2.19: Breaking the Silence

Sorry I never finished writing last night. I guess you could say I had other things on my mind.

And after what happened this morning, well… Now I have even more to think about.

We were all sitting at the dining room table when it happened.

Mari walked right in, headed to the counter, grabbed a plate, and sat down in her usual place. Huge smile on her face, friendly “Good morning”, and everything.

!

Nearly two weeks of silence, and now this? I swear, you could have heard a pin drop the moment she walked in the room. Even Gabriela was stunned.

I think Jade was the first one brave enough to say anything. And I don’t even remember what she said, to be honest. Something innocent and meaningless. Like “How did you sleep?” or “Do you like your eggs?”

3

But what really mattered was the way Mari answered. She was so bright and cheerful. And I guess “forced” isn’t the right word for how it felt. There was definitely something genuine behind it. That much I could tell. But something was just… off. I’m not quite sure how else to describe it.

1

I know I should have been happy to see her like that. And I guess a part of me was, but… Mostly I was just confused. And a little worried, too. Especially thinking back to last night, when I’d caught her leaving.

I think I actually had the car keys in my hand before I decided not to go after her. And I still can’t say for sure whether or not it was the right choice. But, whether I like it or not, Mari’s an adult now. She can make her own decisions. And, to be honest, finally seeing her going somewhere, doing something… Well, I guess it was something of a relief.

But I just keep thinking about the way she was dressed last night. And how late it was when she left home. And that strange air about her this morning…

5

I know I’m probably looking too much into it. But I’m a dad, what can I say?

It’s my job to worry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 2.19: Breaking the Silence

  1. Senna says:

    I don’t know why, but Jade’s face in the last picture is making me laugh.

    Even though I’m pretty sure I’m not supposed to be. :/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jes2G says:

    And you’re such a good dad, Alex. Like button won’t load 😦 I’ll try again later.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. theplumbob says:

    Poor Alex, if only he knew… though it’s probably better that he doesn’t!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. silentwolfy101 says:

    Yes, Alex, it’s your job to worry. It’s probably a good thing he doesn’t know, but I wish he did know! I hope she showered though… I heard that somebody can smell it on you afterwords…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Virtualee says:

    I swear to all that pure and holy, parents acquire this spider sense when they have kids, eyes in the back of their head and super sonic hearing because I couldn’t do or say or THINK anything when I lived with my parents because they knew!!!! UGH so frustrating…and now that I look at it kind of cool too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • CitizenErased14 says:

      Hahahaha “spider sense”, love it XD (and pretty accurate too! :P) Well Alex’s spidey senses are definitely tingling right now hahaha

      Like

  6. Poor Alex…he’ll die of a heart attack because of one of those girls I tell you…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. theceltygirly says:

    Alex=Good Dad
    Diego=Die in a hole

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

