4.2: Obituaries

06-18-16_8-07-09 PM


clarabanner

Hey losers, it’s me again.

Sorry I didn’t post anything last week. We had a death in my family, and… yeah. It just really sucked. A lot. But things are getting better now… ish.

Anyway, this is gonna sound so damn morbid, but you know what I’ve been thinking about a lot lately? Obituaries.

My grandfather’s was published in the Windenburg Times last week – and a bunch of other newspapers around the globe, from what my mom tells me.  I’m sure you saw it. And you know what? Until then, I don’t think I’ve ever actually read an obituary before. No reason to, I guess. I mean who reads random people’s obituaries?

Me, I guess. Or, now I do. Ever since I read that super lame one my mom wrote about my grandfather. She said all this nice crap about him and all his accomplishments, blah blah blah. Yeah, that’s fine, I guess. But when I read it, I felt like I was reading about a stranger, not my grandpa.

So I decided to do a little research to see if my mom just sucks, or if this impersonal crap is actually a thing. That’s when I started reading. And you know what? They’re ALL the same. Every single one!obit1

What’s the point of any of that? That tells you absolutely NOTHING about who this person really was. Isn’t that what an obituary’s supposed to be about? Getting to know them? Would it kill the people who write these things to make them HONEST? And INTERESTING?

Apparently it would. And then someone would end up writing a shit obituary about THEM and the vicious cycle would continue.

Know what I think? I think it would make way more sense to write your OWN. Give the people the chance to know YOU – the REAL you – in your own words. Wouldn’t that be so much better? (That’s rhetorical. I know it would be.)

So today I sat down and did a little writing… and here it is. My obituary. Enjoy.

obit2

—————————————-

Thank you Jes2G for helping me come up with the title “In the Key of Geek” for Clara’s blog!

And for anyone a little puzzled by the lack of German family names, Clara writes her blog in English to appeal to a wider audience. Jocelyne and Tobi are still supposed to be writing in their journals in German and we are just getting a translation 😛 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to 4.2: Obituaries

  1. XSimMimX says:

    Clara’s a riot! I think she’s great.
    What was that about her father being socially awkward, though? Jonas always struck me as quite charming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha thanks, I love writing Clara! 😀
      Jonas is sweet and charming, but he’s also both a geek and a goofball (which Clara is too! She got 2/3 of his traits haha) so I imagine that he is kind of silly and geeky when in a casual setting/talking to new people. And good ol’ Clara would interpret that as being a “loser”/socially awkward XD

      Like

  2. azzywoods says:

    Bahaha! I love Clara already! A contrast to Jocelyne, but cool all the same. She seems to have a very ‘fuck this’ attitude to life, which may not be the best thing, but she is certainly entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha thank you 😀 I LOVED writing Clara. I think she’s my favorite character hahaha. She definitely has a bit of a “fuck this” mentality, which could be interesting later 😛 Hehe

      Like

      • azzywoods says:

        Also, I’m kind of wondering if she means anyone in particular when she says she admitted she is a bitch ‘unlike some people’. Or maybe I’m over-analysing?

        Liked by 1 person

        • CitizenErased14 says:

          Maybe over-analyzing a touch, but that’s not necessarily bad 😛 I think she just means bitchy girls in general — probably ones she knows from school who aren’t super friendly hahaha

          Like

  3. raerei says:

    Clara is awesome. I love her obituary, who knows how much personality was going to come through something so morbid.

    At first, I thought she was going to rewrite her grandpa’s obituary, but this was even better!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Simslover163 says:

    I enjoyed Clara’s POV because she sounded like a typical rock star girl or a typical bad girl. Get a plane to China? I’ve done that lots of times. She’s SO right that life is too short to boring. Her obituary was funny and saddening at the same time and that picture of her showing her middle finger had me like, *GASPS* :O

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha Clara would LOVE you calling her a “bad girl” 😛 That’s most definitely what she’s going for hehehe I wonder what her parents think of that picture of her… 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Senna says:

    Well, Clara as a teen is both scary and awesome, I think. 😮

    Liked by 3 people

  6. kaffepigen says:

    Clara is so cool! I picture her as a true outsider both at school and at home. I loved the beginnin “hey losers”! She’s so different. It’s a fresh change 🙂 she kind of reminds me of a friend i had in my teenage years. I think it is great she dares to stand out from everyone else and doesn’t just follow the flow. Great job with her 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you! I really loved writing her and developing her character 🙂 She and Jocelyne are both so different to write. I love it 😀

