3.45: No Place Like Home

Turns out I was right after all.

Coming here – visiting Josh, meeting his family – it was exactly what I needed. And I think what Stefan needed too.

05-30-16_10-55-15 PM

I was totally planning on writing more these past couple of weeks, but every day has been so long, so tiring… And so incredible, too.

I loved meeting Josh’s kids, but it’s still kind of crazy to wrap my head around it. For so long it was just me and Stefan. Mama and Papa having Clara was such a surprise, but a good one (Most of the time. I love her to death, but she still drives me up a wall sometimes!). I know my parents were never planning on more than just Clara… So finding out Stefan and I have FOUR more siblings was definitely a shock.

Sofia’s just a few years younger than me and Stefan, so she was probably the easiest to talk to. She’s a really nice girl – and talented too. Really big into DJing. We were talking about it, and I really think she’d love the music scene back in Windenburg. Hopefully she’ll come visit soon – I can already think of a few clubs I’d love to take her to.

05-30-16_10-00-50 PM

Owen and Stefan seemed to hit it off really well – they’re both into all that geeky stuff Papa likes. Sci Fi movies, video games… Luckily for me, he also really likes sports, so we were able to find some common ground too. He seems like a really great kid.

05-30-16_10-14-21 PM

Josh’s youngest, Liana, is just a year older than the twins and Clara. So naturally we hit it off right away. What can I say? I love kids. And Liana’s so smart and sweet… A lot like my Jocelyne. And spending all this time with her, well… it kinda reminds me just how much I miss my kids back home.

05-30-16_10-04-40 PM

And then there’s Cora. We’ve barely seen her the entire time we’ve been here. She just hides in her room and pouts all day. And when Josh does convince her to come out, well… We might as well be invisible. Guess she doesn’t like the idea of us being here… I mean, this whole thing has got to be a lot for a kid to handle, so I get it. I just really would have liked to get to know her a little better. Maybe next time.

05-30-16_10-21-41 PM

The rest of his family was great though. His wife’s so kind, and we met his mother and step-father too. They were great, though Hadley wouldn’t stop reminding us that we need to bring the kids next time. It was sweet.

05-30-16_10-29-10 PM

We got to see Nora, of course, and meet her son Caleb too. And… God, it feels like we met so many people! Let’s see… Josh’s half-siblings Nathan and Theresa, his cousin Luc, and his… step-aunt, I guess? Alison. (Though from what Josh has told us, that whole relationship is kind of… complicated).

05-30-16_10-46-03 PM 05-30-16_10-46-21 PM 05-30-16_10-46-26 PM 05-30-16_10-46-30 PM05-30-16_10-45-22 PM

Anyway, the point is that his family was so kind, and so welcoming too (except for Cora… but Josh warned us about that before we came). They really tried hard to make us feel at home. And that really meant a lot, y’know?

It was really interesting to see where he lives too. Willow Creek is so different from Windenburg. Like a completely different world or something. So quiet. So small. So, well… boring, to be honest. It’s nice to visit, but I don’t think I could ever stand living in a place like this.

05-30-16_10-07-56 PM

When we drove out to visit Newcrest a few days ago, it was a little better. Still so much smaller and quieter than back home. But a bit livelier than Willow Creek for sure. More modern too. And going there was probably one of the highlights of the trip.

We went to Willow Creek to learn more about our new family – Josh’s family. We went to Newcrest to learn more about our old one.

It was so… surreal, almost.

05-30-16_9-14-31 PM

We visited the library, which was re-named a few years ago for our great-great-great grandmother, Becca Ainsworth.

05-30-16_9-43-48 PM

We stopped by our great-grandmother Krystina’s art gallery. It was sold a long time ago, but some of her paintings are still on display.

05-30-16_9-34-10 PM

We ate lunch at our great-great-grandfather Lucas’ restaurant. Everything on the menu still follows his original recipes – and they were delicious.

05-30-16_9-27-34 PM

We even stopped by the cemetery before we headed back to Willow Creek. I can’t wait to tell grandpa all about it when we get home.

This whole trip has been so much fun, and I’m so happy Stefan and I decided to come here. It really helped me feel more connected to Josh and his family, y’know? And I can’t wait until we come back again.

But honestly, I can’t wait to be back in Windenburg either. I miss my wife. My kids. My parents. My grandparents. My little sister. I miss home.

