Interlude: Stay Out of It


Tobi swallowed hard against the rising feeling of nausea that crept up inside him. She’s your Schwester. He told himself firmly. You’ve gotta do this. He raised one large fist and knocked sharply against the bedroom door.

07-03-16_8-44-10 PM

“It’s open!” a voice called from the other side, barely audible over the pounding bass blasting through the stereo.

Tobi took a deep breath and entered.

07-03-16_8-59-44 PM

His sister raised an eyebrow curiously at the sight of him. Clearly he had not been the visitor she’d been expecting. “Oh, hey.” Clara’s surprise was evident. “What’s up?”

Tobi suddenly found himself wishing he’d been blessed with his daughter’s acting ability. “N-nothing, uh… I just wanted to say hi, I guess.”

She looked at him like he had two heads. “Okay… Hi?” Clara rolled her eyes for a moment, then her fingers were back on the keys of her computer once more.

07-03-16_9-02-23 PM

Shit. Tobi felt like he was going to be sick. Guess I just need to go for it. “Look, Clara.” He reached out toward the stereo, flicking its power switch with a soft click. The room fell into silence. “Can we talk for a minute?”

A flicker of confusion crossed the girl’s face. Then in an instant, her entire expression darkened. Clara rose to her feet, her fists clenched at her side. “That little bitch.” She hissed. “I knew she’d say something. I’m gonna kill her.”

07-03-16_9-12-28 PM

“Hey!” Tobi snapped, his deep voice booming across the quiet room. “Don’t you talk about my Tochter like that.” He narrowed his eyes slightly at his sister. Guess there’s no point in trying to pretend anymore.

“That’s right.” Clara said, crossing her arms across her chest. “Jocelyne is your Tochter. You’re her Papa, not mine. So do us both a favor and stay out of this, Tobi.”

Tobi sighed heavily. Things were already going so much worse than he’d anticipated. “Clara, please. Just hear me out, okay? You’re right. I’m not your Papa. But I’m your Bruder. And I love you.” He said desperately. “Please, just give me five minutes.”

07-03-16_9-15-22 PM

Clara was silent for a few moments. Then finally, she crossed over to her bed and took a seat on the edge of it. “You have two.” She said at last.

That’s… better, I guess. Tobi thought uncertainly as he sat beside her. “Okay, so… Can we just get a couple of things straight?”

“I guess.”

07-03-16_9-17-29 PM

“This guy… Julian, right? He’s really 24?”

“Yup.”

Jesus. “And… you’re really, uh… seeing him?”

07-03-16_9-22-54 PM

“Uh-huh.”

“For how long, exactly?”

“I dunno. Like a month-ish?” Clara shrugged.

Tobi shifted uncomfortably in his seat. “Come on, Clara. Don’t you see what’s wrong with this whole thing?”

07-03-16_9-24-01 PM

“Nope.”

“Clara…”

His sister shook her head. “Look, if you’re talking about all those bullshit rumors people are spreading about him, I suggest you stop worrying. None of it’s true.” She insisted.

07-03-16_9-20-56 PM

Tobi did not immediately reply. He felt a sudden warmth come to his cheeks. “S-so… So you mean you guys haven’t…?” He bit his lip uncomfortably. Was he seriously asking his little sister if she’d had sex?

“Jesus Christ, Tobi!” Clara burst angrily. “As if that’s any of your business!”

“I know, I know.” He hung his head for a moment. “I’m sorry. I’m just worried.”

The girl sighed sharply. “Well for your information, no. We haven’t. Happy?” She looked almost embarrassed.

07-03-16_9-19-29 PM

Tobi felt a wave of relief crash over him at his sister’s words. “Very.” He admitted.

“He’s not like that, Tobi. End of story.”

He leaned forward, holding his face in one of his hands for a moment. Why doesn’t she get it? “It’s only been a month, Clara. Anything can happen. You’re still getting to know this guy. You need to be careful…” Tobi shook his head slowly. “And it’s not fair for you to keep this from Mama and Papa. You have to tell them the truth. Keeping a secret like this… it’s not right.” He said seriously.

07-03-16_9-30-00 PM

To his surprise, Clara began to chuckle softly to herself. “I really didn’t wanna go there…” She muttered under her breath. “But I guess I don’t have a choice.” She locked eyes with her brother, her scowl growing. “You wanna talk about secrets, Tobi? You expect me to let you sit there and judge me for dating someone behind my family’s back?!” Clara laughed bitterly once more. “That’s a good one.”

