2.26: Right Direction

I have no idea how it happened, but… Things are finally getting better with Mari.

Thank God.

02-10-16_8-06-52 PM

I’ve been going crazy these past few months worrying about her. Hell, even Jade’s been starting to get a little nervous. Especially after she lost her job. Gabriela’s learning not to ask as many questions, but I can tell she worries too. And Lina… Well, I think she’s just sad, you know? It can’t be easy to see your sibling like that. I know it sure as Hell isn’t easy when it’s your child.

But what could we do about any of it? Stage an intervention or something? God, with the way Mari explodes at us if we even look at her the wrong way, there’s no WAY it could have worked. I don’t think anything could. And I think knowing that is what made it so much more painful. I wish I could have done more but… I just couldn’t.

So to say I’m relieved right now is would be a bit of an understatement.

I mean, the most important thing is that she finally found a job. She’s really nothing more than a glorified paper-pusher, to be honest… A lot like my old job back when I first moved here. Mari doesn’t seem overly thrilled about it, but I can tell she likes having a reason to leave the house again, at least.

02-10-16_8-08-52 PM

But it’s more than just having a job again. It’s the little things – Smiling a bit more, carrying on a pleasant conversation every now and then… She’s even been playing the piano again – That always used to make her so happy when she was little. I’m not really sure why she lost interest in it… But she’s been spending a lot of time sitting at that old thing lately. And Jade and I couldn’t be happier.

02-10-16_8-03-50 PM

Unfortunately some things will never change, I guess. I’ve still been catching her going out late at night… and stumbling home early in the morning. But it’s not every night anymore, at least. So it’s a start.

02-10-16_8-14-29 PM

I guess the most exciting thing, though, is the other sort of going out she’s been doing. During the day, if you can believe it. With some new friend of hers. Humberto, I think? She’s only mumbled his name once or twice, when we ask her who she’s calling or texting all the time.

02-10-16_8-07-55 PM

We’ve learned the hard way not to mention the word “boyfriend” around her though.

02-10-16_8-11-29 PM

Well, either way, this “friend” or “boyfriend” or whatever he is has certainly been making all of our lives easier, that’s for sure. I don’t think we’re out of the woods just yet. But it’s a step in the right direction, at least. He’s changed something in her – and I think it’s for the better.

Maybe someday she’ll let us meet him and we can thank him in person.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 2.26: Right Direction

  1. julyvee94 says:

    Oh my haha I can imagine that Mari exploded at Alex when he called Humberto her boyfriend lmao. But at least things are finally looking up ^^ (still don’t trust you on anything though. I learned that the hard way haha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. virtualee says:

    Oooh Mari is looking so refreshed, happy and more like her old self. So cool to see how positive relationships can make a person better! but like JulyVee said I will definitely look both ways before crossing the ‘Mariberto’ highway for fear of getting squashed like a frog at rush hour!! ::inserts gross image of squashed frog with its tongue sticking out::

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jes2G says:

    “I wish I could have done more but… I just couldn’t.” Whatever, Alex. I still think you’re a punk. LOL

    You know what’s great about still having his voice heavily involved in the story? We get to find out all the things that she doesn’t say in her journal! Sure, she let’s the cat out of the bag occasionally and then tries to stuff it back in with the strikethrough text, but she doesn’t admit everything–we know this. It’s very cool to see her life unfold through someone else’s eyes. Genius!

    Liked by 2 people

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hehehe thank you! 🙂 I was actually just talking about this with either Rae or Joie (maybe both?) on Origin last night! I was saying that basically the only reason I still have Alex chapters is so we can see what’s REALLY going on, since Mari is not exactly a reliable narrator 😛 (The interludes help a bit with that too!). Thank you for reading! (And calling Alex out on being a punk hehehe)

      Liked by 2 people

    • virtualee says:

      hahaha I don’t know why but I just got this mental picture of Alex and a caption over him that says “floats like a butterfly stinks like a mosquito bite – Wuss!” Awwe poor Alex LOL

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Spottydog714 says:

    I do like the fact that Mari is smiling now. Also, I like that I’m seeing high green bars with low/non-existent pink ones instead of high pink bars with low/non-existent green ones for a change! 😉 Great update as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hehehehe oh yes, a look at Mari’s relationship panel would be quite interesting XD I have a mod that allows you to woohoo with “acquaintances”, so she has a bunch of guys with basically no green bar and like 1/4 of a pink bar because they woohooed XD Things with Humberto are definitely different than that 😛

      Liked by 2 people

      • Spottydog714 says:

        Hahaha! Does that mean you can just do an introduction, then woohoo? :p Oh Mari! 😀 Please take a screen shot of her relationship panel and post it somewhere; I’m curious now! (If you have time and you’re not to busy) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. JoieWilder says:

    Well, Alex, Mari *is* doing a bit better. No thanks to your craptastic parenting. The beautiful ones can’t always be the best parents, I suppose. I doubt she’ll stay better though – this is Citizen we’re talking about. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maladi777 says:

    I totally agree with Jes2G. It’s good to hear Alex’s voice. Mari’s too angry, we need Alex’s perspective on things.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. silentwolfy101 says:

    Yay! I’m glad to hear from Alex again, and I’m glad Humberto has been helping her. 🙂 Things are looking up! YAY!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. peacesign101 says:

    Woo! 😀 I am incredibly happy that Mari is starting to head in the right direction! *Runs over and hugs Humberto*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Alex…getting ahead of yourself, remember it’s Amanda at the reins…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Awwww 🙂 I’m so happy! I like Mari, and she deserves happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. theceltygirly says:

    Yay! I don’t like seeing people suffer, real life and fiction. It’s good to see that she’s coming out of the darkness just a bit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

