Interlude: When You Know

Jocelyne was fairly certain she was going to vomit. Literally. She could actually feel the contents of her stomach churning as she stared at the hard wooden door in front of her. She could not see very well through the frosted glass, but she heard the soft tapping of typing and occasional click of a mouse on the other side.

You can do this. She told herself firmly. You have to.

08-29-16_11-12-28 PM

With a deep breath, she put on a smile, lifted her fist and knocked.

“It’s open!” Mark’s deep voice called from the other side.

08-29-16_11-16-27 PM

Jocelyne’s boss looked up at her, a smile coming to his face the moment he laid eyes on her. “Hey.” He said brightly. “How’s it going out there? Need some help with crowd control?” Mark suggested.

The young girl shook her head. “No, it’s still pretty dead. I left Theresa out there to fend for herself… I’m sure she can handle it.” Jocelyne forced a smile, and hoped her voice sounded casual.

08-29-16_11-20-35 PM

“Do you need anything?” He asked kindly. “Or were you just hoping to analyze those horrible new Moonlight Massacre TV spots?” A loud burst of laughter escaped his lips.

“Oh God, they were pretty awful, weren’t they?”

Mark nodded in agreement. “I thought the previews were supposed to show the best parts of the movie…” He sighed, then appeared to be looking her up and down for a moment. “But something tells me that’s not what you’re here to talk about.”

08-29-16_11-22-53 PM

Jocelyne almost smiled. He really knows me better than anyone. “Yeah, I um… I just wanted to talk for a minute… About something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately.”

“Of course.” He gestured toward one of the chairs across from him and walked around the desk to sit beside her. “What’s on your mind?”

You. Jocelyne wanted to say. All the time. She hesitated. Where could she even begin? “I… I broke up with Elliot yesterday.” The words burst from her lips before she even realized what she was saying. Oh Jesus. Nice one, Joce. Smooth.

08-29-16_11-24-31 PM

Mark’s brow furrowed in concern at her words. “I’m sorry to hear that.” He said softly. “I know everyone always feels sorry for the person on the receiving end, but… Being the one who does it it can be just as hard.”

Jocelyne nodded. There it was again… He was so deep, so sensitive. So smart. No, wise. She corrected herself, recalling the conversation they’d had before her visit home. Was that when things had changed? She wondered. Or maybe they never changed at all… Maybe I changed.

“How are you holding up?” Mark’s soothing voice called her back to the present.

08-29-16_11-25-50 PM

She shrugged. “I’m okay.” Her voice was soft. “It was hard, but I know it was the right thing to do… It wasn’t fair to keep stringing him along.” Jocelyne explained. “I thought I loved him… But I finally realized I don’t.”

He nodded in understanding. “Sounds like you did the right thing.” When he smiled, those familiar little wrinkles appeared in the corner of his eyes. Jocelyne’s heart fluttered at the sight of them. “It can be easy to fool yourself into believing you love someone… But when you know, you know.”

“Exactly.” She replied. “And… that was how I figured it out, actually.” Jocelyne admitted. “I thought I loved Elliot… Until I realized I was already in love with someone else. I could feel it.”

08-29-16_11-26-59 PM

Mark raised an eyebrow at her. “The plot thickens!” He laughed. “So… who’s the lucky guy?” His voice was teasing. “You don’t really have to tell me, by the way.” He assured her with a small wink. “I’m just pulling your leg.”

Jocelyne’s nausea suddenly returned. “I… I don’t mind telling you.” She said at last. “It’s, uh… someone you know, actually.”

“Oh?”

08-29-16_11-28-39 PM

“Yeah… He’s… Well, he’s really funny. No one can make me laugh the way he can.” Jocelyne locked her eyes with his as she spoke. It was like she was in a trance… Or under a spell. She simply couldn’t look away. “And he’s so kind, and caring. He has a bigger heart than anyone I’ve ever met.”