07-03-16_9-20-18 PM

A wave of powerful nausea washed over Tobi’s stomach at her words, though he could not quite explain why. “W-what are you talking about?”

“Oh, you know exactly what I’m talking about.” Clara assured him. “Julian goes to the same gym as this girl… Anna?” She paused, and Tobi knew she was searching his face for a reaction. He tried his best to remain calm as she continued. “Julian says she works as a physical therapist down at the stadium. And apparently she’s been all excited, telling everyone who’ll listen how she’s been going out with the famous Tobias Rosebrook.” There was a cruel, mocking edge to her voice as she spoke.

07-03-16_9-34-30 PM

“What?!” Tobi felt all the blood drain from his face. Oh my God.  He’d been SO careful about dodging the paparazzi every time he was out with Anna. He’d never imagined SHE might be the one he had to worry about. “No! We’re not dating… J-just hanging out. That’s all!” He insisted. “She’s wrong.”

“Uh-huh. Sure.” Clara’s scowl had been replaced with a small smirk. “If you’re ‘just hanging out’, then how come you haven’t told Colette about her?” She asked. “I hear you telling her you’re ‘going out with the guys’ all the time. But you aren’t, are you?”

07-03-16_9-43-15 PM

There was a sudden heaviness in Tobi’s chest. What was happening? How had Clara managed to turn the tables on him like this? And why do I feel so goddamn guilty?! “Look, Lettie wouldn’t get it. I know she wouldn’t.” He explained, his tone almost desperate. “That’s why I can’t tell her. But it’s not what you think, okay? She just… wouldn’t understand.”

His sister appeared thoughtful for a moment, then nodded. “I think I get it.” She said at last.

07-03-16_9-36-23 PM

“You do?”

“Of course. I mean, it’d be hard for anyone to understand why their husband’s off banging someone younger and cuter than them, wouldn’t it?”

07-03-16_9-40-07 PM

In an instant, Tobi was on his feet. “It’s not like that!” He cried. “She’s just a friend!”

07-03-16_9-46-24 PM

“Mm-hmm.”

“What the Hell is wrong with you, Clara?! Why are you doing this?!” He closed his eyes and took a few slow, deep breaths before speaking again. “What do you want from me?” His voice was suddenly much calmer than before.

Clara shrugged slightly. “A deal.” She replied.

07-03-16_9-45-04 PM

What?”

The girl rose to her feet as well, looking her brother directly in the eye. “If you tell Mama and Papa about Julian, I tell Colette about Anna.” She said simply.

07-03-16_9-56-22 PM

This time, Tobi actually came close to vomiting. He swallowed back against the painful sting of bile in the back of this throat. “Y-you wouldn’t.” He choked out. “You wouldn’t dare.”

“Oh yeah?” Clara smiled. “Try me.”

In that moment, Tobi wanted nothing more than to hit her. He clenched his fists at his sides, fighting the urge to do so. “You little bitch.” He whispered.

07-03-16_10-01-58 PM

Clara narrowed her eyes. “Oh, so it’s okay for you to say that, but not me? You’re an even bigger hypocrite than I thought.” She shook her head slowly. “I’m not trying to be a bitch, Tobi. I swear to God, I’m not. But if you want me to stay out of your business, then you need to stay out of mine.” She shrugged. “It’s that simple.”

Then she turned around and returned to her computer without another word.

07-03-16_10-03-01 PM 07-03-16_10-04-28 PM 07-03-16_10-07-10 PM

Tobi stood there for a long time, still stunned at how quickly the tables had been turned. He opened his mouth several times to try and speak, but no words would come.

“Oh, and if I were you,” Clara muttered as he finally headed for the door, “I’d tell that little girlfriend of yours to stop running her mouth so much. It’d be a real shame if the wrong person found out, don’t you think?”

07-03-16_10-11-05 PM 07-03-16_10-11-20 PM 07-03-16_10-11-51 PM07-03-16_10-12-28 PM07-03-16_10-12-44 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Interlude: Stay Out of It

  1. sonniejj says:

    Oooooh boy. This was intense. See Tobi, this is why you need to be honest. So your little sister can’t blackmail you.
    I’m interested to see how this is gonna work out. I expect lots and lots of drama,,,

    Side note: Tobi looks hot with the stubble and in the screenshots I noticed that Clara actually has a really pretty face underneath the layers of make up haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raerei says:

    That….did not go as expected. At least not how either of them expected.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Simslover163 says:

    Oh no! I thought this conversation would go smooth, but it turned for the worse. “If you tell Mama and Papa about Julian, I’ll tell Colette about Anna”. Tobi’s trapped. Wow, Clara, I guess I can say you earn a sticker for that. Better keep your affair extremely secret.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Clara will wear her sticker proudly 😛 Hahah no but seriously, he’s totally stuck now. This is what he gets for keeping Anna a secret, I guess… :-/

      Liked by 1 person

  4. audreyfld says:

    Whoa! I knew she knew!!!! Well, at least now Tobi is forced to do some serious soul searching because whatever he decides, he is going to have to live with the repercussions. I hope he realizes the possibility of throwing away a lifetime of love for a fling was stupid. I really hope he tells Anna to take a flying leap and then tells Colette because I have a feeling little miss Anna won’t take his rejection well and could do numerous things to destroy his marriage. 😦

    As for Clara, he was right, it’s only been a month. Julian will likely push her or perhaps Clara is right and he really does care about her and has changed his ways. 😉 Sure.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Our poor Tobi is most definitely in a tough spot right now… And you’re so right that throwing away his marriage for a fling with Anna is so stupid. Let’s hope it never gets to that point :-/

      And as for the truth about Julian… we’ll find out in a few chapters! ^_^

      Like

  5. Jes2G says:

    HA! I knew she knew about them! Heh, pick a place to die where it’s high and dry, Tobi LOL! First of all, I’d like to say I don’t agree with any of this, but MAN I like this girl LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha I’m glad you like Clara so much XD She is not afraid to call Tobi out on his shit, that’s for sure. 😛 He’s being the biggest hypocrite ever right now. Blackmail is definitely not a good thing to do, of course. But Clara is a smart cookie hehe

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jes2G says:

        She holds no punches, and I love it. Not loving how stupid Tobi is right now!

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          Beyond stupid. *sigh* Oh Tobi…

          Liked by 1 person

          • Jes2G says:

            A few days ago, I have no idea why I was even thinking about them, but I was minding my own business and all of a sudden I thought, “I wonder if Tobi and Colette would even be together today if they didn’t get pregnant.” Like, sure they would have gotten together after camp like they promised, Colette still would have gone to school, and Tobi still would have got drafted. They would have dated long distance and gotten to know each other better. I just wonder if things would have turned out differently. Not saying I don’t think they would have cuz I have no clue, but I just wonder.

            Liked by 1 person

            • CitizenErased14 says:

              That’s a great question! They would have stayed long distance for sure (at least for like 2 years or so before they were both old enough to move out of their parents’ houses… Not that my heirs ever move out since this is a legacy LMAO but in theory 😛

              We’ll never know for sure, but I kind of imagine that they would have still ended up married eventually (after getting to experience an actual, normal relationship haha) but I think their relationships with Mari and Diego would be super strained. Mari and Diego were almost “forced” to reconcile because of their kids’ situation. Without it, would they ever have reconciled? Would they have ever approved of ToCo’s relationship? Would their kids grow to resent them? Hmm…

              Things would be super different, one way or another. Now you’ve got ME thinking about it! Haha it’s a great thought.

              Liked by 1 person

  6. Senna says:

    If Tobi has any sense of a brain, he’ll tell Colette himself about Anna.

    Sure, Colette will likely be pissed and jump to the wrong conclusion, but at least Clara won’t really have that leverage against him for blackmail. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. azzywoods says:

    Ooh, that got quite intense. Blackmail is wrong…but as people have said already, if Tobi was more honest he wouldn’t be blackmailed by his little sister.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Spottydog714 says:

    Nope. Not crying. Defiantly not crying…

    Sorry, siblings scenes like this always get me. EVERY TIME!

    You Rosebrooks are terrible. Man up and please talk to each other, I’m begging you!

    (#Isecretlylovethedrama)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yogiwonks says:

    Yes Anna. Because “dating” a married man is something to brag about. *rolls eyes*
    It’s good Clara and her bf haven’t done the hanky panky yet.
    Though I guess it would add to the drama if he went to jail. LOL
    I hope Tobi grows a pair and fesses up to Colette.
    Clara browbeating him is perhaps a good thing.
    Hopefully it’ll keep him from going to the next more physical level with Anna.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Am I the only one who thinks Clara is actually being very petty and mean? She knows what she’s doing is wrong/or she knows she’ll get into trouble if her mother finds out, so retaliating against Tobi for being concerned about her, because she really is actually very young, doesn’t have (or isn’t supposed to have) the judgement to decide for certain about Julian, and since he’s got the reputation of a player, this just isn’t going to end well. And while I agree that Anna isn’t bad, she’s definitely trouble. Tobi needs to talk to Colette, because I don’t think Clara is going to uphold her end of the deal. She’s too uncaring, the consequences don’t matter to her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Nice to see you here on WP, SeaDragonSong! ^_^

