Interlude: Freedom

07-17-16_6-55-29 PM

“And yeah, Tobi said I could invite a friend, if I want, so… Ah! Shit shit shit!” Clara pounded the buttons in front of her furiously, completely losing her train of thought.

07-17-16_6-55-11 PM

Beside her, Lena laughed gleefully as she wiggled the joystick with a few easy flicks of her wrist. “YES!” she cried as the ‘Game Over’ screen flashed in front of them. “That’s three out of three!”

07-17-16_7-05-49 PM

“Damn it! You bitch!” Clara laughed heartily as she stepped away from the arcade machine.

Her friend smirked at her. “Anyway, you were saying?”

Clara returned to the table where she and Lena had been sitting earlier. The other girl followed along beside her. “What I was saying is that I can invite a friend, and since I only really have one of those… Do you wanna go to this vow renewal thing next month?”

07-17-16_7-12-57 PM

Lena shrugged. “Sure, why not? It seems pretty pointless though, doesn’t it?”

“Yeah, kinda.” Clara agreed. “But they never had a real wedding… So I guess this is their chance or something? Plus, I guess they deserve a little celebration for making it through marriage counseling in one piece.” She added with a laugh.

“Hmm… I guess that is pretty impressive. I kinda figured they were headed straight for splitsville.” Lena confessed.

07-17-16_7-13-45 PM

“Me too, for a while. I guess I’m happy it all worked out for them.” Clara paused for a moment. “But hey, enough about my stupid Bruder. Wanna grab another coffee?”

With a nod, Lena rose to her feet. “Y’know what? I really missed this.” Her voice was sincere. “I was seriously starting to think you were gonna be under house arrest for the rest of your life.”

Clara laughed. Today was the first day that her parents had let her leave the house unsupervised in weeks. And, as annoying and frustrating as it was, Clara secretly understood why. Still, it was a relief to finally have a bit of freedom back.

07-17-16_7-21-12 PM

“I missed it too.” She said at last, smiling. “I mean, you know me… I’m basically a freaking hermit, but it’s nice to mingle with my fellow humans every now and then.”

As they waited by the drink counter for the barista to fill their order, Clara felt her friend nudge her sharply in the ribs.

“Hey,” Lena whispered, “Isn’t that Lucas’ friend over there? Florian?” She nodded across the arcade. “Because he’s totally checking you out, FYI.”

07-17-16_7-23-08 PM

Clara felt her cheeks turn red. “What?!” She whipped her head around, locking eyes with the young man across the room. He gave her a small nod of acknowledgement before turning his attention back to his friend’s dart game.

07-17-16_7-27-11 PM

“Oh my God, Lena, it’s not like that!” She hissed. “I know exactly why he’s here… Mama put him up to it. I know she did.” Clara shook her head. She should have known her mother wouldn’t entirely trust her yet. Damn it, it was too good to be true…

A small sigh passed her lips. “Still, if Mama’s gonna send someone to spy on me, at least she picked me some decent eye-candy.”

07-17-16_7-31-00 PM

“HAH!” Lena threw her head back. “I knew it.”

“Yeah, don’t get all excited.” Clara rolled her eyes as she grabbed her drink and headed back to the table. Beside her, Lena did the same. “Trust me, I’m swearing off guys for a while. A LONG while. Maybe forever.” She joked.

07-17-16_7-40-27 PM

“No more guys, huh?” Lena raised an eyebrow at her. “Hmm… Sorry, Clara. You’re gorgeous and all… but not really my type.” Her friend winked.

Clara simply rolled her eyes again. Gorgeous? Pfft. Yeah right. She thought, taking a sip of her drink and letting her eyes wander back toward where Florian sat.

07-17-16_7-38-16 PM

And speaking of gorgeous… The girl shook herself mentally. Stop. No more guys. Especially not OLDER guys…

Without meaning to, Clara found herself thinking of Julian again. Her heart sank as his face and name suddenly entered her mind. It was still so painful to think of him. She’d really, truly believed that he loved her… And that she loved him, too. But she was fooling herself. Only looking back on it now did she realize just how horribly he’d manipulated her. How he’d used her. It made her feel sick.