08-29-16_11-31-19 PM

Jocelyne was on her feet now, her eyes still never leaving Mark’s. “And he’s a genius. The way he looks at the world is so deep. He’s always amazing me with how smart he is… Or, wise, I guess…” Her smile widened.

08-29-16_11-33-40 PM

Mark was on his feet as well as she began closing the distance between them. He said nothing. He simply watched and listened as Jocelyne drew closer and closer. “He’s the most amazing person I’ve ever met in my entire life, Mark. He’s everything to me.”

08-29-16_11-36-39 PM

“J-Jocelyne…”

The girl reached out and ran her hand down the coarse stubble on his cheek.

08-29-16_11-42-11 PM 08-29-16_11-42-22 PM

For one beautiful moment, everything was absolutely perfect.

And then, all too quickly, it was gone.

Mark stepped back from her, shaking his head back and forth. “What the hell do you think you’re doing?!”

08-29-16_11-47-49 PM

“W-what?!” She spluttered. “B-but… But I thought…”

“I don’t know what you ‘thought’, but I am your boss!” He snapped at her. “I could fire you for this kind of behavior!”

08-29-16_11-48-28 PM

Jocelyne felt like she couldn’t breathe. It was like there was a thousand-pound weight pressing down on her chest. Crushing her. Suffocating her.  “Mark, I… I just –”

“You need to leave.” His voice was cold. “Now.

She could already feel the hot sting of tears in her eyes. “I’m sorry. I just… I thought that you –”

08-29-16_11-47-07 PM

“I’m not asking.” Mark interrupted her. “Go home, Miss Rosebrook. You’re done for the day.”

Jocelyne opened her mouth once more, and tried to speak… But no words would come.

08-29-16_11-50-45 PM 08-29-16_11-52-36 PM 08-29-16_11-52-53 PM

She wept the entire way home.

08-29-16_11-56-43 PM08-29-16_11-56-24 PM

———————–

And, on that happy note… today’s update was my 200th chapter! 😮 I almost can’t believe how far we’ve come since Alex hopped on that plane to Windenburg back in December 😉

Thank you so much for sharing in the Rosebrooks’ crazy, soap-opera lives. They all love you (And so do I!)

I also want to give a super special shout out to ra3rei and JoieWilder, without whom this story seriously wouldn’t be possible. If you are a fan of this story, you definitely have them to thank for helping it be what it is 🙂 Between making sims & builds for me, pre-reading a million chapters, and giving me feedback and ideas on my plot, they have both helped me so much. You guys are great friends and I appreciate you both so much ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to Interlude: When You Know

  1. julyvee94 says:

    O.M.GEEEEEEE. wow, I never thought Mark would reject her like that 😮 wow, poor joce she mustered up all the courage she had…. I wonder if Mark really doesn’t have feelings for her or it was just his initial reaction bc it’s how society says he SHOULD be reacting. You know I remember that scene where he was sad bc Joce called him a grandpa, like he was too old for her. I just refuse to believe he doesn’t have any feelings. I think he’s just too scared to act on them.

    Liked by 8 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yeah, I feel so terrible for Jocelyne right now 😦 She’s devastated!

      You have a good/very possible theory for his rejection! It’s still hard to say, as we don’t know for certain what he’s thinking or feeling right now. But either way, that was so cold 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • julyvee94 says:

        that’s what made me think it was fake because Mark is usually a kind and wise person so if he really rejected her he would have did so more quitely but that he had an outburst like this made me think it was a reflex-reaction driven by his rational mind and fear and not by his heart.

        Liked by 6 people

  2. Simslover163 says:

    EEEEKKKKKKK!! I would never suspect Mark to reject her like that. Poor gal needs a hug. She did have the courage to admit her feelings toward Mark, but wow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. azzywoods says:

    Oh man…*hugs Joce*. That’s rough, and I suspect things will be v. awkward, at least for a bit.