05-30-16_10-56-33 PM

It’s like that old movie always says, right?

There’s no place like it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to 3.45: No Place Like Home

  1. sonniejj says:

    I loved this chapter. I’m so glad Tobi had such a nice time. And oh my gosh, all those Thoreau-characters now that they’re older ❤

    I also love how much Tobi cares about his wife and kids, so adorable

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahaha yes, it was like, surreal to have them all in my game! Joie was awesome and made cc-free older versions of everyone for me! ^_^ I love getting a peek of the future of her characters.

      And Tobi would totally have family oriented trait if i could pick it for him! So I write him that way haha he is a super loving and devoted husband and father 😀 I’m glad you liked this chapter!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rainygamez says:

    Goodness that was kind of strange getting a sneak peek into the future of the Thoreau legacy! Awesome chapter- as always!

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Thanks! ^_^ I love that Joie let me show older versions of so many of her characters. It’s cool to have them in my game, and makes me super excited for the future of her legacy 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Senna says:

    Aw, Tobi’s homesick. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Yeah, he misses his family! He is a very family oriented sim, even if he doesn’t have the actual trait haha

      Like

  4. audreyfld says:

    Nice. It was sweet to see how much Tobi missed his family. I guess we will get to see Stefan’s version next and how meeting everyone affected him. I expect his take to be totally different due to where he is emotionally. I feel some changes coming soon. 🙂

    Like

  5. kaffepigen says:

    This is so sweet. It’s interesting to see all of Josh’ family. Which one is his wife?

    I can understand it’s nice to visit but also return home. I feel the same when I visit my mom, who lives 1 hour 15 min away by train. It’s kind of sad that Cora is rejecting them so much. It would be nice for her to join them in all the happiness.

    An interesting chapter, for sure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      I didn’t show his wife, per Joie’s wishes haha. The identity of his wife is a secret for now 😛 I hope Cora will come around eventually! She probably just needs time, like Mari did :p

      Thank you for reading!

      Like

    • JoieWilder says:

      Cora is a little hot head with middle child syndrome. She was bratty even before finding out about two grown siblings who her father now talks about constantly and goes to visit. So she’s having some issues that will be addressed in my story someday. lol

      Liked by 3 people

  6. Jes2G says:

    Very nice. I didn’t even think about the fact that they could actually go to Newcrest and learn about their history. Hopefully behind the scenes they went to their great aunt’s house 😉

    I have another comment, but it’s getting quite long. I’ll put it on the thread instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. theplumbob says:

    Aww that’s so sweet that they went to all of those buildings lonked to their relatives. It’s great to see the legacy our beloved D2D gang left behind.mon another note, I still can’t get over how stunning Josh’s eldest daughter is!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Such a great chapter! The visit to Newcrest was my favorite part.

    And oh man do those siblings look alike. The picture with Stefan and Owen was really something. For a second, I wasn’t sure which was which, lol. I can’t wait to read the next chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Spottydog714 says:

    Aww… That was sweet. ❤ It's at times like this I regret binge reading D2D in 4 days… I didn't have the time to get invested in the little details like all the places and character names like you do whne you're talking with everyone else who's just as impatiently as you when your awaiting an update. But oh well. It was a lovely reminder and Alex is going to be so excited when he hears all this! Love the update! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. CitizenErased14 says:

    Yes! It’s so hard! Even if the trip is amazing haha. I lived in Spain for five months (I’m from the US) and it was rough for like a week or two XD

    Thank you so much for reading and leaving such great comments!!!!

    Like

  11. I’m glad you had an awesome time! Going on vacation is great you get to unwind and relax, experience new things while being reminded of what you have back home and how much you appreciate it when it’s not there!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. lisabeesims says:

    ❤ Love grumpy little Cora ❤ Lovely update

    Liked by 1 person

  13. silentwolfy101 says:

    Ahhhhh, seems the Ainsworths/Rosebooks really changed the town… Woohoo! But man, this brought back a few memories… Just a few, of course…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Awww Tobi, I feel you. Two weeks is a pretty long time for a first visit. Still, enjoy yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. shiba306 says:

    Meeting all of Josh’s kids in the first half of this was so nice, even though that family tree is crazy too.

    Also, the nostalgic feel of the second half was ;aljta;lkjt gahhhh. I loved it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. theceltygirly says:

    Such a sweet chapter ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