07-17-16_7-41-23 PM

“Lena.” Her voice was barely above a whisper. “I don’t think I ever said it… But I’m sorry. I should have listened to you way back when I told you what was happening with Julian. I just didn’t want to listen.” She shook her head. “Guess I’m too damn stubborn.”

“You are.” Lena agreed. “But hey, so am I. That’s why we’re friends.” She smiled softly. “And I’m sorry I didn’t do anything about it when I found out what was going on.” Lena confessed somewhat awkwardly. “I mean, you probably would have murdered me if I did, but… Maybe I should have told your parents or something.” She shrugged.

07-17-16_7-42-28 PM

Clara shook her head. There was no point in either of them dwelling on the past. Not anymore. “Nah. You’re right. I probably would have killed you…” Her lips curled into a small smile as she spoke.  “Not worth the risk, trust me.”

07-17-16_7-44-19 PM

That was the last they spoke of it. The two girls spent the rest of the afternoon gossiping, talking, and laughing together. Clara felt so normal, so free for the first time in months.

And she promised herself that she would never take this feeling for granted again.

07-17-16_7-46-54 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Interlude: Freedom

  1. EddieSims says:

    Haha! #TeamClorian or maybe #TeamFlara? LOL. I don’t know which one sounds better. I’m glad everyone is doing well now, especially Clara. I was worried about her for a bit but she’s a tough cookie. and I’m happy that she has a friend like Lena looking out for her. A lot of people might think she didn’t do a whole lot for Clara during the Julian situation but she was in a tough spot having to decide whether to maintain her friend’s trust or get her help by betraying it. She did the right thing by choosing the latter and telling Jocelyn. If she didn’t then Jocelyn wouldn’t have tried to help Clara which led to Colette finding the pregnancy test which then led to Colette and Tobi’s confrontation/confession. If you ask me, they should all thank Lena for forcing everyone to be honest. #TeamLena? LOL.

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      That is so true about Lena! Her talking to Jocelyne ended up being the catalyst for a lot of the good that ended up happening in the Rosebrook house! She is a great friend to Clara 🙂 And I’m so glad she pulled through this ^_^ #TeamLena for sure!

      And I love your ship names LMAO thank you for reading, Eddie!

      Like

  2. sonniejj says:

    Yaaay I’m happy that Clara is feeling happier! This Clara is a lot nicer lol.

    I have to say, I was leaning towards the Joce/Florian ship for a while. But I wouldn’t mind Clara and Florian together, either. Clara having a crush is super cute haha, I want to know what happens!! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha Clara was always nice, just a moody teenage girl with a secret 😛 But she’s a lot outwardly nicer for sure haha

      And all the shipping is cracking me up 😛 Hehehe

      Like

    • EddieSims says:

      I was also thinking Florian and Jocelyn might make a good couple as well because they are so different which would make for an interesting relationship plus Jocelyn’s so naive and softhearted I would prefer if she ended up with someone we know who wouldn’t take advantage of that. But when I first saw pics of Clara’s mystery boyfriend I immediately thought it was Florian and started liking the idea of the two of them getting together. If it goes either way, I won’t be mad.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sonniejj says:

    And yaaaaaaay for ToCo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. octopocket says:

    Aw! Its great to see her smiling again 😸

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kaffepigen says:

    I’m glad Clara is feeling better. And maybe it’s not such a bad idea for her to take a break from dating. But I don’t think Florian was there because if her parents. I mean, he could be, but I think it was a mere coincidence. I can totally see Clara and Florian get tpgether in the future. I would also love a Florian chapter! It would be interesting to hear his side of things.

    Tobi and Colette is renewing their wovs? That’s so romantic :3 they deserve it after going through therapy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Virtualee says:

    +10 chocolates for an awesome Clara update because she is my new fav…-8 chocolates for not adding a Tobias butt screenie in there for me….it is such a juxtaposition of were Mari was this exact time in her life but it looks like the betrayal left them both feeling unworthy/not beautiful…it is an interesting social experiment here. Thanks a million for the update!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. JoieWilder says:

    #TeamClarian #ClarianIsLyfe #ByeToCo

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      LMAO! I love that now that ToCo is finally back, you’re replacing them with a couple who doesn’t even exist (yet? Haha we’ll see… :P)