    HOWEVER…

    I think there is hope. Due to the fact that it took him a second to react, and also the last photo, kind of makes me think that he does have feelings for her, but he didn’t want to admit it…

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh yes, extremely awkward times ahead for poor Joce at work haha.

      I think you’re right that there may be hope. It’s hard to say right now exactly what Mark is feeling. Regardless of the reason for his rejection, I do think he feels guilty for hurting her. A tough situation all around! 😦

      Like

  4. kaffepigen says:

    How could Mark do that to her?! I feel so sorry for Jocelyne. Not because he rejected her, which of course he had every right to do, but the way he did it! I would never have expected that from him. I think Julyvee is right about him being afraid. I don’t think he would have reacted that way if he didn’t feel anything at all. She probably just surprised him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yeah, it definitely wasn’t the type of reaction you’d expect from Mark, huh? It was pretty cold 😦 He really hurt Jocelyne. I feel so bad for her!

      We’ll find out pretty soon how Mark is feeling about the whole situation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Senna says:

    That soured pretty damn quick.

    If Jossy quits coming in to work or doesn’t respond to any of his attempts to contact her, I wouldn’t blame her. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. witchazard says:

    Okay Theae thoughts are of a fan who loves drama with s capital D. Jocelyn have you lost your mind? I’ll give you the goods on the courage it took to confess but girl that whole touch him was ballzy as all get. What where you thinking you can’t just touch a guy like that he is a full grown man. When in love with an adult you have to act like one. You convey your feelings to where it’s clear and to the point then get their answer. If they accept good if they don’t you accept it and go home and cry into a pillow. Not in front of their office door. That’s another thing Joce and I can’t stress this enough location location location! You are at his and your place of work. As casual as he acts this should have really taken place in a more neutral setting. Your place or his are a no go too intimate. And what about the other person you have to be thinking about them as well as yourself. I mean hello your body be banging of course he’s thought about you in that way but look at his position he’s your boss who is older than you by(help me out I forgot the age difference) if even looks at you sexually it’s over. I know it feels like I’m scolding you but that’s because I am because I care. Now go cry yours eyes out don’t forget the ice packs so they don’t get puffy I’m sure this is only the beginning of a long string of misunderstandings. Can’t wait to see how Mark feels about all this in his perspective chapter. Alright Citizen Prez of Ship Club out!

    Liked by 4 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      You definitely bring up great points about where Joce kinda went “wrong” here haha As for the touching thing, she was really just caught up in the moment. I don’t think that was even a conscious thing — it just sorta happened!

      But the setting was most definitely under her control! I think the “problem” there for her is that Jocelyne has actually never seen/spent time with Mark outside of work. So I think if she’d invited him to meet her somewhere to talk, it would have come across as very suspicious and tipped him off, so she went with what was natural — which is doing it in a setting they are both used to seeing each other in. Of course, that doesn’t mean it was a wise decision at all hahaha If she was able to spin it the right way or even told a white lie and made it sound like she had to talk to him about something work-related, she might have been able to get away with asking him to meet her somewhere without it seeming weird. I feel like she didn’t put a whole lot of thought into this. She just went for it!

      And Mark is 22 years older than Jocelyne (who is also 22… Exactly twice her age 😛 )

      We’ll be hearing his POV in a few chapters, and learn more about how he is feeling about the current situation 🙂

      Like

      • witchazard says:

        I thought he was 35 Joce really knows how to pick em this makes my point about doing things like an adult even more prevalent. He’s older than your Dad. Mind officially blown!

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          Hahahahaha everyone thinks Mark is so much younger than he is! But to me, he definitely looks 40+. I think it’s because I know too many people in their mid-30s who look quite young hahaha 😛

          Like

  7. witchazard says:

    After a quick gathering The Ship Club will have to reevaluate the survival of the Marklyn ship! After all Jocelyn is our lovely protagonist and we must keep her best interest at heart! There for this ship in our opinion is docked until further notice.( Or until we process this age gap possibilities to the fullest) Ship Club out!

    Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahahaha the Ship Club is so fickle! 😛

      Like

      • witchazard says:

        Oh it may sound like his age is a problem but what were more concerned about is Jocelyn. Three of our members our worried about the age difference and how it will affect Jocelyn and their future offspring later on. While the other three( we got a new member since my first ship post) two are English majors who think that loving someone older is a good thing and when he dies before her is will be good character development to see how she copes with it. And if they have a kid(s) the whole ordeal will give them depth whatever that means. I for one am on the fence and just want to see what happens next.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. shamanarza says:

    Great chapter, as usual. Jocelyn was super far out of line there. I guess we all do dumb things at 22. But seriously, hitting on him at work?! Makes me respect Mark even more.

    I hope she can still find happiness without jeopardizing both their careers

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yes, it probably wasn’t the best setting for her to confess her feelings, huh? But yeah, no matter how mature she seems, Jocelyne is still just 22. And everyone does dumb things at that age, like you said 😉 Hahahaha

      Like

  9. Well damn. When she touched him, I was a little bit horrified, like NOOOO Joce. You do NOT put your body on someone else’s body without explicit permission. I know he didn’t really take it that way, but yikes that was tough for me to see.

    That moment aside, this whole thing was heartbreaking. I felt so bad for both of them. I clicked on one picture and upped the size to see Mark’s face. He looked devastated. Like he knew he was doing something that was breaking both of their hearts.

    I hope he makes this right. Even if he’s convinced they shouldn’t be together, he needs to make amends for his awful reaction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Okay I am like two weeks late, but somehow this comment was sitting in my Spam folder on WP! What the heck?! I would reply, but it seems kind of pointless now… hahaha sorry this happened! That’s weird!

      Like

  10. peacesign101 says:

    That escalated quickly ._.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. CitizenErased14 says:

    I’m glad you caught that! I DIED. I just had him do “browse the web” and then when I went to take the shot I was like “OH MY GOD” and just started laughing out loud. Very in-character for Mark to be looking at cat memes while at work… That’s our goofball! 😉

    I am seriously so flattered that you love reading my story so much. Thank you! 😀 I am honored to fuel an addiction… Hehehe 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mumei No says:

    Okay, hon, so this is your drama story…Poor Joce! I really thought Mark would accept her feelings, but he is a nice guy, if he wasn’t interested, I think he whould be polite and say it, not freak out like this! And I think when her brother and Aunt come to talk about their problems, she will freak out, as she now has enought problems…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. As someone who is living with someone twice her age, I can tell, things get awkward sometimes. Especially in public. And when somebody drops the “And this must be your father”-line. And when you start thinking of everybody younger than your partner as “young” even if they’re almost twice your age.
    Not that I’m complaining, I chose this for myself, but it has the potential for a lot of weird situations.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Ooh hi! A reader reveals themselves! 😀 Thank you for reading and commenting ^_^

      I’m sorry that you and your partner have to go through those struggles! 😦 If Mark and Jocelyne DO end up together, there will definitely be many challenges ahead of them too.

      But for now, the “SS Marklyne” remains docked anyway haha.

      Like

      • I’m DeiraShadeweaver on the Sims Forums, I posted a few times on the Writer’s Lounge.
        Age gaps are an interesting theme in writing for me because of my own situation. But you have touched many other sensitive themes in your story like Mari’s depression for example…

        I guess I will have to wait for the coming chapters like all the others!

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          I remember seeing you there, yes! 🙂 Hi!

          Yeah, I like trying to approach topics that are a bit sensitive or personal and seeing how my characters deal with them. I appreciate knowing that you have a connection to this particular theme. We’ll see what happens from here 🙂

          Like

  14. Jes2G says:

    Joce, I’m sorry, but I am totally laughing at you. I really am. XD I mean like, this thing was soooooo dramatic, I could hear the music in my head! Then she got up, and he got up. And then he’s like “what the hell are you doing??” XD HAAAAAAA!!! #FAIL You threw away your shot, Joce! She definitely should have thought this out a little bit more! I mean, dude is at work!!! Really? You’re gonna go to the man’s OFFICE…while he’s WORKING?? That’s a no no. Yeah…I know…she doesn’t know him outside of work blah blah blah. At least ask him to talk AFTER the library closes. At least there won’t be anyone around. I’m still dying lol.

