:

    Awwww. Need my tissues again! Beautifully done. The screen shot is awesome as so many others have already stated. Everyone drawing strength from their significant other.

    Zayne will understand one day what Mark meant. Mark is definitely Zayne’s father figure as Jocelyn is his mother. It makes sense for the two of them to be standing together and hopefully living together sooner than later. Yes, I haven’t given up on that beat up old ship just yet. 😛❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you Audrey! I’m glad this one moved you 🙂 And I’m also happy you liked that shot! It’s my current wallpaper on my computer haha

      And I’m glad some people are still holding on to hope for the Marklyne haha hopefully it won’t all be in vain though…

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Tizy says:

    The last picture made me tear up.
    Wonderful as always

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sulsulsimlit says:

    That last image beautiful; I think it perfectly captures how far they’ve come and how much they’ve recovered. There’s still a long way to go, especially for poor Zayne, but it seems like they’re finally healing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you so much! That’s exactly what I was trying to capture in that last image — a sense of peace and healing!

      By the way, this is the first time I’ve seen you comment. Hello! And thank you so so much for reading my story!

      Like

      • sulsulsimlit says:

        Thanks for the welcome! I started reading your story the day before yesterday and enjoyed it so much (procrastination on finals studying might have had something to do with it too) that I’m completely caught up now. So many emotions in so little time O.O. I’m very excited to see what comes next!

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          WOW! Haha you’ve experienced a year’s worth of Rosebrook drama in just a few days! I give you credit haha. Thanks again for reading 🙂

          Like

  11. Mumei No says:

    Beaultiful picture and message, and i wonder how would be if the wild change and Luc an Hazel ended up going on everyone’s face…”Here, Zayne, let me take out some Hazel from your face…” ”Hey, why are you still crying?” ”Luc is in my eye…”

    Liked by 2 people

  12. fabtiffsim says:

    AW! “but I cried and cried and cried” definitely made me well up! What a sweet and sad day

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is such a great family moment

    Liked by 1 person

  14. CitizenErased14 says:

    Thank you! I really loved that last shot too (it’s actually my wallpaper on my computer haha). Definitely shows that they are slowly but surely healing together 🙂

    Like

  15. bennihickschloe says:

    So beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. SpurklyNinja says:

    I’m finally done with finals now. Time to catch up! 🙂

    This was so beautiful. I especially love that final picture. Super pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. lisabeesims says:

    Half a freaking box of tissues later …

    Liked by 1 person

  18. theceltygirly says:

    I’m not crying, you’re crying. (Nope, I’m crying.)
    This is a good place to end for the night. Things should be happier now ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha oh no, you did it again 😛 There’s only one chapter left in this arc before Zayne is a teen haha. But that’s ok hehe next time you read you’ll get to end the child arc and be very close to caught up 😮 Yay!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. misfit913 says:

    I love the last picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. sonniejj says:

    This was beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  21. kaycee39 says:

    Absolutely love this chapter 💜 and that group shot at the end was awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