      Liked by 2 people

  8. RemïNarrow says:

    Phew! Finally caught up with the story! OMG I still can’t believe that everything’s finally back on track! Clara broke up with that douche after what he did to her and is not pregnant, Clara and Lena got back their friendship, Clara and Joce seem to be getting along pretty well, then we have the end of Tobi and his extra-marital affair with that masseuse (sorry I forgot her name 😛 ) and boy the previous chapter was hot dayum 😍 And so Tobi and Colette are gonna get married again!?!! How cute!!!! ❤
    I’m so looking forward to what happens next in the lives of these characters who seem to have figured out their future for now but I’m sure many many more unexpected surprises are waiting for ’em! Btw, I always expected Florian to end up either with Clara or Joce! He’s so cute😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Aw I’m glad you caught up Remi! ^_^ And I’m happy that you’re so excited to see what comes next! I’m excited for it too!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. audreyfld says:

    I am sitting here reading and smiling seeing Clara happy again. I squealed when I saw that Tobi and Colette were renewing their vows. Now I am bracing myself for the drams that is soon to come. 😝

    I too wouldn’t mind seeing JoFlo become a thing. Like someone said, he might be a good fit for her. I feel like she has been pushed into the background as an afterthought because she is the “good” girl and accepts what is thrown her way without complaint. She is the Rosebrook complaint department. Let’s see…She told Tobi about Julian and Clara, she had opening night with no family because they all went to see Luc, Lena told her to check on Clara, she helped Clara with the pregnancy test, she took Augie and Luc for ice cream when her parents had the worst fight of their life and nobody really acknowledged her doing all of these selfless things. Even Clara barely managed a thank you and turned her back on her. It’s time for Jocelyn to find some happiness.

    Ohhh, I just thought, if Florian goes with Luc to the vow thingie, there might be some fireworks there with Clara and Jocelyn both going after him…. Guess who would win that one….Yep, Clara…sigh.

    Liked by 3 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Lol! Someone who does not ship #Clarian (#Flara? Idk haha) It’s true that Joce is always worrying about everyone else in the family and often isn’t recognized for it! Though I like to imagine Clara gave her a better thanks “off camera” once things blew over!

      Interesting prediction about a love triangle haha I suppose anything could happen! 😛

      Like

  10. CitizenErased14 says:

    She definitely needs time! Don’t worry, she won’t be rushing into anything!

    Like

  11. Spottydog714 says:

    Right. I’m saying it. I officially like Clara now. She’s now just a hormonal teenage girl with some social awkwardness. Perfect. I think I can relate to Lena more than Clara, though. She’s not as stubborn and yell-y.

    And yay! Marriage counseling! How much time has past? Are you going to be writing the vows?

    I’m not going to jump onto a Clara ship yet, though. She needs time to get over everything. I don’t ship Joce and Florian though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yay!!! You’ve been converted 😛 In answer to your question, it’s been a little more than a month. I did some research on different marriage counseling methods haha and I decided Tobi and Colette would do an intense but short-term counseling program (with a lot of work done on their own outside of sessions too). I imagine they still have a few more sessions to wrap up before their renewal 🙂

      We won’t actually get to see the renewal haha I’m sorry! But I imagine it was so sweet and romantic ❤

      And I'm glad someone is not jumping to conclusions and shipping anyone yet hehehe

      Liked by 1 person

      • Spottydog714 says:

        Converted? No. Persuaded? Yes. XD

        I am so happy for #ToCo. I knew they would put in the extra mile. I KNEW they wouldn’t give up on each other.

        Can I point out just how happy I am that Tobi won’t be the butt of cynical playground celebrity affair jokes? He’s amazing 🙂

        And, eh. I think I’m just a little worn out from all the intense chapter we’ve had lately. No offence. Maybe in a few calmer chapters time I will have bounced back and starting jumping to random ship conclusions. Or maybe I’m just being ultra protective of Clara and feel that if I start shipping her with someone, they will have enter a relationship only to break her heart.