      I definitely think Clara is being super petty with her actions, though I understand why she did what she did. It WAS pretty mean though, especially after Tobi was just trying to help/showing concern :-/

      I will say that Clara has been keeping Tobi’s secret so far, even without this conversation. I feel like if she was gonna tell Colette, she would have done it already. But you never know what she might do now that she knows Tobi knows HER secret too…

      Like

  11. kaffepigen says:

    Clara really is being a little bitch about this whole situation. And what is Anna doing?! Running around town spreading word that they are dating?? Why would she do that? Maybe because she thinks they are dating. Or maybe because she wants Colette to find out, have them divorce and then she can have Tobi all to herself. Or maybe she just isn’t thinking straight. So many possibilities!
    Tobi really need to have a word with her. If he doesn’t want Colette to find out, he can’t have Anna talk to people about their little “affair”. Because that is basically what this is turning into. It might not be a romantic affair, but it is definitely some kind of affair, since he’s so desperate to keep his relationship with Anna away from Colette. At this point i think she would totally freak out if she found out. And of course at some point she WILL find out. It’s inevitable. If not from rumors, then from Tobi or Clara. I think now would be a good time to come clean for Tobi. He should have done it before going out for drinks. What he really should have done, when Anna invited him out for drinks, were to say to her that he needed to talk to Colette about it first. Then he should have asked Colette if it was okay, since Anna is a girl and not one of the guys. The possibility that Colette would have said yes is bigger than the possibility that she will be able to forgive him at this point.

    I think Clara is being a little manipulating bitch in this chapter, though i still like her a great deal. Can’t really explain it, but there’s just something really likable about her. Maybe it’s because she’s not afraid to be herself. She’s confident, a bit rebellious, and has a good head on her shoulders. Though she puts her trust in the wrong people at times. Especially in that friend of hers. If she was a real friend, she would have told Clara that what she’s doing with Julian is wrong. Or is she so blind herself that she can’t see it? I doubt that she’s scared of telling Colette, so it must be the first option.

    Alright, rant done. Great chapter today 😀 Looking forward to tomorrow’s update!

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Wow, that was a very passionate comment! Hahaha but I loved it. Clara is being quite manipulative, it’s true. But she is quite desperate for her secret to not get out, so she’s willing to go to extreme measures (up until now, she was keeping Tobi’s secret simply out of loyalty to her brother).

      Clara’s friend Lena really doesn’t believe the rumors about Julian, and is backing up Clara by keeping the secret. But I think if Lena thought something bad were going on, she’d act differently! We’ll see though. She may never know (and, in theory, maybe nothing bad will happen. I mean, it hasn’t yet!)

      And yeah, Tobi is basically entering affair territory with Anna :-/ He’s really gotta be honest with Colette — and also tell Anna to stop running her mouth hahaha

      Lots going on with my poor Rosebrooks right now! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • kaffepigen says:

        I really love the drama in this legacy 😀 It makes it interesting to read and gives a way for thoughts.

        Btw. quick fact: Tante and Onkel is the same in Danish 🙂 If it means aunt and uncle at least 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • To add to what Kaffepien is saying Anna needs to realize that if she breaks up the Rosebrooks family the children (Joyce and Luke and I think Gus?-) would technically hate her not to mention the remaining IN-Law parent as well. I would think Joyce would hate Anna if she broke up their parents since Anna isn’t that much older than Joyce (if I think Joyce is like 16?)

        Liked by 2 people

  12. Oh Clara, you’re such a mess. And because Tobi is a Rosebrook, he won’t actually take responsibility for the mistakes he’s been making with Anna. And he’ll choose keeping his own secret over doing something that might be good for the safety and well-being of his little sister. I do love the drama this family stirs up though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      A mess is a great way to describe it XD Always drama. Always bad choices. That’s the definition of Rosebrook hahaha (and I guess Klein too)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. silentwolfy101 says:

    If they’re just friends, why is he so worked up about it? And if she is running around telling everybody that, why would he still want to be with her?

