3.46: Too Bad

Everyone always talks about struggling with jetlag, but no one ever really prepared me for what an absolute BITCH it would be. I mean, it was bad enough on the trip there. But coming home was even worse.

05-30-16_11-01-16 PM

It’s almost 4am now and I still can’t get to sleep, no matter how hard I try. But, to be honest, I’m kind of starting to wonder if it could be more than just the jetlag… I’ve had a lot on my mind too. I just can’t stop thinking about everything that happened over the past two weeks. It was such an amazing trip, from the moment we arrived.

Willow Creek is a beautiful town. Quiet. Peaceful. Cozy, you could almost say. Definitely compared to Windenburg, at least. Some of my favorite moments of the trip were taking long walks after dinner.

05-30-16_9-58-20 PM

No crowds of tourists to deal with. No obnoxious partiers stumbling down the street to the nearest bar. And if you did happen to run into someone, they were always so warm and friendly. Easy to talk to. It was a nice change from back home.

05-30-16_10-06-05 PM

And it wasn’t just Willow Creek. One of the highlights was definitely our little detour to Newcrest. We got to visit so many places our grandfather’s told us about over the years – The library, his mother’s art gallery, his grandfather’s restaurant… Tobi and I have heard about them all. But seeing them in person was completely different. It really kinda hit me, I guess. This is my family’s history. And me and Tobi… Well, now we’re carrying on their legacy.

05-30-16_9-38-22 PM

I’d never really given much thought to my ancestors before, really. I mean, we’ve all read grandpa’s book. We’ve heard the stories. But being there in that churchyard… it made everything feel real. Y’know? It was like… I could feel them or something.  And I couldn’t help but wonder what they’d think if they could see us now…

05-30-16_9-40-17 PM

I know, I know. I’m being ridiculous. Tobi made a point to remind me of that… More than once.

Anyway, it was definitely one of my favorite parts of the trip, and grandpa certainly loved hearing all about it when we got back. But visiting Newcrest wasn’t the real reason we were there. This was about seeing Willow Creek. And meeting Josh’s family.

05-30-16_10-11-54 PM

I already knew they would be great – all those emails and phone calls leading up to the trip made me sure of that. But it was still awesome to finally see them for myself, in person. They were all so nice. And so easy to talk to. I loved getting to know them. And I know Tobi did too.

But honestly? My favorite person we met wasn’t even part of Josh’s immediate family. It was his cousin, Luc.

05-30-16_10-47-52 PM

He’s the head of genetic research for a big biotechnology company out of Riverview. I almost couldn’t believe it when he told me – I mean, the guy is basically living my dream. Doing experiments, running tests, publishing research, and most importantly, making a difference.

I won’t lie, I was pretty damn jealous. But I couldn’t stop listening, and I had so many stupid questions. I talked the poor guy’s ear off all through dinner at Hadley’s.

05-30-16_10-49-55 PM

He laughed when I asked if they happened to have a branch in Windenburg that was hiring. I don’t think he realized I was being serious, at first. Then I explained to him what a hard time I was having finding a job back home. Turns out they have the opposite problem around here – those kind of job openings go unfilled for months.

“It’s a shame you’re so far away.” Luc told me. “We actually have a few openings at my lab.”

05-30-16_10-49-23 PM

Yeah… Too bad.

05-30-16_11-02-08 PM

Anyway, the trip really seemed to fly by. And when it was finally time to go home, well… it was a lot harder to leave than I thought it would be. I didn’t think I’d miss Willow Creek so much until it was time to head back home.

I mean, don’t get me wrong. I missed Clara and the twins. I missed Auggy. I missed grandpa and vovó. I missed Colette and Mama. I even missed Jonas.

But I didn’t miss Windenburg.

Not one bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to 3.46: Too Bad

  1. rainygamez says:

    Oh wow didn’t someone predict this several chapters ago?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Spottydog714 says:

    Ohhhhhhh…. SO you would like to move to Willow Creek! Do you know what, Stefan, I would actually rather live in Willow Creek than Windenburg. I also think that in Willow Creek, you have a better chance of finding a girlfriend. #GetStefanAGirlfriend 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jes2G says:

    Too bad you’re far away indeed. Just go ahead and do it, dude. Let’s get this over with LOL.

    Oh, and, “I even missed Jonas.” Major eye roll LOL. You know you love Jonas, Stefan. Don’t play!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. theplumbob says:

    I can see how Willow Creek would suit somebody quite introspective like Stefan better. And if there’s relevant jobs he could get though a connection (wow, well done on the career front Luc!), he should totally go for it. Mari will potentially be somewhat ok with it one day in the distant future :p

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Sonja Buljevac says:

    Oh boy, Mari won’t like this… :p But I’m glad Stefan had such a good time. And I’m definitely getting the feeling he won’t be sticking around in Windenburg for too long…

    Also, the new (or maybe I just noticed it) header for generation 4 is making me sooooo excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Haha it is new! 😀 And yeah, your predictions may be correct 😉 By the way, I don’t think I’ve seen you comment before. Welcome and thank you so much for reading my story!!!

      Like

  6. EddieSims says:

    Uh Oh. Mari’s fears of Josh taking away will her son might end up coming true and I wonder how she’ll deal with it. Even though that’s not what will actually happen but we all know how rational Mari can be. LOL. Stefan should make the move. He’s obviously not happy in Windenburg so maybe a fresh start is in order.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! I always expect the boys to have different views on things but this was soooo different. I will miss him so much if he goes to Windenburg though. It’s not like he’s a famous athlete with lots of money who can fly back and forth all the time for family visits. If he leaves, he’ll be a new hire, so he won’t be able to afford it. I suppose he is in a legacy family though… so one of his four (step)parents ought to be able to help him visit frequently… Oh the logistics of it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kaffepigen says:

    I knew it! I was so sure he would react like this. I think he’s gonna want to move to willow creek. It’ll break Mari’s heart so it’s a question whether he is really gonna do it, but he’s got big opportunities there, so it’s definitely a possibility.
    I fear Mari’s reaction to this if she ever finds out, which I’m sure she will.

    Btw i just switched to Mozilla Firefox on my mobile instead of Internet explorer, and here the font is normal so i guess it’s the other browser that changed it somehow because it was the same for all the blogs i’m reading in wordpress.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. peacesign101 says:

    I feel like I should be commenting about the story, but I can’t stop looking at the banner! I can’t wait for generation 4! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  10. lisabeesims says:

    UH OH!! Poor Mari .. momma is going to have some heartbreak 😦 snifffffff

    Liked by 1 person

  11. azzywoods says:

    Mari is gonna flip.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. When you accidentally skip one cause you didn’t look for it…how interesting! I hope Stefan goes for it!

    Like

  13. silentwolfy101 says:

    Stefan, go live your dream! Your dream awaits in Willow Creek.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. CitizenErased14 says:

    I am definitely intrigued by this suspicion hehehe. And yes, Stefan loves Willow Creek… A lot 😉

    Like

  15. Why do I get the feeling Stefan is going to move to Willow Creek? I think it would be good for him, but eeeeesh I don’t wanna be a fly on that wall when he tells the others. But I’m just speculating.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. oh someone is moving to willow creek how will mari take the news?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. theceltygirly says:

    “It’s almost 4am now and I still can’t get to sleep” It’s 3AM, Stefan, I frickin’ feel you. However I’m not jet lagged XD
    I had a feeling he’d move away, and this hints to it. The reasons were maybe slightly off, but it makes way for the next generation in the house too. Gotta kick out those spares XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