        Like

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          Haha well things are calm now for a little bit, so don’t worry. Sorry you’re worn out. I know it can be emotionally draining to read my story sometimes hahaha

          Like

  12. NessyRosy says:

    Yay! I’m looking forward to seeing ToCo renew their vows to one another. What a beautiful idea 🙂 I’m glad they’ve had counseling and have been working hard to get to where they are 😀

    Awe, I’d love to see Clara and Florian together. He was really concerned about her being with ‘he who shall not be named’ 😛 They’d make such a lovely couple *sighs dreamily* 🙂 However, she needs time to heal. I think being good friends is a great start, if she’s willing – which I believe she would be XD

    I’m glad to see her out and truly happy with Lena. She certainly deserves to feel happy and free, that’s for sure! ❤

    Like

    • NessyRosy says:

      Also, just realised that the vows won’t be in a chapter after reading some comments. I’ll just imagine it was a lovely ceremony 😀 The last chapter certainly showed their love and commitment towards one another 😛 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. theplumbob says:

    Aww can’t believe you’re not going to show us the vow renewal – it’s hard to believe you love ToCo as much as you claim to, first they don’t get a proper wedding, then they have all these problems and when there’s finally a chance to celebrate their relationship, you decide to skip it 😀

    Nice to see Clara healing though! I love her relationship with Lena. And I think Lena did handle this the best way possible, she was there for her friend, tried to help her even when her friend sent her away through allerting her family, but at the same time managed not to betray her secret. Nice going, Lena! 🙂

    Like

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yes, Lena is a great friend 🙂 Clara is lucky to have her!

      As for ToCo, yesterday’s controversial chapter was supposed to be the epitome of beautiful and romantic #ToCo love haha so the vow renewal would have been unnecessary to show, I think! Just sappy promises to love each other forever and all the usual crap XD I adore ToCo, but I think yesterday’s chapter was enough haha Everyone already loves them and knows they love each other too ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • theplumbob says:

        Oh, I just saw above that you mentioned there will be a screenshot 🙂 That’s more of what I meant. I don’t particularly care about the vows themselves (they’re always kind of cringy haha), but it would be nice to see them all dressed up and celebrating their love surrounded by their family 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  14. azzywoods says:

    Vow renewal? YAY! So glad Clara’s happy again…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. CitizenErased14 says:

    You caught up! And so quickly!!!! Thank you SO much for reading, I’ve loved all your comments! There is a new chapter tomorrow, never fear! 😀 My normal update schedule is 5 chapters a week (no new chapters Mondays or Fridays… which includes this Friday, sorry 😛 ).

    And yes, Clara totally has a crush on Florian 😛 But does he reciprocate? Who knows! I guess you’ll have to wait and see 😉 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I vote #Clena!
    Even if only as BFFs. Watcher knows Clara needs that!
    So glad everybody is happy again.

    I was literally just thinking about how nice it would be if Tobi proposed again! So excited to see the vow renewals. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha it will only be BFFs (Clara does not like girls) but yes #Clena!! They are such great friends ^_^

      And we will only get a very small glimpse of the vow renewal, but I hope you like it anyway! 😀

      Like

  17. alphabetagama8 says:

    So many happy feels! 😀 ! Yay! This hasn’t happened in a long time! *heaves a big sigh of relief* 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  18. silentwolfy101 says:

    Ahhhh, conflicting feelings. I am not welcoming your return…

    I am somewhat shipping Clorian, but… I really want Florian to be a spouse for the heir of the current generation… That’s what I really want.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Lots of interesting pairing options here. I can’t wait to see who Clara ends up with. And seeing how great she is with Lena, I’m looking forward to continued sweet interactions with her family. Maybe Joce and her can be friends now….?

    Liked by 1 person

  20. rainygamez says:

    Yay a ray of sunshine! I knew if I kept reading I’d find one. j/k you know I love your stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. raerei says:

    I love how unusual this setting is – we get so much of the same library/museum/house settings in simlit that it’s nice to see that they can get out and go to gasp! different places. Reminds me to change it up from time to time.

    And Florian, was it coincidence I wonder? Or was it Mari? I’m glad Clara didn’t completely blow up at the idea that her mom sent him. Is this a safe ship to board? I might just have to hang back…your ships are known to be dangerous. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      It was so nice to get out of the house! Hahaha As for Florian… I purposely left it ambiguous 😉 Everyone can decide for themselves whether it was really Mari or not 😛

      And my ships are super safe! Just wear a life jacket 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  22. lisabeesims says:

    So glad to see life returning to happier times

    Liked by 1 person

  23. theceltygirly says:

    I like this chapter a lot 🙂
    They did go to counseling! I’m a big supporter of therapy!!
    Florian could make it into the family XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