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hehehehe I totally see the humor, so I don’t judge you. But I think Joce is mad 😛 She was most definitely in the heat of the moment when this all happened. Love makes you not think clearly 😉 But yeah, waiting until after closing time may have been better (though would his reaction have been different? Who knows!)

      Liked by 1 person

  15. OMG nooooooo :O I mean, he obviously feels bad about it, but bloody feckin nora. Poor Joce *hugs her*. Mark you fool I will steal her from you. Then you’ll feel daft, won’t you.
    (I still want them to be together help)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. SpurklyNinja says:

    :O :O :O Well, that was unexpected. Didn’t have to break her heart like THAT, now did you Mark? Still rooting for you here, but COME ON… Thought you were better than that.

    Virtual hugs to Joce 😦

    (>’ . ‘)>

    Liked by 1 person

  17. DanaColourful says:

    I couldn’t read this I was too scared so I just looked at the pictures first and read it after that to prepare myself. Poor Joce. But I think I get why Mark reacted the way he did. I mean he IS her Boss and could get in a lot of trouble and even though she isn’t under age she is a LOT younger than him and he probably had no idea so because of that his reaction was so harsh.

    Like

  18. Yogiwonks says:

    My heart was in my mouth this entire chapter. Whew!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. crstasse says:

    Wow! His reaction, I thought, was pretty harsh but then when I read in the comments that he was 44 and twice her age it began to make sense. Firstly, I think he was literally taken by surprise (not sure when a girl would have last said something to him like that and opened up her heart but I’m willing to bet Mark could possibly have had his own heart broken at some stage which may account for why he is still single at 44?) and then maybe his surprise turned to shock, to anger? Soon as she touched his face I knew it wouldn’t end well! I’m thinking, ‘don’t do it, just don’t do it’ and I literally held my breath. Then it all went pear shaped from there! Mark may have acted out of self preservation or protecting his own heart, as mentioned already, I’m really curious to find out why he is still single when he’s kind of hot? 🙂 Maybe this has already been mentioned and I’ve missed it?? Either way I can’t wait to find out what happens next!!
    I feel for Jocelyn, it takes guts to do what she did, but I would have played it a bit differently and just drop clues here and there that I’m interested and see how he responds to them before literally laying it all on the guys lap like that!

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks for this great comment! Mark’s reaction was definitely harsh. I felt horrible for Joce when I write this one! I promise we’ll find out more about Mark’s thoughts on the situation soon!

      As for why he’s single, it hasn’t really come up, and might not really haha He’s had many relationships over the year and also some heartbreak, as you mentioned. So I think he’s kinda playing it low key with his quiet librarian lifestyle and not actively looking for romance. It’s a shame he’s still single though. He is definitely a handsome guy! He just never found “the one”.

      Like

  20. fabtiffsim says:

    Oh no I didn’t expect that haha! Poor thing

    Liked by 1 person

  21. sonniejj says:

    I expected a forceful make out session where all the books and papers were being wipwd off the desk… Not quite what I got haha.

    This is very out of character for Mark. I feel like he might really be scared how others would react. I definitely don’t think he hss no feelings for her, otherwise he would’ve reacted much calmer.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Ha! I’m laughing at your image of a hot makeout session on the desk. Definitely not what happened, unfortunately…

      And I do think you’re right that this was very out of character for him. We’ve never seen him like this before! Poor Joce 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  22. theplumbob says:

    That was pretty bold of Joce, to put it all out there like that – I didn’t think she had it in her!