      Like

  7. julyvee94 says:

    OMG love it! Later Losers XD clara is the best

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sonniejj says:

    I had a feeling Clara was going to be a handfull :p

    I might be in the minority here, but I definitely prefer Jocelynne over Clara. Although I really like that she’s quite a different character than the others, I just identify with Jocelynne a bit more. Clara is a little… Intense :p If I went to school with her, I’d be very intimidated by her in a ‘you’re so cool I wanna be more like you but also I’m too scared to talk to you’-kind of way :p

    She’s an interesting character, though. I’m curious to find out if we’ll ever see a ‘softer’ side from her. Also, really like the blog-POV as a change from the journal entries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha it’s okay to be #TeamJocelyne 😛 I am positive you aren’t alone there! Clara is… intense. But there might be a bit of a softer side somewhere in there! Who knows! 😛

      I’m loving writing the blog format 🙂 Acknowledging the audience and all that. It’s very fun. Thank you so much for reading 😀

      Like

  9. Virtualee says:

    OMG now I am in love with CLARA!!!!! Girl after my flipping heart and OMG!! I cant even begin to write down my fav lines because it is all just….magical!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you Lee! I LOVED writing this so much. Though “Clara” really wrote it, not me! She has a mind of her own, that’s for sure 😉 Thanks for reading and leaving such a lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jes2G says:

    HA! This girl. What a character lol. “This is why you wrap your shit up, kids.” LOL, tell ’em! Loved the mic drop.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Spottydog714 says:

    But I would much rather give to charity than go skinny-dipping! ;p

    I don’t really like Clara, I’m sorry, it’s nothing to do with you (even with characters I don’t like, I am still overwhelmed by how awesome your characterisation is! <3) She's just the person, who if I met in real life would just get on my nerves. Who knows? I might like her once I see a softer side.

    Still. I love the drama she's already bringing, and it make A2A even more fun to read. 🙂

    (Maybe I'm just too old-fashioned for rebellious teens, lol! XD )

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Ooooooooooh, Clara is a trip! Just like I knew she would be, lol. This girl is a magical kind of crazy and I love it. She has some serious self-love where Mari had self-hatred, so I can’t wait to see how their similar traits play out because of that one big difference.

    Her perception of her family is very telling as well. I can’t wait to see how she interacts with them now that I know how she views them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thank you Cece! Clara is most definitely a trip 😉 And most definitely has a lot of Mari’s qualities (but lacks her mother’s mental health issues, thank goodness!)

      More to come from Clara… She will help make this gen interesting 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. fabtiffsim says:

    Ha! The obituary was hilarious! I’d go get a piercing in her memory for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. NessyRosy says:

    Hello 😀 This is my first time commenting, but I’ve been reading this whole legacy and just adore it. I find Clara to be extremely refreshing, she seems to have a really wonderful way of finding things in the world that everyone just accepts, and opening a can of worms that makes you look at it with different eyes XD She’s amazing. I also adore Jocelyn, she has a bit of me in her, but Clara has this side to her that I can’t help but love. I adore that she decided to write her own obituary. What an ingenious, if morbid, idea 😛 She’s going to be a handful, which I could tell from her personality as a kid. However, she strikes me as someone who doesn’t follow the crowd and I like that 🙂

    I’d like to further add a big thank you to Lee for recommending you and a massive congratulations to you for your wonderful story telling. You’re truly talented. I love everything including the drama. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Oh wow! Your comment seriously just made my day! Thank you so much! I really appreciate you reading my story and taking the time to comment too 🙂

      Clara is SO fun to write. She’s very different than any other of my POV characters so far (though she’s got a bit of that Mari fire in her 😉 ) Jocelyne is also a bit different, but not quite in the same way 😉

      I will have to give Lee a big thanks too for telling you about my story 😀 Thanks again for reading, and I hope you enjoy everything that’s to come! ^_^ ❤

      Like

  15. peacesign101 says:

    I think I like Jocelyne better, but Clara is pretty cool too. She scares me too, but that’s fine o.0

    Liked by 1 person

  16. audreyfld says:

    Oh Clara!!!! I laughed so hard. What a great way to hear her voice. I knew she would be a handful, but what a handful!!! Do her parents know about how extreme she is? So, Clara, tell us what you really think! Clara is our new Mari. The one we will probably all eventually want to slap and then hug….lol…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha Clara is a lot like her mother in some ways, that’s for sure 😉 A handful indeed! 😛 And yeah, Mari and Jonas pretty much know what’s going on with her. They just roll their eyes and think it’s a silly rebellious phase 😛

      Like

  17. JoieWilder says:

    #Clara4Heir

    Liked by 2 people

  18. maladi777 says:

    So, you’re now practically writing a blog about person writing a blog, right? 😀
    Just kidding. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. CitizenErased14 says:

    Clara thanks you for recognizing her brilliance 😛

    Like

  20. alphabetagama8 says:

    Hahahaha! I love Clara (I mean not as much as Auggy of course ❤ )! I love her way of writing, it's going to be awesome to have 2 completely different characters and their completely different way of writing and expressing their opinions and stories! I also love Clara's style (those earrings and hairstyle are custom content right?) !
    Shame she didn't talk about Auggy… I know I Auggy can't be in every chapter but as you probably figured out (it's quite obvious :P) I'm with #teamauggyalltheway!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks! I love Clara too, and I’m having so much fun already writing both her and Jocelyne ^_^ (and yes, her hair and earrings are cc 🙂 )

      I’m glad you love Auggy! I love him too. He’s just a background character right now, unfortunately 😛 Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

  21. rainygamez says:

    This was awesome. I love her already!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. theplumbob says:

    Lmao! Thanks for this, I really needed a good laugh ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  23. RemïNarrow says:

    Oh boy Clara is just the way I’d thought she’d turn out to be… she seems kind of a rebel, doing the extraordinary, being different and not giving a shit about what others think about her! I love her just as much as I hate her… I hate her becoz she seems like she can be too straightforward (in a bad way) at times, like she’s so disrespectful while talking about her grandfather’s death but then I also love her becoz she’s got the guts to stand out of the crowd and she’s not afraid to be herself irrespective of whether others love her or not.

    Can’t wait to read more about her! And I loved the obit she wrote for herself and even her picture on the obit was hilarious!😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahahaha Clara is an extreme character, that’s for sure! I don’t think she was TRYING to be disrespectful talking about Alex. She loves him and was very upset. But she thought his obituary was super lame 😛 Hehehe

      I’m glad you liked her obituary picture! I love that picture. It fits her personality very well 😉 She’s one of my favorite characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  24. iveretree says:

    Hahahaha Clara XD This is going to be entertaining…

    Liked by 1 person

  25. JLBDreams16 says:

    lol. So she’s a Whovian, and I agree I love all doctors in different way but for 6 though from what I read it was the BBC execs who really made the writing bad since they were trying to kill the show and he did his best with what they gave him, “Emo” and sarcastic. She’s going to be interesting. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha yes, she is a whovian, as well as a bit of a bitch LMAO. And that’s interesting about Colin Baker’s doctor! Haha I’m not a super big whovian (my brother and boyfriend both are though!) but 6 is always the one I see getting complained about, so I decided Clara doesn’t like him either XD

      Liked by 1 person

  26. theplumbob says:

    I remember reading this. Rereading still made me smile 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  27. CitizenErased14 says:

    Hahahaha we’ll see 😉 And Clara is totally my favorite character, I won’t even lie haha so I’m glad you like her!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Bethan says:

    Hahahaha! 😀 What a fantastic chapter – such a brilliant, vaguely morbid idea. Who even thinks to write their own obituary, hahahaha! I really like Clara & Jocelyn, they seem full of that usual mid-teen, pre-adult innocence (even if Clara probably wouldn’t admit it). Really looking forward to reading about this Gen. & rest in peace, Alex! You were wonderful. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha I’m glad you enjoyed this one! Clara is my current favorite character, though I like Jocelyne quite a bit too 🙂 And yes, RIP Alex 😦

      Like

  29. Pingback: 4.59: This One’s For You | Ashes to Ashes: A Legacy

  30. simmer9120 says:

    I officially love Clara now.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. haha iv always liked clara even when she was little

    Liked by 1 person

  32. theceltygirly says:

    Okay I LOVE Clara XD My goodness, I’m like a combination of Clara and Jocelyne. (I’m shy, quiet, bookish, and sweet like Jocelyne, but geeky, outspoken, and a little bit punk like Clara.) This may just end up my favorite generation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