    If it were me in that situation (which it never would be), I’ve have totally threatened her right back. “If you tell Collete, not only will I tell mom and dad, but I’ll also make your life a living hell. So go ahead. Try *me*.” :3

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha that’s an awesome comeback XD Tobi is too nice to do that. But it would certainty create an interesting little war between them XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • silentwolfy101 says:

        Lol. I had a feeling he wouldn’t be able to do anything about it. And yeah, that’s how I’d react. Yessss, much more drama, of course. 😀 And we all know how much the Rosebrooks LOVE drama…

        Liked by 1 person

    • alphabetagama8 says:

      This better convince Tobi that Anna is NOT worth it! Stay with Lettie!! #DropAnna!! 😡😡

      Liked by 2 people

  14. NessyRosy says:

    Oh Wow! This was so intense. Intense, but such a great chapter 😀

    At first when Tobi was talking to Clara and giving her his advice I was thinking, “Shouldn’t you be telling that to yourself in the mirror as well?” 😛

    Then BOOM! Clara knows about his secret. Haha! The look on his face was priceless (although I certainly don’t condone the blackmailing, however it doesn’t surprise me 😉 )

    I’m really excited to find out how this all goes down. I hope Tobi gets the courage to set things right with Anna, but I think he knows secretly she’s been thinking there’s more between them, otherwise why be so nervous about it all? Hmm…Also, what is he going to say when Joce wants to know how it went? I think he’ll pretend everything went ok, otherwise she would be questioning why not take it further and tell Marie and Jonas. You really need to take your own advice Tobi and let Colette know what’s going on, or your sister could be in a very bad situation….

    I look forward to the next chapter. I’m very excited 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Aw thank you for the lovely comment! I’m so happy you loved this chapter — I really enjoyed writing it!

      You bring up a great question about what he’s gonna tell Joce! We’ll find out very soon (tomorrow actually haha) and we will also see (not tomorrow, but soon!) whether or not Tobi ends up doing the right thing with Anna/Colette. 🙂

      Thanks again for reading! 😀

      Like

  15. maladi777 says:

    Okay. What Clara did makes me sick. One thing is telling her parents about dating an older guy, completely different thing is telling Lettie about the therapist and possibly destroying a marriage of her brother.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Derubelle says:

    O.M.G this is amazing haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha I’m so glad you liked this one! And I miss you! I’m happy to see you commenting (and I always get excited when I see you liking chapters too! ^_^ I’m always like “Awww, Derubelle is still around!” I hope you’re well ❤ )

      Liked by 1 person

      • Derubelle says:

        Awww thank you! I have just FINALLY moved, boxes everywhere and just set up the internet. But in a few weeks time hopefully I will get back to the forums and my story, I miss both very much ❤ I hope you are well too!

        Liked by 1 person

  17. lisabeesims says:

    But I may not be on the popular side of opinion

    Like

  18. lisabeesims says:

    Shoot that one got away from me I was trying to answer my my granddaughter is having my arms full of doll babies lol

    Liked by 1 person

  19. lisabeesims says:

    Anyway I said I may not be popular side of opinion but I do not think ClaraI was wrong … Tobi needed to be more careful and little hussy needs to keep her mouth shut at the gym

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      I love this opinion! I see both sides of it… Like, on the one hand, Clara was pretty underhanded here. On the other hand, Tobi was kind of asking for it with his behavior :-/ *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

      • lisabeesims says:

        IMHO Clara is young and uncommitted … If she makes a mistake at this point she’s the only one that suffers. However Tobi (don’t get me wrong I adore Tobi) and his shady behavior will her not only his wife but his family. Lol sorry trying to be coherent here while chatty Cathy keeps shoving baby dolls and shoes into my arms. LOL guess I should get off and go put some of these shoes on that she wants to wear. She’s 18 months she doesn’t understand that grandma needs some reading time

        Liked by 1 person

  20. theplumbob says:

    Gotta give it to Clara, she’s got spunk (not that I approve of what she did there, but well played nonetheless). Now, I guess what Tobi does next will show how concerned he actually is about his sister. He could do the right thing and tells Colette about Anna so that he could talk to Mari and Jonas about Julian… Or just keep making excuses, this time not just about his joke of a marriage or his “friendship” with Anna, but also for not trying to do the right thing for his sister when she’s clearly getting into something rather fishy. Does he really want to add bad brother to the list along with bad husband?

    Liked by 1 person

  21. theceltygirly says:

    OH DANG OH DANG OH DANG
    She’s watching too many shows, outwitting people and being all conniving XD She should be a Once Upon a Time fan, be just like Rumpelstiltzkin XD

    Liked by 1 person

  22. “I mean, it’d be hard for anyone to understand why their husband’s off banging someone younger and cuter than them, wouldn’t it?”
    Damn, she’s perfect 😀 Here, Tobi, take some aloe very for that burn.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. skcaga6 says:

    That girl needed spanked more as a child. She so has my attitude though. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