    I’m gonna say Mark reacting the way he did is actually a good time. He always has it together, always knows what to say, is always so kind… And now he does this, a complete knee jerk reaction and the exact opposite of letting someone down gently. When are our reactions impulsive and possibly too abrupt? When we get emotional.

    I reckon this means he’s got to have some form of feelings for her. Probably has had for a while, but thanks to the Elliot bubble he never had to deal with them. He could just happily ignore them and just take the “wise” friend role – perhaps he’s had some thoughts about how he’s feeling something but is too old for her, but he could conveniently shrug it all off since it wasn’t like there was much of a possibility anyway. But now everything’s changed. It’s as if he was hiding under a nice snug blanket, and it was just ripped off him. He’s exposed and vulnerable without it, so how can he attempt to regain equilibrium, get some control over the situation again? By reacting the way he did.

    Liked by 5 people

  23. maladi777 says:

    Of course you couldn’t give us the “everything is perfect at last”!
    I’m going to pretend that Mark pushed her away because he’s her boss and things would be awkward and starting dating her could get him fired too. But I don’t give up on them!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. hemera123 says:

    Oh no! Poor Joce. 😦 That was cold from Mark! Maybe he acted like that because Joce did her confession at work.. The next work day is going to be so awkward for them. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  25. raerei says:

    That cute little smile when she touched him…yeah – then methinks his brain went PANIC PANIC PANIC DANGER WILL ROBINSON. Poor Joce. So brave. You must continuing being brave I fear.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. alphabetagama8 says:

    Ahh! I didn’t know whether to like this post or not… I mean #Marklyne just suffered major damage and I do not want to support that. In the end I settled on liking it because it is well written!
    Yeah I know first world problem… XD

    Liked by 1 person

  27. lisabeesims says:

    Oh no she screams from the couch … Aaugh

    Liked by 1 person

  28. bennihickschloe says:

    Oh no…our heart just shattered for her at his reaction!! *sobs*

    Liked by 1 person

  29. CitizenErased14 says:

    Yeah this one was rough 😦 I like your theory about Mark! It’s definitely possible! We’ll see…

    Like

  30. Virtualee says:

    So I was hearing beautiful music like strings of violins in the background as she confessed her love and then there was this horrific scratch to the record…LIke WTF Mark !!!! What seriously happened here…Please I need to know…..UGH

    Liked by 1 person

  31. NessyRosy says:

    Aww! Mark is so caring and already knows so much about Joce. They really have a great connection, but that went horribly! 😦 I was on tender hooks the entire time waiting to see his reaction, and that was certainly a reaction!

    Joce was amazing in expressing herself and I’m so proud of her courage, but I think Mark was caught off guard…that last picture of him has me guessing…I think there’s something beneath the surface – more to it than meets the eye 😉

    In the meantime, big hugs for Joce ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Nakashima says:

    Talk about giving off mixed signals, dangit Mark!! For someone so “wise” he really doesnt have a clue about what signs hes giving off on a daily basis huh.

    (And yes, I did really just make it chapter 200. Woops.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      You’re getting close to caught up! 😀 I’m very grateful for you binge reading my story hahaha ^_^

      And yeah… Mark is definitely giving off mixed signals over here haha poor Joce! 😦

      Like

  33. theceltygirly says:

    SATAN
    hnnnngggg

    Liked by 1 person

  34. misfit913 says:

    Oh no, poor Joce 😦 I did not expect him to act that way at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Wow, Jocelyn. That was pretty something. I’m seriously impressed how bold she was!
    Mark, on the other hand…I would expect more tact and sensitivity from someone so wise. I wonder what made him that outraged – maybe he has some suppressed deep feelings of his own.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      It was definitely a rare moment of bravery! Especially for a Rosebrook (since we know how much they hate being honest about their feelings LOLOLOL). But Joce is seriously head-over-heels for Mark, and I don’t think she could take it anymore!

      As for Mark’s reaction… I promise there was a reason for it that you’ll learn more about soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

