3.49: For Good

It still doesn’t feel real.

My Bruder – my best friend – he’s leaving us.

In less than three weeks, he’s moving to Willow Creek… Across an ocean. Over 8,000 kilometers away.

I guess it hasn’t sunk in yet. Maybe it never will.

Not until he’s gone.

06-12-16_9-33-03 PM

I think the worst part is that he kept the whole thing secret… But why? Why would he do that? We used to tell each other everything. When did that change?  It just made everything so much harder – for all of us.

Three nights ago was when he finally told us. And it was horrible. I don’t think any of us really knew what to say. Even Papa and grandpa were shocked. I mean, they were definitely the most understanding, I guess. But I don’t think they were expecting it either.

Anyway, things got ugly pretty quickly. Mama was yelling, the kids were crying, and Stefan just lost it. Screaming, swearing… And then he stormed right out. It was so bad – like a scene from one of vovó’s awful soap operas.

Josh ran after him pretty quickly though. And he must have talked some sense into him, because Stefan came back a few minutes later. And things went a little better the second time around, I guess. Less screaming. Lots of crying….

06-12-16_9-38-12 PM

We talked for a long time. Lettie even had to bring the kids to bed before it was all over.

And speaking of the kids… I think they’re taking this the worst. Maybe even worse than Mama, if you can believe it. They just can’t understand. Lettie and I have been trying so hard. Mama and Papa too. And I know Stefan’s spent a lot of time talking with Clara and the twins about it. But it’s not easy.

06-12-16_9-43-34 PM

And it’s definitely not easy for me either. Every time I think about it, I just feel… mad, I guess. Like Stefan’s abandoning us or something. And I know I shouldn’t feel that way. This job is exactly what my Bruder has always wanted. He’s been unhappy for so long, and this is what he needs to do.

I finally sat down and talked to him last night. “This will be great for you.” I told him. “I know it will be.” And I meant it.

I just wish it could be great for the rest of us too.

06-12-16_9-48-06 PM

Poor Mama. It’s only been a few days, but she still hasn’t really said much. Any time someone tries to talk about Stefan leaving, she changes the subject, or finds some reason to leave the room. It’s almost like she’s in denial or something. Like if we don’t talk about it, it will make it all go away.

06-12-16_9-49-17 PM

But no matter how much Mama pretends, nothing can change the truth. Stefan is leaving. For good.

In just 18 days.

06-12-16_9-50-15 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 3.49: For Good

  1. sonniejj says:

    Oh I feel sad for Tobi.. It sucks when you know you should be supportive and happy because somebody is going after their dreams, but it still hurts and makes you sad. My boyfriend went abroad for a while so I know that feeling really well.

    I’m keeping up with #TeamOptimism though. Eventually, even Mari will realize that she’ll never actually lose her son and hopefully she’ll be happy for Stefan when she sees him being happy. I think the family needs time to adjust, but in time, things will go back to normal 🙂 (as normal as this family can be at least)

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      “As normal as this family can be at least” OMG I laughed out loud. So true. Poor Rosebrooks!

      Yeah this is very tough for Tobi right now 😦 But I think you’re right that things will be ok in time. It’s just a very rough situation right now 😦 But this is what’s best for Stefan 🙂

      Like

  2. D= poor kids. Everyone is so sad…and that last sentence ‘I just wish it would be great for us too’ is super sad!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. audreyfld says:

    I hope he really IS happy once he gets his new job. Now I wonder if he will always be chasing after something to make him whole. At first it was bio dad and now it is a new home and new job. I wonder if he is harboring some deep seated insecurities that he needs to deal with. Or maybe I am being over analytical and he truly just needed some breathing room and will come back happily married with 2.4 kids and a successful career! Hah! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. kaffepigen says:

    Aww i feel kinda bad for the kids. They don’t fully understand what’s going on, except that Stefan is moving far away. It makes me wonder if they will be markef by this in the future somehow.

    I’m glad he went back in to reconsile with his family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. RemïNarrow says:

    Finally Tobi realizes that his bruder is leaving for ‘good’. I’m glad he’s starting to see this whole moving out thing a bit more positively😊
    A bitter sweet chapter!👌

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Spottydog714 says:

    I’m proud of you Mari. You didn’t shout once this chapter! And at least you’re no longer mad. #TeamBabySteps

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lisabeesims says:

    OH all the feels 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m happy for Stefan. End of the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. raerei says:

    Hugs for Tobi in the last chapter. The kids, they’ll adjust fine once Stefan keeps coming back with gifts. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So soon? :O He really shouldn’t have left it so long. I mean, at least say ‘I’m thinking of applying for jobs further away’ to plant the idea in their minds, yeeesh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Exactly! Hahaha I understand many readers were upset at his family’s reaction, but really… More notice would have eased this blow so much! Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I think your site thought I was spamming yesterday, so I couldn’t leave comments for a while – I hope this works! *ahem* Anyway…
    18 days isn’t a lot of time to get used to all this! Eeesh. Stefan, you could have at least dropped a hint that you were looking further afield…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. theceltygirly says:

    Oh dear 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

